We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #19 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Pros: Location near Hyde Park super for morning runs. It's also a very quiet neighborhood. London is such an expensive city that a reasonably priced hotel is itself a good thing. It's nice to have a sink and a fridge (even though our fridge happened not to work properly and our kids couldn't get any cold water out of the tap).
Cons: Guests are allowed to smoke on the basement patio, which seems like it should be OK, except that this means you can't open the window, which is a problem in the summer. I imagine that the problem would be at least as bad with windows that open onto the street, since everyone smokes out there as well.
All in all, this is an OK place to stay, with some caveats.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank h22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    294
    81
    21
    13
See reviews for
218
202
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amybu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for my hen weekend. Great location - 5 minute walk to Paddington and Queensway tube stations. We had one larger room and a double. Both were clean, nicely decorated and bright. The small kitchens are very handy indeed and have all that you could need. Bathrooms are clean and modern with great showers and beds are very comfy. Had a great stay here and was exactly as I had hoped it would be. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Beautiful London Townhouse Hotel. Rooms Comfortable and Well Appointed. A Good Place to Stay For Good Price in Very Expensive City. I Couldn't Find Any Other Hotel At the Time We Were Staying For Under $200. This Was a Great Mid-Level Hotel IN a Beautiful Neighborhood-Paddington. Very Convenient If Coming From Airport-Paddington Express Airport Shuttle Within Walking Distance of Hoel. Can Also Walk to Kensington Gardens and Many Main City Sights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

we stayed here for one night and had to be close to the paddington station to go to heathrow

+
nice location, 10 min walk to the station
clean
okay price

-
we asked for a room on one of the bottom floors, got a room on the highest floor. Had to take about five flights of stairs with our lugage.. nice!
room was extremely small, even for london standards
no hot water in the evening, in the morning it was okay
wireless internet didn't work

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbeliii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We arrived and were promptly shown to our rooms by the very helpful receptionist. We were a party of 6 friends with 2 rooms. We were off to wembley to see Take That and needed somewhere close to Paddington Station. This hotel fitted our needs perfectly. The rooms were spacious, clean and very well equipped. We had huge windows and a balcony was the added attraction for us, overlooking a perfect London square. I loved this hotel and got a wonderful feeling of living in London - if only for 1 night!! we all said we would stay here again with no hesitation. Fab night - so thanks to all those at the Cleveland for your hospitality

Room Tip: Room 15 on 1st floor with huge windows that opened out onto the balcony area above the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Our second stay at the Ceveland Hotel this July 2011. Staff very helpful. Kitchenette useful for morning breakfast. Although there are no frying pans to use on the HOB. Microwave to heat meals. TESCO, Marks&Spencer, and Nisa grocery store nearby to buy food and snacks. Tube stops, Lancaster Gate, Queensway are the closet. Room clean, however the carpets need to be cleaned or better yet replaced. This hotel has been doing business for 10 years or so. We will stay again on our next visit. Rooms 15 and 17 have french doors that open that make the rooms better than others in the hotel. Very quiet neighborhood, you'll sleep well. Street in front of hotel is not a through street. No traffic in front of the hotel.
No restaurant. Try the Pride of Paddington near Paddington station 3 blocks to the east. Also the Cleveland Arms pub one block east for a beer. Only microwave food at Cleveland Arms. Or try the Leinster Arms two blcks south around the corner on your way back from Hyde park. Have fun.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djh20639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#196 of 1,067 in London
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#30 of 557 in London
657 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 557 in London
424 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 557 in London
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing