We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off by first impressions ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #209 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by first impressions ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

When I saw the exact location of this hotel I must admit my jaw dropped. It looked like one of those English language schools above a disused shop. However, once inside I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and although overlooking the main road not at all noisy. The staff were very polite and helpful. Although I didn't have an en suite room, the toilet and shower were very close by (although could have done with a door sign!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    273
    61
    20
    15
See reviews for
91
197
107
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York. UK.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

I stayed here for two nights just before Christmas (22/23) as I was working only three minute's walk away. The double room with ensuite was perfect for my needs - warm, very comfortable bed, good shower, spotless throughout and (important to me) at the back of the hotel so the only noise was a deep rumble from the Northern Line below. But even this was advatageous as it is only six stops to Kings Cross. £100 per night in London seems good value for all these conveniences. Breakfast is provided (£8 - £10) but I didn't sample it. I shall certainly stay there again if I am in the area. Waysidemen. (York)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waysidemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huahin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed in the coverted council flat (aka apartment). Needed a "ladder" to get in and out of bath tub. No soap. Pixellated 12" TV. No air conditioning. Would be OK in winter with the heat coming through neighbours wall and through water storage heater in hall requiring windows to be kept open all night and door during day. Curtains falling off. Kitchen drawers with no handles. Access to other part of unit locked off - why??
In general lack of detail however staff in the "hotel" in the main street friendly and nice. Unit cleaned and serviced daily ! Close to amenities and can easily walk to town! Pub meals in area very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuahinCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed there for 2 nights. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff. Close to the station. We will go back on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed here when I was in London for business and I was very happy with it. Itmight not look so great outside but inside it's well appointed, I had an ensuite, tv and radio and it's clean as a whistle. As I had a room at the back, it was quiet too. If you ook breafast it's served ithe little Italian cafe below, which is good value and has pleasant and efficient service. Soutwark is a great part of London to stay ith a good city vibe, Borough Maeket and the Cathedral near by, good range of restaurants and about 15 minutes to the Tate, Millenium Bridge etc. Previously I've stayed in big, anonymous London hotels but in future, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saoifre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hotel room has lots of space, beds and bathroom are nice. Very good for the price you pay. I can only complain of the noisy outside. Either ask for a room in the back of the hotel or walk a lot around London to fell asleep as a brick ... :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcioB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Bridge Hotel
#607 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#118 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#271 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#230 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Property: London City Hotel
Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#180 Romantic Hotel in London
#194 Business Hotel in London
#221 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London City Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing