We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of The Aber Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Aber Hotel
Ranked #691 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Used this hotel via work.

Very nice stay. Hotel rooms are very adequately equipped with excellent Sony LCD TV, tea making facilities and very comfortable bed. Bathrooms small, but acceptable and shower was very good.

Breakfast was typical continental breakfast in an annex / conservatory to the house which was very quaint.

Did not use the hotel long, but staff was very friendly and rooms were very clean and tidy which is all that I required.

I did notice train / tube about 5 min walk from hotel, so would assume this is a decent location to get into the city without staying in the centre.

A 10-15 min walk takes you into Crouch End which has all the restaurants etc you require.

5 Min down the hill / road is a convenience store for any small bits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had 2 people in a double room. It was small, but very adequate. We were not in the room often, only to sleep. The bathroom was nice and clean. Breakfast was good and the price was right! We took the bus/underground everywhere so this was a convenient location for that. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We arrived late, after 11pm and we buzzed and someone opened up for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Aber Hotel is a great value. You will love the area, and everyone is helpful. I found the whole neighborhood charming, and being on the hill allowed for a great city view as well. Lots of character all around. The shower is a touch small, but it is more than adiquate. Buy an Oyster Card and you are set!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

don't think so.
the Aber hotel is cheap (80£ per night for a double room), clean, comfortable, just in front of a bus stop running in 5 minutes to a metro station, with nice guests and good breakfast. even if its' not in the center it's easy to come and go, set in the nice neighbourhood of Islington and with a small but significant number of pubs at a walking distance. they even reserved a cab for two people to Stansted fo 38£ (cheaper than the stansted express that's 21£ each...)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked a single room and was given what I would consider to be a small double (room 9). For one person the room was perfectly adequate, it was clean and pleasantly furnished, the bed was comfortable. However the shower room was a joke! You had to squeeze past the basin to get to the toilet (and then sit with your knees to one side) or to the shower. it was not possible to stand in the shower room with the door closed. The breakfast was adequate but basic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123Mary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As we left it very late in booking accomodation for our weekend away. We had to stay further afield that we had hoped.
Good points--nice clean hotel, friendly staff, quiet area, good choice of breakfast (not cooked).
1 mile from Finsbury Park tube or 1.8 miles from Emirates stadium, for the walkers amongst you The Aber is at the top of a hill, so walking to the tube / Emirates is fine walking back is a struggle.

Room Tip: Only Family room was available but for a few pounds more it gave us a good bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Aber Hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is generous. I stayed there twice (in April and May 2013), and so saw two different rooms: both were clean and quiet, and overlooked a cherry tree blossoming in the back garden. One room was right under the stairs but was not too noisy. The bathrooms are small but perfectly fine.

The breakfast buffet includes several types of cereal, toast, jam and marmalade, cheese, meats (if you are into that), coffee or tea, fruit and sometimes slices of cucumber and tomato.

The hotel is a quick (uphill) bus trip from Finsbury Park tube station (Victoria and Piccadilly lines). From the hotel, it is a short walk into Crouch End (where you will find all sorts of shops, restaurants and cafes), from where you can take the 41 bus to Archway tube station if you need the Northern Line, or take the 91 bus all the way to Euston or Trafalgar Square.

I used to live nearby and always wondered what the hotel was like. Now I know: it is a great place to stay when visiting London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Archway
Premier Inn London Archway
#108 of 1,077 in London
768 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge London Wood Green hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#547 of 1,077 in London
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
0.8 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#436 of 1,077 in London
222 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aber Hotel

Address: 89 Crouch Hill | Crouch End, London N8 9EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $50 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aber Hotel is a family owned with dedicated staff providing an exceptional welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Here at the Aber Hotel, our policy is to offer our guests an excellent value for their money and caring personal attention. A policy which has been very well rewarded by the ever increasing numbers of regular guests from the UK and abroad who have chosen The Aber Hotel as their second home in London. You can also expect the finest from your comfortable and contemporary hotel rooms; Widescreen LCD flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary Internet access - WIFI, mini safes for your personal belongings to be kept safe, tea/coffee facilities and a well-stocked mini bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Aber Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing