We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming accommodation”
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #255 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
whitstable
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming accommodation”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments for 3 nights and found it very good value for money. Central location, clean facilities and very friendly staff. Next door to Borough tube station, 10 minutes away from Guys Hospital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyhernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Emily,

Thank you for leaving a review following your stay in one of our apartments.

I'm pleased that you found the apartment met your needs and was clean and comfortable.

The location is very convenient for Guys Hospital as you mentioned as well as London tourist attractions.

We hope that you come back to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    287
    67
    20
    16
See reviews for
95
204
110
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in a single room. Rooms are nice and clean, staff is friendly, polite and helpful. Also it has a great location - just next to a tube station.
I highly recommend Cafe Riva, situated on the ground floor: coffee was great, as far as the breakfast.
The only thing to think over before booking a single room - there is no toilet or shower inside, just the sink. Shower is situated on the floor and is very clean and modern.
On the weekend I moved to the double room - it included shower, so things got much better)

Room Tip: Choose en-suite if you want a shower inside your room. Staircase and halls are quite tight, so bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine_Sizova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Nadine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for London City Hotel and for adding photos from your stay.

Just to let you know that if you were to stay with us again we have a single ensuite deluxe room available, which has a contemporary open plan shower, a large single bed (4ft) and is on the ground floor at the same level with the Cafe. So this provides easy access to the delicious breakfasts you mentioned.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the 18th of April while on a trip to London to catch a threatre show and take in some of the sights.

Upon arriving we were made to feel very welcome by the staff who were friendly helpful and courteous and really made our stay more pleasent.

The room itself was just what we were looking for, clean and cosy with comfortable beds and pillows.

Location ways you couldn't ask for more, right next to Borough station and close to sites such as the London eye and Buckingham Palace.

Will definitely be looking to stay again on our next London trip. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. The staff team are really pleased to hear that they were able to contribute to ensuring your stay was a pleasant one.

Great to know that you made the most of the location during your short visit and had the opportunity to see a show at the theatre.

We look forward to having you come back to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis, as I work in London part of the week, most weeks. The staff are amazing, the rooms are spotless and the location is brilliant as so central. I have stayed here regularly for about 3 or 4 years and never ever had any cause to complain. I travel a lot around the UK but this is one of the best. I agree with Alison, the towels are super! Yes, I agree that the stairs may be a bit of a challenge if you have difficulty with stairs, but apart from that I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I love the new rooms on the ground floor which are through the Cafe, it's like a boutique hotel design and as quiet as being in the country! The design is lovely and fresh. I always need lots of tea and milk and its never a problem. The breakfast in the Cafe is wonderful and i sometimes get a salad lunch there to go! It is not a greasy spoon 'cafe', its like an Italian/Mediterranean one. There is no bar but there is a pub next door and plenty of other bars and restaurants in the area. Stay here if you are doing anything in London, you won't be disappointed. Great value, great staff and lovely clean rooms. Way more do you want?

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Frances,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We really value your loyalty as a regular business traveller and look forward to you brightening up our Reception on arrival.

We are all very pleased that you and your colleagues appreciate the quiet and calm found in the hotel, the contemporary boutique design and the home comforts available, such as the fluffy towels, super beds and ready supply of tea and coffee facilities.

As you have experienced all the staff take great pride in ensuring that everyone has a pleasant stay from our welcoming reception staff, the 'house proud' housekeeping team and friendly Cafe staff, ready to provide delicious delights to eat in or take away.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst in London for a rugby match at Twickenham. The hotel was very easy to get to on the train/tube as it is literally right next door to Borough tube station and a 5 minute walk to London Bridge tube station. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and polite, and I was surprised when I was taken next door to Cafe Riva in order to get to my room! I wasn't dissappointed though as my room was in a newly furnished part of the hotel at the back of the cafe. Everything in the room was immaculately clean, my bed was lovely and comfortable, the heating/air conditioning panel on the wall was easy to use ( and kept me toasty), I had a decent size TV on the wall, generous tea and coffee, and although the bathroom was small the walk in shower was big and the complimentary shampoo and shower gel more than decent! In addition it was very quiet, being set back quite a way from the high street. If you're having a short stay of a couple of days this place would be perfect. It has a good location, and being in Borough high street everything you need is close by in terms of restaurants, supermarket, banks, newsagents, cafes and transport. Borough market is worth a look as there are some good street food to be had. I would definately recommend this place to another single traveller like me.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of Cafe Riva seem newer, and the Cafe Riva breakfast is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 576MartinK576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for leaving such a fantastic and descriptive review for our hotel. We are really pleased that you felt welcome on arrival and that our location and new rooms met your needs. It is great to receive such positive feedback following a refurbishment and knowing that all the decisions around design, comfort and facilities are appreciated along with the little touches.

By making rooms available on the same level as our Cafe we have been able to provide two single ensuite rooms with large 4ft single beds and contemporary shower rooms. We also now have two extra double rooms, including one spacious deluxe. As you pointed out with the added advantage of easy access to our delicious breakfasts and Monmouth Coffee.

We hope that you come to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely helpful receptionist and great value £49 for a twin room
Spotlessly clean and small but perfectly formed room, modern furniture, TV, tea making facilities loads of clean towels
Bit noisy in the night and having to share a bathroom may be problematic if it is busy as the toilet and shower are in the same room but we had no worries
Would def return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanutswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing London City hotel. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us.

If you need a twin room in the future then we do have a selection of rooms at the back of the hotel, with ensuite facilities.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I use this hotel all the time as I work close by, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are small but well equiped and comftable, especially the new rooms which are entered through the cafe entrance. The breakfasts are great too and there is a wide choice of food on offer. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants a reasonable priced, comfy place to stay. i must add that the towels supplied in the rooms are the biggiest fluffiest wonderful towels i have ever had in any hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms downstairs, they are brand new and lovely to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for leaving a fantastic review for London City Hotel. As a valued customer we are very pleased that you find the hotel so comfortable and that it meets your needs whilst on business.

It is great that you have enjoyed our Cafe on the ground floor of the hotel. Cafe Riva aims to serve good quality food to set you up for the day ahead.

You are absolutely right about the towels they are quite special!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Claudia
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,068 in London
3,065 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,264 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#252 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#242 of 1,068 in London
408 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#626 of 1,068 in London
574 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#90 of 1,068 in London
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Property: London City Hotel
Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#180 Romantic Hotel in London
#194 Business Hotel in London
#221 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London City Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing