We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the box”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Ranked #71 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Nothing fancy, but comfortable rooms, exactly as described. Great location, just near the natural history museum. Bathrooms are tiny, but good hot showers. Very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

This was our first stay in Baden Powell House. IWe read the other reviews after booking and subsequently felt a bit anxious about what we might find. However, there was no need to worry.
The staff were young, but polite and friendly. They were not particularly forthcoming with information - we had to ask about towels, locker room, breakfast etc, but when we did ask they were helpful.
Our room was booked for 5 and had 3 bunk beds. The room was basic but clean. Yes, we had to make some of the beds, but at least we could see that the duvets and matresses were clean! We were very pleased to be able to open the windows so we had fresh air rather than air-con. Yes there was a lot of traffic noise, but if you want to stay right by the natural history museum and open the window, then it's only to be expected.
The bathroom is small - it's one of those all in one shower/toilet/basin units that you might find in a caravan or a boat. This means a bit of planning about what to bring in and where to hang your clothes when you have a shower, but there was plenty of hot water, it was all very clean and this type of unit means that you don't have to share communal facilities.
The breakfast was excellent (it's cheaper if you book it when you check in). Not haute cuisine, or even a full English, as stated on the website, but a good selection of cereals, toast + spreads, rolls + ham and cheese, fruit + yoghurt and a selection of tea, coffee and juices. Nothing sophisticated, but great for kids. Our children (9 and 12) were given instructions to make sure they filled up, at breakfast, which they did and I'm sure that eating well at the beginning of the day saved us a lot of money later on.
We were able to leave our luggage at the hostel after we checked out, which was a great help. We weren't troubled by noise from other rooms at all.
As far as location goes, I don't think you could get much better for children. The hostel is just across the road from the natural history musem and 10 mins walk from Hyde Park and similar to South Kensington Tube station.
We think that some of the negative comments about this place are really churlish. For hostel accommodation that's convenient, clean and cheap in the middle of a city, you shouldn't expect all the trimmings of a hotel. The only thing I missed was somewhere to hang clothes - there are lockers, but no hooks or hangers.
We felt safe, all of the time.
We'd thoroughly recommend Baden Powell House to anyone with a family or a group of friends wishing to spend a few nights in London

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank applesnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

the staff at this hostel were awfuly rude, on the first night apparently we made too much noise and nearly got thrown out of the hostel, the night supervisor thought it was us making all the noise, when inface it was the rooms around us. the rooms were a good size but far too crouded and the televisions only get certain channels. the beds were uncomft and the pillows were hard, and the noise from the main road was terrible, and the sights from accross the road we're even worse (we could see right into a couples bedroom) and they weren't doing any welcoming things in there. there was rubbish left in our room from the people before us. we were on the 5th floor, so thats about 10-12 flights of staris we had to walk up to get from the main lobby to there, we weren't even aloud to use the elevators. the food in the hostel was horrible, the only good thing about it was the little loaf of bread you go in the morning. the chips were all soggy and not cooked right and were like worms, the food was so bad we only had dinner there twice out of the 4 nights we were there. the staff in the hostel were not welcoming and gave us all a big lecture at the start of the trip. there was another school staying at the same time as us and we had to go out of our room at night to get a drink of water at 1am maybe and the teacher from this other school was watching us instead of controlling the school children making the loud noise in the room next to us. the staff at the front desks are not helpful and if you ask them something they just mutter back to you, and you cant even hear them right. this hostel is the worst place i've ever stayed when i was supposed to be having a good time, and i seriouslt DONT advise anyone to stay there EVER, you might die of food posioning?

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odearr-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

we took a large group of about 35, this was our second visit and probably our last. there is a large communication issue as most of the staff seem to understand very little english and this made booking very difficult. booked dinner for one of the nights as we were going to a shoe, they had us booked for the wrong time, even though it was comfirmed 2 days before, this then ment we were reunning late. also dinner was a disapointment as there was only one choice, fish and chips, and some of the food the group received was still raw.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unhappyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I am a mature lady, I went there for few day for Conference in London. The place is very good, staff helpful, breakfast quality and attendency is excellend, Thus I am quite satisfied. I stayed in private room and it would be nice to low a bit the price. I consider it was a bit too expensive compare to share rooms. You will enjoy the place, if you like clean, nice area, helpful people etc!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AmazonasRioNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I led a group of 50 schoolkids & parents to London for five days in May. We were looking for clean, safe accommodation in a convenient location. The Meininger fit our bill perfectly. We had several 12-bed rooms, which vary in size, so need to be looked at before assigning room. (The girls on our trip got the smaller room, and weren't happy).

The Meininger is only a 5-minute walk from the Gloucester Road tube stop, and can be reached directly from Heathrow Airport. The Natural History Museum is right next door, and Kensington Palace and Gardens are only about 10 minutes walk. The Princess Diana playground is a fantastic place for kids to let off some energy.

Everything was basic, but for our group was fine, since the kids couldn't really ruin anything. Breakfast was OK, the kids ate well everyday. Dinner was a disappointment, and should be avoided if at all possible.

Any teacher looking for group accommodation can't do better than the Meininger. University students wanting a place to party should look elsewhere, since alcohol is not allowed here.


Barbara Wissinger
Lengdorf Germany

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GermanMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Just returned from staying at the Baden-Powell hostel, on a trip with my school Elms Primary in Nottingham. I thought it was a nice clean place, the food was nice and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pops08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#47 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 923 in London
2,651 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 923 in London
1,207 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#54 of 923 in London
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $40 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing