We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All fur coat and no knickers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #17 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
co. antrim
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All fur coat and no knickers”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Very cleverly photographed on website- be prepared for a 'cosy' room, even though we upgraded to a better room. Staff etc were pleasent. Quite good value for money location wise- however i would like clean bed linen!! ensuite small, kitchenette good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    284
    80
    20
    13
See reviews for
215
198
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed 2 nights here. Was reasonably convenient, close to Bayswater and Paddington. Just don't understand why they have 2 burners but not a saucer or a frying pan to cook or fry an egg. You have to be a microwave wizard. Would have helped if there was an electrical socket where the kitchenette was. Has to take the toaster and the water cooker to the otherside of the room which we found little of a bother.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2008

I found the shower water on offer in the morning was cold only. A little frosty, I asked reception to sort it out. The situation was the same the next morning. On checking out, the manager seemed to think that was perfectly ok. Seems a pricy place for this level of service.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discriminatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Lovely rooms, spotless, stylish, but aircon always set to freezing. I had to borrow a portable heater,and I still froze.

Why do hotels do that I wonder set the aircon to 18degrees, give you a control in the room which does not work?

Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank carlotortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

The extractor fan that runs the heating / airconditioning at this hotel is so ridiculously loud that we could not sleep at all during our first night. After several complaints to the reception staff, who were unable to make the noise stop, we decided to cancel the remainder of our stay and move to another hotel for our last few nights. Terribly disappointing.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Leeds-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
238 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I stayed at the premises from Oct 29-Oct 31st and can confirm the problem with the air conditioning. It was extremely loud and the temperature in the room was cold and not very compfty. But all in all I have a very good impression of this hotel which is more an appartment hotel with self catering than a hotel you normally expect. Rooms are very modern, stylish and all have a kichenette with mcrowave, fridge and other facilities to cook, so if you plan to self cater yourself, perfect place there. You even can get pans at the reception. There is no bar or other leisure facility around in the hotel. The Baywater area is nice and quiet, 5 min. walk to Paddington and 5-10 min to bus and underground :Lancester Gaste or Queensway. Compared to any other London hotel I stayed, the room was very big, even in a single room and very well maintained. Hope the air conditioning problem was a temporaily one. I found the staff very nice and caring.

  • Liked — Rooms & nice staff
  • Disliked — no leisure facilities in the hotel, more an appartmnet hotel, good for longterm business stays
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

The communal air conditioning units that supply this hotel generate more noise than heat or cold. Management solution - an override switch to disconnect the units when someone complains about the noise outside their rooms. Our room was subject to this thunderous sound (despite having requested a quiet room) and when I complained the receptionist switched off the unit temporarily. I was sitting in the reception area in the evening, and watched the humourous situation as guests came in to complain about the noise when the units were switched on, or about the lack of heat when the units were off. I don't envy the receptionist who toggled the units between off and on. If you don't like thunderous white noise, go elsewhere.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellorWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
3,575 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 573 in London
645 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 573 in London
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing