We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
And why not ?

A good, hassle free way to get to the other side, I'm guessing Victorian era with nicely styled... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ATraveller363
,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Found by Accident

We did not know about this tunnel under the Thames a woman told us about it so we found it on the... read more

Reviewed July 6, 2018
lees599
,
Australia
via mobile
Read all 36 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $175.00
More Info
from $32.70
More Info
from $90.10
More Info
from $44.70
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
13
15
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
15
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free ferry dlr station nice walk cutty sark thames housing
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Old tunnel that allows to cross the river from north to south and opposite.
It has lifts and it opens 24 hours.
Is old but effective.

Thank joseaB565QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good, hassle free way to get to the other side, I'm guessing Victorian era with nicely styled staircase/lift housing. The stairs are a bit rusty and discoloured and lighting is adequate but not great so be careful on the stairs. A nice walk under the Thames. Transport links to and from could be better but its worth seeking out. A bit different and a quiet way to travel.

Thank ATraveller363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Best to think of the Woolwich Foot Tunnel as the Evil Twin of its more visited counterpart at Greenwich. It may be longer and deeper but being merely a stopgap when the Woolwich Free Ferry is out of action the footfall is much much lower. With the less salubrious parts of Woolwich at the South End & the debris of North Woolwich on the opposite still untouched by the hands of the regenerators there is little reason to head here beyond curiosity value.

Thank Griff1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We went back to the Woolwich foot tunnel because we used to walk through there when we were kids 60 years ago. It has not changed very much. The lift at the end is different but it was great fen to "do it again" , lots of old memories and considering when it was built ,quite a feat of engineering. Well worth a look.

Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

The Woolwich foot tunnel crosses under the Thames at Woolwich and is near the Woolwich free ferry. Some of the reviewers are confusing it with the Greenwich foot tunnel by the Cutty Sark, The entrance in Woolwich is just between the ambulance station and the leisure centre. It will be very useful when the ferry closes later in the year. Takes about 12 minutes to walk through.

Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We did not know about this tunnel under the Thames a woman told us about it so we found it on the North Woolwich side and walk through it. Built in 1912 & 504 meters long you can walk down the stairs or take the lift to enter, it get cooler as you go dipper. At the other end you can catch the DLR into & finish up at Tower Hill for the Tower of London.

Thank lees599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We came upon this tunnel by accident. We actually thought it was a public convenience!!! When you enter the tunnel building you go down a floor by stairs or lift. It is then virtually a straight walk under the river to your destination. It's like walking through the Tyne tunnel but obviously without the traffic. The tunnel was well lit, however, if it's open through the night, I am not sure how safe I would feel if on my own. The tunnel is suitable for all ages although common sense says that young children should be accompanied by an adult. It would be a good place to get out of the rain or to cool down if the day was hot. It is a decent walk with a rising slope which could pose problems for those with mobility problems. However, the tunnel is a fun way to cross the river and would recommend a look.

1  Thank Andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

The Woolwich Foot Tunnel was designed by Sir Maurice Fitzmaurice and opened in 1912. It’s 504 metres long. Whilst you may not want to take a trip out just to visit the tunnel you can tie in doing something else in Woolwich with a trip to the foot tunnel. Keeping kids busy in the school holidays on rainy days can be a nightmare. So tell them spooky stories on the way to the foot tunnel and let their imagination run wild once you get in the lift to go down to the tunnel. There is a slight eerie feel to it. Once we were alone in there it was interesting to see how sound travelled in the tunnel. One of my kids ran about half way down and talked in his normal volume but to us it seemed like he was shouting! Not much to do on the North side so we came straight back over to the south side. You can find the entrance to the tunnel directly behind the waterfront leisure centre which incidentally is great for swimming with the kids as it has slides to keep them entertained.

Thank Lotpot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

I was going to get the ferry across the river to North Woolwich when a thunderstorm struck and I was getting very wet. I saw the signs for the foot tunnel and spent a dry 10 minutes crossing the Thames in this marvel of engineering. No one would build a foot tunnel anymore in this car dominated world. The tunnel comes up in North Woolwich quite near to George V DLR station.

4  Thank MYDOGISFINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

If you live on the other side of the river in places like Ilford, Stratford, Dagenham or Romford and are out in Woolwich late, then the foot tunnel can be a massive money saver. It will cost around £45 to £50 for a cab from Woolwich to Romford. If you cross the foot tunnel and get a cab on the other side in Becton it costs £12 to £15. It's only a five minute walk from the town center to the tunnel.

1  Thank Corbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews