We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #21 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandane, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Cleveland hotel was beyond all expectations! The staff was friendly, it was easy to find it (walking distance from Paddington station) and the rooms were amazing! HUGE rooms, with large beds, kitchenette and a fancy bathroom. The only negative things were that the beds were a bit uncomfortable and there was no heating on the bathroom, but this is only trifles! In comparison to other hotels in London this is the best I have stayed on!
All in all a perfect stay in London and I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to London!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorunn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    277
    76
    20
    13
See reviews for
206
188
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luneburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nicely located 5 minutes walking distance from Paddington Station. Nothing to complain about - however, breakfast was a bit minimalistic... Our room was quiet, even though on street level (road is a dead end). Service friendly and helpful - and we got an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IH_Lueneburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

After reading previous reviews we requested a quiet room on a higher floor for our stay.Unfortunately when we checked in there was only a room on the ground floor left.The room was clean,the bathroom small and just outside the window was what looked and sounded like a compressor...a very noisy compressor!
Continental breakfast served in the room was ok but have stayed in better locations for a similar price.
To sum up I think this hotel is more 3* than 4*.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

At 107 GBP a night and a stone's throw from Hyde Park, who can complain? But we were so very pleased to find our triple room to be extremely spacious, with full kitchenette, uber-comfy beds, and a great shower. Great location, great room, terrific price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette. Supermarket is only 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claxhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
375 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my first trip to the UK. A friend recommended this general area and I chose The Cleveland partially from reading other Trip Advisor reviews.

We requested and received one of the fourth floor rooms. As explained in another review, the elevator doesn't go up to the final floor, but we're hikers so that doesn't bother us.

The room was clean and amenity-laden. It was nice to have a stove top, microwave, small refrigerator, and hot water pot. Also a kitchen sink. The decor was modern including a flat screen telly. We were very comfortable in the room.

The location of the hotel was especially top-notch. Hotel Cleveland is tucked away on a quiet residential street, yet it's only a five minute walk from the Bayswater Tube Station, as well as a number of restaurants and shops. Also on our street was a laundromat so we were able to do a wash mid-trip which was great because we had packed lightly.

Hotel Cleveland's staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to answer our questions.

Oh, and there was also an espresso machine in the front lobby. Nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was given a room downstairs with a view of a wall. Also had a constant noise from a heating system or pipe throughout the night. Room was spacious though and clean with fridge, microwave and toaster. Shower on the small side I would say. 1 km walk to Paddington station is a plus as it connects to the Heathrow Express and various subway lines. Hyde Park is also quite near by.
Would give 4 stars if not for the mentioned issues with my room; so maybe avoid room 03 in the basement, if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and room #03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank World_traveller_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect little hotel tucked away in a quiet square a short walk from Paddington station. Gentleman on the night shift was very helpful in making sure we had everything, as we arrived late.

Room was big, clean and had a nice bathroom. Appeared to be some damp stains on the walls but not an issue. Bed was comfortable.

Would stay again, and for the price and location, an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#208 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Hotel The Caesar
#300 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#22 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing