We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #251 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Do not be put off by first impressions of this small hotel, I was rather concerned when I first arrived but was very pleasantly surprised when I saw my room, it was small but very comfortable and immaculately clean. The bed was lovely, as was the feather duvet and extremely large fluffy towels.
This would not be suitable for anyone who struggles with stairs, I was on the top (3rd) floor and there is no lift due to the design of the building. I would like to have had a plug socket near a mirror (maybe just a girl thing) and did find it a little noisy but no more so than a travel lodge and not enough to stop me staying again if I need accommodation in this area.
The breakfast was lovely, served in the cafe below the hotel, a great menu choice and nicely cooked to order.
All in all I think this little hotel is a bit of a gem with very helpful and pleasant staff who are willing to make the effort to ensure people are happy and comfotable during their stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 757 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

When I saw the exact location of this hotel I must admit my jaw dropped. It looked like one of those English language schools above a disused shop. However, once inside I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and although overlooking the main road not at all noisy. The staff were very polite and helpful. Although I didn't have an en suite room, the toilet and shower were very close by (although could have done with a door sign!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busybee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

I stayed here for two nights just before Christmas (22/23) as I was working only three minute's walk away. The double room with ensuite was perfect for my needs - warm, very comfortable bed, good shower, spotless throughout and (important to me) at the back of the hotel so the only noise was a deep rumble from the Northern Line below. But even this was advatageous as it is only six stops to Kings Cross. £100 per night in London seems good value for all these conveniences. Breakfast is provided (£8 - £10) but I didn't sample it. I shall certainly stay there again if I am in the area. Waysidemen. (York)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waysidemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed in the coverted council flat (aka apartment). Needed a "ladder" to get in and out of bath tub. No soap. Pixellated 12" TV. No air conditioning. Would be OK in winter with the heat coming through neighbours wall and through water storage heater in hall requiring windows to be kept open all night and door during day. Curtains falling off. Kitchen drawers with no handles. Access to other part of unit locked off - why??
In general lack of detail however staff in the "hotel" in the main street friendly and nice. Unit cleaned and serviced daily ! Close to amenities and can easily walk to town! Pub meals in area very good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuahinCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed there for 2 nights. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff. Close to the station. We will go back on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 25, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed here when I was in London for business and I was very happy with it. Itmight not look so great outside but inside it's well appointed, I had an ensuite, tv and radio and it's clean as a whistle. As I had a room at the back, it was quiet too. If you ook breafast it's served ithe little Italian cafe below, which is good value and has pleasant and efficient service. Soutwark is a great part of London to stay ith a good city vibe, Borough Maeket and the Cathedral near by, good range of restaurants and about 15 minutes to the Tate, Millenium Bridge etc. Previously I've stayed in big, anonymous London hotels but in future, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saoifre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#258 of 1,077 in London
2,265 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#640 of 1,077 in London
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#329 of 1,077 in London
1,391 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#169 of 1,077 in London
764 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#200 of 1,077 in London
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#180 Romantic Hotel in London
#193 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $84 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London City Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing