We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, noisy room. Food poor. Great central location & staff.”
Review of The Lord Milner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lord Milner
Ranked #17 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's a shame to have to give this hotel only 2 stars overall, but I need a hotel because I need a place primarily to sleep - and for both nights we could not do that. We were in a Gold room on the first floor, and the noise from the radiator/refrigerator/floorboards/plumbing/extractor fans/other guests toilets was horrendous. It is obviously going to be "luck of the draw" as to whether you get quiet neighbours who are in bed by 10p.m. or like us on both nights, guests who were still plodding around at 2a.m.. I suppose that's the drawback of these boutique hotels - old Edwardian terraces converted. The room was just big enough for you to walk around the bed, and the bathroom just large enough to turn around in "on the spot". It was nicely decorated at first glance, but carpets and (torn) curtains needing attention. We felt it was certainly not 5*.

Full English breakfast was poor for £14. Although piping hot (except for the beans which were "'fridge-cold" - someone forgot to nuke them!) the bacon was second-rate, and the sausage so spicy, we wondered which "Cumberland" they referred to in the menu! They should pop around the corner to M&S Food and buy their bacon and sausages if they want 5*! The other problem was that there was nowhere to eat the breakfast! You had to sit on the bed and eat it. There was only room for one tray on the desk at the foot of the bed. Two chairs were provided, but they had seen better days and were collapsed in the centres and offered no support. That was not our idea of 5*.

This section of Ebury street seemed to have very little traffic and was subsequently relatively quiet.

It was very clean, staff were professional, location perfect for central London needs - tube 5 minutes walk to Victoria, good VFM but we will not be staying there again. We were SO pleased to be home and to catch up on our lost sleep!

Room Tip: Perhaps you need to be on the top floor here to get a good nights' sleep, especially if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 474 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is very well located and about 5 minute walk to the tube, and just around the corner from Victoria Station. The rooms are quite small, but were clean and tidy and were perfect for us as we weren't in the room very much. the staff were lovely and allowed us to leave our bags in the office for the remainder of the day until we were going home. We didn't have breakfast so we cant really comment, as there is a nice little patisserie down the street were we went for breakfast. However the stairs were very narrow and quite steep, luckily there is a lift, this could be a problem for some people though.

Room Tip: The suite hotel rooms are quite a lot bigger and ask for a room on the lowest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was my first stay in London, even though I had no problem getting to this hotel using just public transportation - it is located just few minutes walking from famous Victoria station, so can just take a train to Victoria station from the airport and you basically there. It was just one night stay, so there is no much to say. Room I stayed in was very small, which I think is something I should expect. Location is definitely a benefit of this hotel - 10-minute walk away from Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey can be reached in a 20-minute walk. And City has plenty of dining options on your way there. I would recommend it for the short overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank default155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Tries hard to fit into a small space - the stairs are sooooooo steep and the rooms / bathrooms relatively small but fine / clean. Free wifi was useful and worked. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment. Saving grace is location - super for Belgravia / Victoria area and very convenient for bus / train connections.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You don't get much at the Lord Milner besides your room. It looks very unobtrusive from the outside, and it has no amenities to speak of, although you can order breakfast in your room.

But the rooms themselves are splendid. Bigger than you would expect in most London hotels, nicely and comfortably furnished, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was pretty small but very modern and again very clean indeed. The location is very convenient with Victoria station nearby and plenty of good bars and restaurants in easy reach.

I booked on laterooms and paid 260 pounds for 2 nights. I can safely say it's the best value accommodation I have ever found in London.

Room Tip: Be aware the lift only goes to the third floor. If you are on the 4th you may have to carry your bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ok so it's about a year since my last review of this hotel. During 2012 I say about 4 times. I did look for the deluxe room each time and was impressed with the space, comfort. As stated previously it's a very small hotel but its very homely. The temperature in the room has improved greatly. could have been better.

My last stay was in the garden suite, not by choice but more by availability. It was very spacious, the bedroom and bathroom was extremely warm, the kitchen and sitting area are within a conservatory so unless you leave the heating running all the time they are quite cold, but the daylight and space and openness is worth it.

All in all I remain impressed with this hotel, great for location, comfort and cleanliness. If you are staying for location then I would not hesitate to recommend but get a deluxe room, worth the extra space.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe Room, worth the money for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasaMurguia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This only gets one star because no stars was not an option. Firstly it claims it is a hotel when it is a guest house. why it is rated 5 stars I dont know because everything was substandard.

if you want luxury, this isnt it. bedroom - Gold room was tiny, stains on the carpet and missing door knobs. Not the sort of thing you expect from somewhere that claims to be 5 star.

we were staying for our first anniversary, my husband had planned a surprise which not only had they not done in advance (as requested and agreed) but ruined it by telling him they hadnt organised it in front of me thereby preventing any chance of sorting it later.

they didnt apologise, nor try to do anything to solve any of the issues. The fact that other people view this place highly honestly baffles me but if i were you i wouldnt bother trying to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EKBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#115 of 1,081 in London
781 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#230 of 1,081 in London
4,468 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#14 of 579 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cleveland
#18 of 579 in London
633 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#29 of 579 in London
642 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#6 of 579 in London
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Milner

Address: 111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $157 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lord Milner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new boutique bed and breakfast offers discreet elegance and sophistication, situated in the heart of London's central and fashionable Belgravia area. Relax amid rich, individually styled furnishings; stylish marble en suite bathrooms a variety of amenities designed to enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. Free broadband internet access in every room. The Lord Milner is an ideal base for both business and leisure guests, while many of London's most popular destinations are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Milner Hotel London
Lord Milner London
The Lord Milner London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing