We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Aber Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Aber Hotel
Ranked #689 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The Aber Hotel is a great value. You will love the area, and everyone is helpful. I found the whole neighborhood charming, and being on the hill allowed for a great city view as well. Lots of character all around. The shower is a touch small, but it is more than adiquate. Buy an Oyster Card and you are set!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
16
39
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

don't think so.
the Aber hotel is cheap (80£ per night for a double room), clean, comfortable, just in front of a bus stop running in 5 minutes to a metro station, with nice guests and good breakfast. even if its' not in the center it's easy to come and go, set in the nice neighbourhood of Islington and with a small but significant number of pubs at a walking distance. they even reserved a cab for two people to Stansted fo 38£ (cheaper than the stansted express that's 21£ each...)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked a single room and was given what I would consider to be a small double (room 9). For one person the room was perfectly adequate, it was clean and pleasantly furnished, the bed was comfortable. However the shower room was a joke! You had to squeeze past the basin to get to the toilet (and then sit with your knees to one side) or to the shower. it was not possible to stand in the shower room with the door closed. The breakfast was adequate but basic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123Mary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As we left it very late in booking accomodation for our weekend away. We had to stay further afield that we had hoped.
Good points--nice clean hotel, friendly staff, quiet area, good choice of breakfast (not cooked).
1 mile from Finsbury Park tube or 1.8 miles from Emirates stadium, for the walkers amongst you The Aber is at the top of a hill, so walking to the tube / Emirates is fine walking back is a struggle.

Room Tip: Only Family room was available but for a few pounds more it gave us a good bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Aber Hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is generous. I stayed there twice (in April and May 2013), and so saw two different rooms: both were clean and quiet, and overlooked a cherry tree blossoming in the back garden. One room was right under the stairs but was not too noisy. The bathrooms are small but perfectly fine.

The breakfast buffet includes several types of cereal, toast, jam and marmalade, cheese, meats (if you are into that), coffee or tea, fruit and sometimes slices of cucumber and tomato.

The hotel is a quick (uphill) bus trip from Finsbury Park tube station (Victoria and Piccadilly lines). From the hotel, it is a short walk into Crouch End (where you will find all sorts of shops, restaurants and cafes), from where you can take the 41 bus to Archway tube station if you need the Northern Line, or take the 91 bus all the way to Euston or Trafalgar Square.

I used to live nearby and always wondered what the hotel was like. Now I know: it is a great place to stay when visiting London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Aber 4 times now, as our family nearby don,t have enough room to put us up. Discovered another couple also do the same. Clean and accessible to Central London. Bus then underground. Plentiful continental buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

London is notoriously short of hotels that offer good value for money but The Aber is an excellent exception.

Extremely comfortable rooms. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff.

The location is better than you might think. There’s a bus stop right outside – 5 mins to Finsbury Park which has Victoria & Piccadilly line trains straight into central London. It would also be a good option of you were going to a match or concert at Arsenal FC

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curried_aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.8 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#393 of 1,067 in London
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#528 of 1,067 in London
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Archway
Premier Inn London Archway
#79 of 1,067 in London
584 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#657 of 1,067 in London
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#656 of 1,067 in London
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aber Hotel

Property: The Aber Hotel
Address: 89 Crouch Hill | Crouch End, London N8 9EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aber Hotel is a family owned with dedicated staff providing an exceptional welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Here at the Aber Hotel, our policy is to offer our guests an excellent value for their money and caring personal attention. A policy which has been very well rewarded by the ever increasing numbers of regular guests from the UK and abroad who have chosen The Aber Hotel as their second home in London. You can also expect the finest from your comfortable and contemporary hotel rooms; Widescreen LCD flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary Internet access - WIFI, mini safes for your personal belongings to be kept safe, tea/coffee facilities and a well-stocked mini bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Aber Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing