We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great Location”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #18 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good value hotel in quiet location, clean , well decorated room with own mini kitchen as no breakfast provided. Excellent reception staff, helpful and fun to deal with. Would return. Proper London Boozer within walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor as you need crampons to get their and fire escape is two floors down!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robtoon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for The Cleveland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 619 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed at over 30 hotels in London by now. At the Cleveland, everything is small for American standards, but well organized. The room includes a tea pot and coffee for the morning. The shower is a bit too small, but OK. And, most importantly The Cleveland is a good experience for the money in typically very expensive London. And Joely Richardson (from Girl with a Dragon Tattoo and Nip/Tuck) lives next door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend.

Staff that we encountered were friendly, room was good size and well equipped.

The hotel is in a good location, 5 minutes from Paddington Station and a good range of restaurants, bars etc nearby.

Was also reasonably priced by London standards.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitre135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Cleveland during the recent Bank Holiday weekend. Having stayed at many London Hotels over the years we were very impressed by the standards maintained at this hotel and had booked it through previous good reports in Trip Advisor. The welcome we received when we arrived from the receptionist was excellent who after checking us in, showed us personally to our room on the 4th floor and explained all the facilities, and during our stay continually greeted us and made us feel very welcome. The room was first class, extremely clean and the small kitchette was exceedingly well equipped. The hotel is located in an extremely good quiet location in Bayswater, very close to Hyde Park on one side, and a number of bars and good restaurants only a few streets away on the other. We would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again without question. Top Marks from us!

Room Tip: Room 27 - Light, bright and spacious!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

will return to this hotel !! quiet and safe area close to hyde park and underground and close to the albert hall and the main museums. many restaurants and nice pubs and shops I recommend it.the kitchen in the room was very useful but a bit more space would help.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_t2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Cleveland Hotel for a long week-end. We reserved an Executive Family Deluxe room and we were very pleased to find a very large, clean and quite room. There was a kitchenette and the possibility to prepare coffee and tea. The bed was comfortable and large, and a sofa bed could accommodate our children. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel is in a residential area and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. We will definitely go back for our next trip to London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hexe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at The Cleveland for a weekend trip to London. Three of us shared a room which was reasonably sized for our group and had very good facilities including a kitchenette with everything you need to prepare a meal if you want. Best of all it was very clean throughout. The hotel is situated in a residential square only a short walk from the many cafes and shops of Queensway. We found it very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. Our room was below street level and perhaps ideally we may have liked a slightly better view but it honestly wasn't a major problem, plenty of light and you didn't feel like you were in a basement. It's relatively small and they don't have a large staff team but there was always someone on reception and everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. It's not high end luxury but it was modern, very clean, comfortable and in a great location I would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room, room 7, was below street level and looked out onto the small internal courtyard and perha...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thefairwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel The Caesar
#282 of 1,072 in London
2,000 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#13 of 563 in London
471 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 563 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $129 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing