We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the B & B”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lord Milner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lord Milner
Ranked #14 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the B & B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

First looks are deceiving. I do not know how the Lord Milner is a 5 star property, it is a tired 4 star at its best.

The good.....
Location, location, location- it is located on a beautiful street-lined street in Belgravia, a very short walk from the Victoria Rail Station, Victoria Coach Station and the Tube. It was a pleasure to be so close to everything! In addition, these stations had shops and eateries that were convenient and inexpensive.

We were lucky to get the Graden Suite. As we opened the door, we were impressed! A large four poster bed, a sitting area with a settee, a TV and a large wardrobe with a safe. The bathroom was located in a small hallway, next to the bedroom. It was finished with granite and although it was small, it was beautiful. Next to the bedroom was a large conservatory with a mini kitchen, dining area, wicker sitting area and a second TV. Through the conservatiry doors, there was a enclosed yard with a small table and two chairs. The room is perfect for a longer stay because you feel as if you are living in London, not staying in a hotel. Which brings us to...

The bad....
The Lord Milner is not a hotel, so no bar, no lounge area, no meeting space. Not sure if it is actually a B & B. It is a townhouse converted to sleeping areas. So if you are looking for a hotel-this is not the place.
1) Waited outside the entrance for five minutes because the intercom/doorbell was not working and there were no other instructions. A person residing in The Lord Milner came by with their key to let us in.
2) The reception area has a representative on staff during stated hours. If you needed assistance they were readily available by phone. However, there were times that we went to the front desk, during hours, and no one was there. We had to call from our room.
3) After being so impressed with our room, on closer inspection, all was not up to par. The water pressure, on our first two days, was low in the shower. By the third day we did not have any hot water. I called the first desk and they said that everything was fine.
4) It rained during our first night, so the conservatory kitchen ceiling was leaking. There were towels placed over the stove and in the area to capture the drips.
5) The bedroom window was ajar, and we could hear voices from the upper levels and a cooking smell. We has to close the window.
6) The wicker furniture had sagged cushions and the dining table had scratches.
7) The most annoying was the weak Internet signal in our room. Although we were able to get online, we had to sit on the floor, in the hallway, close to the entrance to get reception.

Finally, we did not have breakfast because there were less expensive places to eat on our way to the tube. Again, not a hotel, maybe a B & B, a good place to stay due to its convenient location.

Upon checking out they did discount our room due to the lack of hot water and Internet issues. Frankly, we would have rather had the hot water/Internet. We would consider staying there again because of the location, but now I would be aware of the issues and expect to pay less for the room. Think 3-4 stars not 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    155
    52
    19
    7
See reviews for
40
179
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked a room for one night and asked if there could be a few treats for my other half in the room on arrival. Staff were very attentive and quick to respond to my requests which made the weekend even more perfect. The room whilst not being massive, was of a good size with four poster bed and marble bathroom. Breakfast was also to a high standard and didn't break the bank. For it's location, literally a five minute walk from Victoria, I think this is a great value hotel with a lot to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent a night in the Lord Milner room which was a real treat. Room was good size, characterful and clean with all the facilities you would expect. The four poster bed was very comfortable and we had no disturbance either from other rooms or Ebury Street itself. Hotel is well located and just 5 mins from Victoria Street train/bus/underground station. Plenty of nice restaurants and coffee shops within a minute of the hotel so no trouble finding a spot for sit down meal or snack. We were also able to leave baggage behind after checking out which made exploring London even easier. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Definitely best suited to couples and those looking for a quaint place to stay as opposed to super luxurious accommodation.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lord Milner room. It was bright and sunny for much of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed in their single room on the ground floor this time. The room face the rear so street noise is not an issue. It was spacious and the bath the same as in the other rooms. The staff will help with luggage, directions or suggestions for area restaurants. I stay regularly and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Convenient to Victoria train and bus stations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location is excellint: just a block from Victoria Station. Hotel is located in a row of townhouses and doesn't advertise much at the location. At first, we walked by and had to return. Personnel is friendly and helps if you ask. It's and excellent place is you are looking for somewhere to sleep. We didn't even try breakfast there.

Room Tip: We had a room from the yard side and it was veery peacefull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying at this supposed 5* B&B for my birthday, unfortunately I can't say that I enjoyed it. The room we stayed in was absolutely tiny, one of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. They had two chairs in the room, there wasn't any room for them, certainly not two anyway, I tried to put it outside but no room there either. The bed didn't seem the size of a proper double bed, I could be wrong though. I had to ask for an iron and ironing board and that was a struggle to use because of the space and those two chairs. The air conditioning was dripping and i asked for it to be fixed but when I arrived back it still wasn't fixed, they did knock £39 off the room rate though as it kept me awake for most of the night, although I'd have preferred to have been taken to another room.

Some people have said this place has character but I didn't see that. Although I'm no expert on B&Bs, I'm usually taken around the place and told about communal areas etc, this place may not have any communal areas but wouldn't that be another reason why it isn't a 5*?

The rate I had was £139 (for the tiniest room I've ever stayed in) and for that price I'd suggest a 3* hotel or 4* if you can find one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigsinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Lord Milner is somewhere between an upmarket B&B and a boutique hotel. It is small and the rooms have real character. It is in a terrace and even though there is a lift there are still stairs to be negotiated. My room was surprisingly large with a four poster bed, though the ensuite was small. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The "staff" is not extensive - basically a very frendly and helpful front desk.
It is not manned between 11pm and 7am (you have your own security key to get in after hours)
There is apparently a breakfast option - but no breakfast room so it is delivered to your room. I opted to walk to a nice cafe at the end of the street on my way out for the day
The location is excellent. Ebury St is relatively quiet by the standards of that part of London - its a short walk to either Victoria Railway station and Tube or the coach station. There are plenty of pubs, cafes and restaurants within a short walk.
Overall a pleasant surprise and good value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#310 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#185 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,761 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#236 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Milner

Property: The Lord Milner
Address: 111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lord Milner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new boutique bed and breakfast offers discreet elegance and sophistication, situated in the heart of London's central and fashionable Belgravia area. Relax amid rich, individually styled furnishings; stylish marble en suite bathrooms a variety of amenities designed to enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. Free broadband internet access in every room. The Lord Milner is an ideal base for both business and leisure guests, while many of London's most popular destinations are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Lord Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Milner Hotel London
Lord Milner London
The Lord Milner London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing