We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #942 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good place to stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although this place is cheap it is not worth it.
the facilities in the room are poor, tv never worked, the bed was so uncomfortable, they WiFi will not work in your room, the shared bathroom are dirty and there are no cleaning products available so you can clean and if you get a room on the front it is extremely noisy and overall the building is not secure.
The service too is poor, I asked for breakfast at 8am and when it never arrived at 8.15am I went to reception and was told they are very busy and it will be with me soon, i just packed and left.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    44
    34
    47
See reviews for
34
65
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Central location close is the best thing about this hotel. On arrival me and my partner were forced to wait for 40 minutes to enter the building as the hotel had been left unstaffed during check in hours. When the staff eventually arrived he was extremely unapologetic and didnt seem to know what he was doing, very disorganised and not what we needed after a long day traveling! The room was fine when we were eventually checked in but I wouldnt recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKBB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Metro hotel very well matched my requirements, the requirements of a sightseeing tourist – Close proximity to a well connected train station (Paddington in this case), decent ambience, courteous and friendly staff making the stay a pleasant experience, clean rooms and bed, sumptuous, packed and sealed breakfast with the flexibility of availing the food the previous night enabling a quick getaway in the morning and to top it all a budget tariff that gave value for money. The small bathroom and staircase without lift were a bit difficult, but were not significant since anyway the tourist is out all day.

Room Tip: Room at back side quieter, sunny though one may lose viewing the street in front. Rooms at first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very Nice Hotel,
small rooms, very nice Service.
Ideal to spend the night when you visit London for sightseeing or business.

Breakfast is not very tasty, but practial because everything is packed and sealed.
So you can easily grab it and take it on your day out in London.

No Lift and lots of stairs, but water heater in every room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Due to late booking issues, I did not have much of a choice when I was searching for hotels/B and Bs around Paddington station. I was able to book a room with shared bathroom at the last minute. Before booking, I had checked out the reviews on tripadvisor, and found that although there were bad reviews, there were also many who recommend it. How wrong could I be. If there was a choice to give zero on rating for this hotel I would.
I checked into the hotel with no problem. Upon entering the room, it was as the pictures showed, small, dingy, but also quite dusty although they seemed to vaccum the rooms right after someone checks out. What was dusty was the bed covers and the carpets were really dirty too. There was complimentary tea packets, sugar and a mug for you. The lights were yellow and dim at night. The hotel said there was Free WIFI... how wrong about that as well. The WIFI worked great if you were at the reception or at the stairs, however, it was EXTREMELY difficult to get connected inside the rooms, or it was impossible to get connected at all. I got so frustrated that I had to take my laptop and sit on the stairs just for a good connection.
There were two bathrooms if you had a shared bathroom, one on the second floor and one on the top floor. The one on the second floor had a really sharp acid-like paint smell and you get dizzy if you stayed in there for too long. What confused me was why the bathroom was locked around 10 pm at night, and I could only use the one on the top floor. On the first night I stayed there, I got up in the middle of the night for a bathroom break, and lord and behold, a half-dressed man was laying in there. I got quite a scare as I thought someone had passed out there. But then, he got up and mumbled something like he got locked out of his room.. bla bla bla, i just quickly used the bathroom and left. However, I noticed that all of his things were in the bathroom, his suit, suitcase, and everything. IT DIDN'T LOOK LIKE HE STAYED IN THE HOTEL, in fact it was more like he snuck into the hotel in the middle of the night TRYING TO GET SOME SLEEP!!! It was absolutely UNBELIEVABLE!
NOW, there is some serious problem with security AND I DO NOT ADVISE ANYONE TO STAY HERE!!!!!!
All residents of the hotel have a key to the front door, but it was an old lock, and I am sure someone can easily pick it open.
I have NEVER experienced anything like this. and if you are someone looking for a good night's sleep with assured security, please DON'T EVEN consider this hotel. Oh, and the breakfast that they advertise, it's just like the one shown in the tripadvisor pictures, just a whole lot of candy bars, a really hard bread, yoghurt, and some snacks.
Once again... only stay here if this is your last chance, and TRY to book somewhere else as this place is rundown and the security is questionable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleurbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Definitely not for everybody but can work if you understand what you're getting. For me, I was on a very tight budget and I needed to be as close as possible to Paddington Station for the three nights I spent in London. The Metro Hotel is probably about the best you'll do on both of those counts.

The room was very small but that didn't bother me as all I wanted was a place to sleep and shower. On the first night I discovered that the in room safe was locked. The gentleman at the desk was very apologetic and made good on his promise to get someone to fix it. The room wasn't very clean, but the shared bathrooms were. The mattress on the bed felt as if it had broken springs in it so that I was always rolling off to one side. No problems accessing the toilets or showers when I wanted to despite having to share with others. Found the water pressure to be quite good and as much hot water as I wanted. Some noise from the room next door came through but it wasn't a huge problem as I was fortunate to have respectful neighbors during my stay. Breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning. It's basically six kinds of prepackaged sugar, but it will stop your stomach growling. If you plan to go out very early, you can have the tray delivered the evening before -- nothing on it will spoil overnight.

Surprisingly, I didn't have any issues with street noise. Certainly I could hear vehicles going by, but I had expected sirens, horns, and other noise from the construction site nearby. That wasn't the case.

A bit about the staff: I saw three people during my stay there, two young men and one young woman. All were friendly and helpful.

Would I stay there again? I think I might if I needed to save money and only wanted a place to flop. This certainly isn't the kind of place you would enjoy just sitting around and relaxing in. While I have no problem negotiating multiple flights of stairs, those with mobility issues probably want to look elsewhere. The Metro Hotel is good for what it is, but you need to go in with a realistic understanding of what you're getting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for six nights with three friends and overall we enjoyed our time at Metro Hotel. It's location right near Paddington train station which was a massive plus for us, as we could catch a tube to anywhere in London with extreme ease. There are also a number of shops, pubs and restaurants nearby.

The rooms themselves are up at least one decent sized flight of stairs (we were up about four or so flights which didn't bother us, but those less mobile might struggle). We had a four person room and some would consider it small but for the price, we were happy enough. It fit all of our luggage etc with reasonable ease. We had an ensuite which was cosy but had nice shower and toilet. During our stay we had a slight smell from the bathroom, but after we told the hotel staff about this, they had it fixed and back to normal in no time at all.

There was a TV and small fridge in our room so we could keep drinks and food cold. Due to centralised heating to rooms did get a little warm at night with the covers on but that was fixed easy enough (covers off).

They provide breakfast which consists of a massive carb load. Cakes, bread, biscuits, croissants etc are provided. We ate it the first day but then it got a bit much. However be smart as we did and use the items provided as snacks and the such throughout the day. It definitely saves you going out and buying little snacks.

The staff were very friendly and helped us with any enquiries we had. Overall we enjoyed the stay and due to the value for its price and great location, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Those with mobility problems should ask for a room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beggers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#789 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#594 of 1,067 in London
572 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#670 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#646 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#560 of 1,067 in London
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Property: Metro Hotel
Address: 7A Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #942 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing