We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations, dirty and lacking basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyde Park Suites Serviced Apartments
Ranked #547 of 956 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Downside: We spent too much for 3 nights (ouch!) on a poorly equipped (no coffee pot, or cafetiere, 2 cups, no wine glasses...you get the picture) kitchen, as we were in town for the 2012 games. We completely defrosted the freezer as it was so full of ice, the fridge was hopeless. it was dirty throughout and very poor specification in terms of bed quality and so forth. Upside: Location is ideal, no problem there, 1 block from Hyde Park and to Bayswater tube stop, and the next renter will have a functioning freezer (unit 9A for your reference!), number 81. Hyde Park Suites advertised WIFI, but signal was unavailable in the building we stayed in. Reception was understaffed and lacked customer service even moreso than most places in London (non-existent)

Room Tip: if you have to stay, get a room at the back so that the street noise will be somewhat less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KnowsPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

The best part about this place is that it is well connected and in the heart of the city.The Bayswater underground, Hyde park and kensington gardens are all walking distance away.Even food was not a problem as there were all sorts of restaurants round the corner.

if u want to be all by yourself and u want to explore london,then this is the place to stay.They give u complete privacy.The room is cleaned and towels changed on request that too once in 2 days. The kitchen area was minimal but clean and all modern kitchen amenities were available.The bathroom though were small and hot water was an issue.

Overall good place to stay and explore London

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManishaParag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not worth the money - were charged a higher rate as travelling close to the Olympics however, arrived to a room that reeked of smoke. Opened the window and the windowsill was filled with cigarette butts. Hot water did not work in the kitchen sink. Also at the top level which is up 6 flights of stairs (no lifts). After the stink of smoke we ended up buying air freshener and chose to sleep in our sleeping bags as not sure about room cleanliness. Reception at this hotel was not the most helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank febreezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife,sister, and myself stayed at this establishment for three nights from the 22nd to 24th May 2012. We were led to believe we were staying at 13 Inverness Tce, but instead were told to go to No 33, about a hundred meteres down the road. The office is at No 13 and dosen't open until 9.00am every morning, so if you arrive at 7.00am, as we did,you sit on the footpath with your luggage for a few hours.After checking in we were told to take our luggage up to No 33 and we'd be on the Fifth floor.The trouble was the lift only went to the Fourth floor, so we had to cart all our luggage up the narrow staircase to our room on the fifth.The room was newly decorated,but it looked like it had been done by a couple of amatures. The light fittings in the bathroom were hanging out, the tiling looked like it had been done by a twelve year old, and unbelieveably, the toilet flushed with hot water. It looked like whoever did the plumbing hooked the toilet up to the hot water. instead of the cold. The air conditioning didn't work, and the window would'nt stay open, so we had to prop it up with an empty spirit bottle. The stove didn't work, as the knobs were broken, but that didn't bother us as we didn't intend to eat in the room. The room was booked as a treble, but there were two singles and a vinyl lounge that folded down to a third bed. It was impossible to get a good nights sleep on it, as the vinyl was hot, and the crack down the middle made it impossible to sleep in the middle of the "bed". Fortunately, we were only there for 3 nights, and when i mentioned the above problems on checking out,(which you can't do before 9.00am) all i got was a shrug of the shoulders, and the comment,"we know all about that" The only thing for these so called "suites" is the excellent location. Close to shops, restaurants, and pubs, as well as Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, and the tube and buses to central London. I don't think the location makes up for the poor standard of accomodation, and the attitude of the people running it. Our first and last stay there, as i'm sure there are better establishments available for the price, in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in this "hotel" for 3 nights. If you want cheap accomodations with absolutely no amenities - and by amenitities I mean a bed that isn't totally sagging in the middle with a spring sticking out, towels that don't feel like sandpaper, a bathroom sink that turns on, a shower that does not alternate scalding and freezing water, and any maid service at all, then this is the place for you. It is very close to the underground and a few restaurants are a close walk away. Also close to the park an one of the stops on the Big Bus tours. Major construction on the street in May 2012 which wakes you up very early. Trust me - please spend your money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manalapan_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed in number 30 for 3 nights fri-sunday and the only positive about the accommodation was that it was convenient for Bayswater underground (2 min walk) and Hyde park and kensington gardens (short walk away) and local conveniences sainsburies local and Tesco, pizza hut etc are all a few minutes walk away.
We had booked a Duluxe studio suite- after checking in it was clear that there was nothing duluxe about the accommodation. The kitchen area was minimal but clean, the bathroom had a strong smell of drainage-which spread across the whole apartment although on the plus side the shower was spacious. The bed was very noisy and squeaked loudly with every movement-also there was no mattress protector just a poor fitting sheet.The duvet underneath the cover was filthy. We were on the ground floor and had our baby daughter with us so spent our evenings in the apartment- extremely noisy is an understatement I am surprised our daughter managed to sleep through the noise which consisted of repeated slamming of doors, the underground tube, very loud music coming from above and people screaming and shouting until well past midnight. The television was only tuned into 90 Arabic channels which were of no use to us. I would advise to maybe pay a little more and stay in different accommodation in this area as the area itself was ideal.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popsterYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The front desk is closed early morning. There is no maid service to clean up your room during your stay. My room was in terrible condition. The mattress was not sleepable. There is no air conditioning.
The hotel is adversized as a 3-4 star; it's a true one star, with no services.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank noahbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hyde Park Suites
#505 of 956 in London
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Suites Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Suites Serviced Apartments

Address: 13 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 956 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hyde Park Suites Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Suites Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Hyde Park Suites Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing