We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value for money!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #16 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
göteborg
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value for money!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in Bayswater, a nice neighbourhood. It is near Hyde Park where it is nice to take a walk. They don't serve breakfast at the hotel, but it nice to start the day by having breakfast out and then take the Tube to explore the city! I can highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamiaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    270
    72
    18
    12
See reviews for
197
182
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked The Cleveland for 3 adults in 1 room after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. Needed somewhere near The Royal Albert Hall. Very happy with the choice, clean hotel, friendly helpful staff and great location. Lovely walk through the park to get to RAH but the park was closed when we came out so if you are using the hotel as somewhere to stay when seeing a show/concert a taxi or tube may be needed. We walked back around the outside of the park, quite a distance but gave us chance to talk about the concert. I would highly recommend the Cleveland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetopaz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our family of 3 adults. The rooms were very clean and we liked having the small kitchen area, which was perfect for grabbing a quick breakfast. The staff were very helpful. We e-mailed the hotel for additional information a couple of times before we left home and each time we received a prompt response. We were able to leave our luggage at the front desk when we arrived early in the morning. When we checked in later in the afternoon, they had already taken our luggage to our room. They showed us to our room and then promptly provided additional items we requested. Hotel is in a good location -- safe with good access to the tube. Paddington Station is about half a mile away and the Lancaster Gate stop is also nearby. A Boots drugstore and the Whiteley's shopping center are only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Whiteley's has a Marks & Spencer where we shopped for food. We would definitely stay at The Cleveland again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I liked the layout of the boutique hotel, the room, reception, hallway, interior design were all very beautiful. The staff were very friendly. It was only a 5 minute walk to either Bayswater or Lancaster Gate tube and in a very safe area. We didn't have breakfast included in our package, but the kitchenette facilities in the room had a fridge, sink, kettle and little hob so we made our own which was perfect. I had also read that the breakfast wasn't worht the £10 so we didn't bother including it. I thought the price was reasonable for what we got. The weather was extremely cold for when we were there and there was an awful draft from the single glazed window so the staff had to put in an electric heater.

Prior to arriving, I had mentioned that this was a special occasion and the staff suggested we upgrade to the executive room (room 18) for an extra payment. I was disappointed with the room as it looked like the standard rooms.

Room Tip: 1st floor room was nice and bright - alot of stairs for other rooms so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennywithay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandane, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Cleveland hotel was beyond all expectations! The staff was friendly, it was easy to find it (walking distance from Paddington station) and the rooms were amazing! HUGE rooms, with large beds, kitchenette and a fancy bathroom. The only negative things were that the beds were a bit uncomfortable and there was no heating on the bathroom, but this is only trifles! In comparison to other hotels in London this is the best I have stayed on!
All in all a perfect stay in London and I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to London!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorunn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nicely located 5 minutes walking distance from Paddington Station. Nothing to complain about - however, breakfast was a bit minimalistic... Our room was quiet, even though on street level (road is a dead end). Service friendly and helpful - and we got an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IH_Lueneburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After reading previous reviews we requested a quiet room on a higher floor for our stay.Unfortunately when we checked in there was only a room on the ground floor left.The room was clean,the bathroom small and just outside the window was what looked and sounded like a compressor...a very noisy compressor!
Continental breakfast served in the room was ok but have stayed in better locations for a similar price.
To sum up I think this hotel is more 3* than 4*.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#67 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing