We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Ranked #75 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Sevilla
1 review
“nice hostal”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location is the best. Very good connections with the downtown.. friendly staff and good facilities, but Wifi should be free, as in lots of hostels in London. Cold rooms and tiny baths, but it's ok

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    240
    127
    56
    37
See reviews for
108
40
185
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked in adavance and couldnt believe how cheap it was, and when I arrived was waiting for the catch, but there wasnt one. Great service, I could hire a padlock, as I had forgotten to buy one, and put my bags in my room early. The rooms were clean and warm, the shower was tiny, but great pressure and nice and hot. I stayed for two nights and will stay again and recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank robyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for. A few nights before headed to the US. It's more of an upgraded backpacker hostel than a hotel but its value for money. Good breakfast in the mornings for only £5 something but is great value if you like your continental breakfast like myself. Only not so good part of the hotel is that I think it helps along with scouts etc and there are always kids running around and making a lot of racket !! But other than that... It's ok :-) safe travels !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotahiaroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at this Meininger seven yrs ago when it was the Baden Powell youth hostel.
Not much has changed, which is a good thing.
Rooms were very reasonable--I paid GBP10 for a bunk in a two bunkbed (four beds) room.
I should have specified ladies only, but my roommates were great--a couple, and a single male--everyone was asleep when I came in at 11pm. I left before everyone was up in the morning.
The room was very clean--matresses and sheets comfortable.
No towels which was unfortunate.
Communal bathrooms were a bit unclean--but not much you can do to control smokers who use the john to smoke when it's forbidden.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MTS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is a Brilliant hotel at Budget price, I paid £12 per night but quality is worth more than that.
I was in room 307, Every thing is perfect but only bathroom/toilet in room is small like an Aero plane toilet, It should be bigger.

Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Perfect hostel!
The boys and girls at the reception are always helpfull.
The room was clean, the price was good, and the location is perfect near to 2 subways stations (zone1), 3 museums and... really, what more would you wish for?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stelios A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#62 of 843 in London
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 843 in London
552 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Property: MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing