We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!”
Review of The Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Hotel
Ranked #769 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I want to be fair so £90 a night B&B 5 minutes walk from South Ken isn't bad, not great but not bad. Clean with polite staff and to get your head down it was ok. However I stay in a fair amount of these more individual hotels over the years as I just don't like chains so my comparison is fair and appropriate I think.

4 stars, not a chance! No Morning papers neither delivered to the room ( we don't do them!) or even in the lobby by 7.30, bed so hard and old you could feel the ridges, decorators in the room next door until after 9 pm and when I mentioned this to reception they didn't know they were there.

Room small and I mean small, in this price bracket you will not be doing cartwheels around the room but in comparison to the two SW5 hotels I use this was small with an outlook between building which made the rom dark, particularly as the curtains were broken. I have seen less knackered bathroom fittings in the scrap metal dealers next to my mates factory.

Pay for wifi and a 1980,s telly with three grainy working channels but loads of pay for films! And finally I know a little about food so when I'm served break kites that has pre chopped mushrooms smaller than the worst Chinese dish ever and all ingredients hot and cold the cheapest from bulk caterers then I'm disappointed.

All in all it was like stepping back to the 80's and not in a way that made me feel good

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Hotel is very well located, and central. Decor is very good, Ist impression very good---however!! Room quite small for 2, T.V on loan from Science museum, Tea making facilities provided, but hunt the power point behind bedside table!! T he room was not double glazed, so you could hear every bus and plane all night long, even with tissue in ears!!!. Would NOT choose this hotel again. On a health and safety point towel rail in bathroom was very hot. Small niggle at breakfast ,bowls of marmalade and honey, but no small dish to take to table.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first, wish I had!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwhiteBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

For a hotel in such a location, 3 min walk to the tube, near the museums and the Royal Albert Hall, this was a really good value hotel. By London standards the room was an OK size, had everything we needed (and a complimentary cup of tea on arrival which was nice). Good quality bed linen was a plus. Lovely building and friendly discreet staff (especially the young lady at breakfast!). We were overlooking the front but it is not a busy road (ear plugs recommended for any hotel in London). Would choose this hotel again for all the above reasons. Continental breakfast was plentiful (if a little dull).

Room Tip: This is London - wear earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnAbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was an interesting place to stay, lots of original features and antique stuff. Good location for getting about. Had a twin room for a few days pre-Christmas shopping. Good sized room, all mod cons, full sized bath and super forceful shower, comfy beds BUT the traffic noise was unbelievable. I went and bought some earplugs from Boots the next day - old Victorian building with rattling, single glazed sash windows. I feel a bit mean saying poor sleep quality but this place would so benefit from secondary glazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saturnstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a lovely hotel 10 years ago and there are still beautiful elements - paintings, public spaces - lounge etc... and the staff are friendly and helpful. However the bedrooms - I saw two because the first one I had sprung a leak - had peeling paper, damaged curtain rails with curtains falling off, and badly marked paintwork; the second room was also very dirty. Also, the food I ordered from room service was horrible - I can't believe a cook doesn't know what a toasted sandwich is, and the Full English Breakfast was a disappointment because of the cheap and overcooked bacon. This really is not a four star hotel at the moment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent a weekend at Gallery and was really nice stay overall.The location is unbeatable few minutes walk from museums and tube station. We had a complimentary cup of tea upon our check in and was so kind of them. The room was quiet and clean. All members of staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for a weekend .The location is excellent.Right by the Natural History museum' the V and A and Hyde Park. The District and Circle and Picadilly line tubes are a couple of minutes away. The hotel itself a bit chintzy but comfortable.The room was small but we had a huge comfy bed. The shower was really fierce.The hair dryer was the but I have encountered in a hotel bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities and a safe .Down stairs is a very comfortable lourge and small bar.There is a lift .Breakfast came as part of the price and was quite adequate with optional full Ehglish for an extra £5.We paid £105 per night for a double room, which Was good value for Central London.The only downside was the room was very hot and it was a little noisy with the window open.I will definitely stay there again.
.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#223 of 1,077 in London
518 reviews
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#533 of 1,077 in London
215 reviews
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#791 of 1,077 in London
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#669 of 1,077 in London
855 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
818 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #769 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $222 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Fastbooking so you can book your The Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel London
The Gallery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing