We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ham Yard Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel via the hotels tonight app after having a mix-up at our previously booked hotel. 15 minutes later we were at the hotel & they were thrilled to see us & so accommodating & helpful. The room was gorgeous & bed & pillows exceptionally comfortable. The location cannot be beat. I have travelled quite a lot & this is definitely one of my top 5 favorite hotels. I'm looking forward to visiting again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    138
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
154
235
39
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having walked past the building site that was to become Ham Yard Hotel I could not wait to see the finished article.
As you walk past the retail outlets into the court yard, you can not help but notice the rather amazing bronze sculpture, as with other Firmdale properties attention is in the detail. I was fortunate enough to be taken on a tour of the premise, Ham Yard certainly has the wow factor.

I met a friend and we stayed for a few drinks..... Despite having a short wait for a table outside as the courtyard was heaving, the service was prompt and the prices no more than you would expect to pay in London.
Having perused the menu I would certainly go back & dine. I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue for a casual dinner or formal business meeting.

Truly great venue!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
296 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Visited the bar and looked around the hotel. Firmdale hotels are a different league. Coming from hotel background I cannot appreciate what Kemps are doing to improve the quality of hospitality. Every detail in the hotel is perfect and so beautiful. The rooms, appartments, public areas. We sat in the bar outside. Tasted the bar menu good but small portions. Staff still needs to settle in as it was their first week of opening. To many foreign staff with limited English. However very professional. The front desk staff a delite and the ops Manager could be more accommodating.
Will definitely visit and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margeritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having stayed regularly at the other firm dale hotels we were very excited to try the brand new ham yard hotel. It did not disappoint the property is amazing and is just as good as all the other hotels. This one is however much larger and you do get a sense of that but the same old favourites are there such as the library and honesty bar. The roof terrace is a great addition and when open the bowling alley too. We love this place and the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed afternoon tea in the luxurious drawing room (this I requested when telephoning to book) where we relaxed and chatted for well over 2 hours. The special tea service designed with tiny animals especially delighted us and the tea was delicious. Starting with savoury quiche and sliders, we then ate scones with clotted cream and jam and a selection of cakes. Rare tea (such as lemon grass) is extra but English breakfast and Earl Grey are included in the £18 pp which we thought very good value. The decor at this hotel is simply amazing. The fabrics and lighting features take your breath away. We were extremely comfortable.

The staff are young, friendly and chatty and we simply did not want to leave so went to the bar for cocktails. As we had been invited to wander around we set off to floor 4 to view the beautiful roof bar, then a friendly cleaner showed us the spa and theatre. I could go on, however in short, we had a wonderful time and I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Did not sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

After having to switch hotels because of being booked out, we decided to stay at the Ham Yard Hotel even though we've never even heard of it. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. From the doormen to the receptionist, the concierge to the cleaner, everyone is willing to help and the atmosphere is just wonderful. The location is great and the room is perfect. The rooms have large TVs and a number of radios. Some rooms even have TVs in the bathrooms. Stayed here for just a few days but loved every day of it. I'd recommend it and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfromdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the brand new Ham Yard Hotel on the opening weekend and had the most wonderful stay in this stunning hotel - everything about it was spot on. The Kemps have outdone themselves with this purpose built hotel, the largest to date in their beautiful portfolio
.
We stayed in a deluxe bedroom, which was incredibly spacious - the room has a seating area, and a huge bathroom with separate walk in shower and bath (with the bonus addition of a tv, ideal for a lazy start to the day soaking in the tub).

The style remains true to the Firmdale brand, and they have done a fabulous job with all of the areas of the hotel - the downstairs event space with bowling alley and dive bar are awesome! There is a very well equipped gym, a sauna and also treatment rooms.

Both dinner and breakfast were outstanding and we also indulged in some delicious cocktails and lovely wines.

The staff, as always, are wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel at home and ensure all your needs are met. Just wish we could have stayed for the week, but I am sure we will be returning many times to this gem.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are super spacious, with a lovely seating area in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MineyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#55 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Property: Ham Yard Hotel
Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ham Yard Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Soho and moments from Mayfair, Ham Yard Hotel has an urban village feel. The hotel revolves around a tree-filled garden with a bronze sculpture centrepiece by Tony Cragg. Alongside the hotel's 91 individually designed bedrooms and suites are 24 apartments, 13 independent stores and a restaurant and bar with outdoor dining. There is a drawing room and library, Spa and Gym, theatre, private event rooms and a 1950's style bowling alley. The rooftop garden has sweeping views of the Soho skyline. Interiors are designed by Kit Kemp in her award-winning modern British style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ham Yard Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing