We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great find on a quiet residential street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great find on a quiet residential street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from a stay at the Clevland. Very impressed with the hotel. Clean and nely renovated and the small kitchen in the room was very well equipped. The free continental breakfast was also excellent and I was impressed by the organic yoghurt and orange juice. They dont provide cooked breakfasts but the continental pastries, fruit and yoghurt as well as bagels was more than sufficient. Enjoyed all the more as it was delivered to our room. The room itself was large, airy and comfortable. We booked a double and there was more than enough room for two of us. All the staff were incredibly polite, friendly and welcoming. The hotel is on a quiet residential street. Would definitely stay here again. The only thing that stops me giving it a 5 star was the lack of hot water on the Sunday morning. To be fair to the hotel the staff phoned us up to advise us of the problem with the boiler and were very apologetic whilst waiting for their repairman to arrive. I think they were as fed up as us as the boiler had only recently been overhauled!

Room Tip: Ask for non basement room but not fourth floor (the lift only goes up to the third floor!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    264
    70
    18
    12
See reviews for
189
182
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel using booking.com. It's very close to Paddington, Bayswater and Lancaster gate stations, and well situated for Hyde Park. The rooms are modern and heated/air conditioned and have kitchenettes to prepare breakfast/light meals. There isn't a restaurant. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Very quiet location. Would stay again as easy access to central London.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ideal location when using the train from Heathrow. Large clean rooms in a nice area of town. We skipped breakfast as they only had in room continental breakfast and had a proper English breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker1969too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice and pleasant hotel. Very clean and roomy. We were assigned a room on the top floor which is not accessible by lift. Short climb up the stairs. They were helpful in carrying our bags up to the room. Kitchen comes with a microwave which is handy for food warming. Free wifi is a plus. About 15 mins walk to paddington underground. We miss our way back to the hotel on our first night as the buildings looks alike thus would suggest do look out for some familiar landmarks for ease of finding the way back to the hotel, especially at night. Overall is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Hotel. It was absolutely fabulous,really comfortable,clean rooms with plenty of space. The kitchenette facilities were an excellent finishing touch to the rooms. The hotel is very well situated,the tube stations are in close proximity(£7.00 per day for day pass which allowed you to see all the sight seeing of London).I would definately stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed as a family with two teenagers so we could visit London's sights without a long commute. The ensuite kitchen facilities (hidden behind wardrobe-style doors in the room) helped to keep costs down. The room was well laid-out with the sofa bed accommodating the teenagers. The central location made it ideal. The staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to go back some time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is very well situated in London. Only 10 mins from Paddington and in a quiet square.

We had the suite for two nights and were very impressed. The hotel is clean and bed was very comfortable. You cannot get a cooked breakfast, but the suite had all the facilities to make your own in the kitchenette which was very well equipped. And being located where it is cafes etc are a short walk away.

The hotel was great in arranging cabs and a late night pizza for us!!

The only reason I haven't given a 5 star is that my father called and wanted to send two bottles of champagne to hotel for our arrival, they told him this service wasn't available!!?? They do not have a bar at the hotel so it wasn't hurting their revenue stream. I found this a little odd as we were paying £200 per night! It may have been due to a language barrier as not one member of staff was British.

However in saying that, every member of staff was polite and helpful and I have no gripes at all with the hotel. Comfy big bed, spacious airy room, air con and great facilities. We will be staying again!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#68 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#21 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#16 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Ardmore House
#2 of 556 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing