We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B in Belgravia”
Review of The Lord Milner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lord Milner
Ranked #14 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“B&B in Belgravia”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

When I arrived I realised I had had messed up my dates and had to find another place for the night. The receptionist could not have been more helpful in trying to sort me me out. i returned the next day and had a beutifully decorated and furnished room on the second floor. All teak furniture and wooden panelling. The bathroom was 5 star quality. The second day i had a very small bedroom on the ground floor - so small that there was not even room for a chair, but,again, the bathroom was beautiful. This is a very neat and tidy and clean hotel, but enjoyment really does depend on what sort of room you want to pay for, or what you can get. Booking well ahead seems to be the key. I am rating this on my experience with the larger room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    161
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
43
186
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Had a very nice experience at this small but lovely hotel. Hotel isn't really the right word as it only has 11 guest rooms. Breakfast isn't included and there's no large common sitting room so it's not really a bed and breakfast. But what it is is a perfectly located, quiet and comfortable spot. It's in the lovely neighborhood of Belgravia with shops, restaurants and a lovely pub and wine bar close by. As it's a residential neighboorhood, the carpets roll up by 11pm which if you are looking for a drink puts a damper on things but it makes for undisturbed sleep back in your room. The room was comfy and clean. We were on the third floor; friends were in the basement which was a nicer larger room (included a loveseat) and they initally felt a little weird being below ground but said it was quiet at night so no problems with the room. The subway station is a few blocks away. Would not hestate to go back.

Room Tip: The garden suite is much more expensive but we were able to walk through it as it was open; it is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripping999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Had to book a room on short notice, but got a great deal on a suite. Incredible 4 poster beds, great location, friendly staff. Would probably skip the breakfast though. Was nice to have it in bed but with so many restaurants and cafes close by you can skip it as was expensive for what it was. Highly recommended for location, price and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 poster bed rooms on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egb884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

After browsing the many hotels in this area,We decided on this one... We were not at all disappointed with our choice. On arrival at the very nice reception area,we were greeted by a lovely friendly girl, who was more than helpful, we were taken to our room, The Club room, located in the basement.It is a lovely room, very clean, well furnished,nice bathroom, with soaps, shower gel,shampoo etc we were happy with the comfortable twin beds.There is a leather sofa, a flat screen t.v, mini fridge kettle tea/coffee making facilities.And the room was pleasantly warm,with a radiator.There is also a air conditioning unit,although we didnt need to use this...We found chocolates on our bedside table...nice touch!.We cannot find anything to complain about with this hotel, It is very quiet, we didnt hear any noise from anyone and only the occasional noise from the road outside,,, .We also met the Hotel Manager a lovely friendly guy called Timothy,Who was only too happy to talk with us, giving us all the info that we needed to know about places to visit etc.. and also when asked ,showed us another room in the hotel, for the next time we come back to stay, bringing more friends...Yes we will return to The Lord Milner... This hotel is situated in a good road/good area...close to Victoria coach and rail station, and underground station all just 5 minutes walk...it is also near to Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and The London Eye all within walking distance..We know this, having walked there ourselves,there are many bars restaurants and coffee places also within walking distance from this hotel..We have read some of the not so good reviews about this hotel,but can honestly say, we are glad we did not listen to them, because for us, this is a very good place to stay

Room Tip: Well we stayed in Club Room a basement room, on the front entrance road,The road is quiet, we heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elouisaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a compact but tastefully furnished boutique hotel in Belgravia. It is located just round the corner from Victoria coach station and no more than 200 metres from the bus stop for the coach to Luton Airport (and others, I assume). Victoria train and underground stations are also within easy walking distance.

There is no restaurant at the hotel but breakfast can be served in your room. The hotel has won a "Breakfast award" so no doubt it is good; but it is expensive and there are so many other places nearby where a good breakfast can be had.

Our brief dealings with the staff showed them to be very helpful and obliging, but be warned that they charge a 3% surcharge on AMEX cards. This is detailed on the website but the various booking sites apparently do not have the facility to give this information.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at Lord Milner during a recent trip to London. The location is fantastic, close to the west end and Victoria.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room (Lord Milner Room) was a decent size for a London hotel. Thank you for taking care of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I chose this hotel because of it's proximity to both Victoria Train Station and Bus Terminal.... Also I liked the area very much having walked through here many times during a stay at the Grosvenor.
Following a dawn arrival at the bus terminal, I walked a few hundred yards and was there.... wonderful!, and even more wonderful.... my room was actually available....at 7am. All boded well. From memory, I had the Sunset room, on ground floor more or less behind the Reception/Entry. Angle of the room door was such that suitcase had to be manoeuvred in with myself , room size was ok, (I am....not tall! and on my own), a well made queen bed, (seemed larger than a double); and bathroom was fine, nicely tiled and shiny. Not sure why the room was titled 'Sunset', the decor was pleasant but neutral.
THREE ISSUES.....NO.....4
1. Hot water for the bath was not forth coming, it required timing, in reference to time in evening and hearing when upstairs guests were running water.
2. the noise from upstairs guests and water/toilets.
3. there was some sort of either heating or air conditioning or mechanical whatever machinery that was obviously on cycle would start up and clunk, whir, hum and at a point in maximum function.....fever pitch, the room would vibrate briefly....how often would this happen you ask ? every few hours, day and night. This was located outside in backyard of building very near to 'Sunset' room external wall......felt as though it was attached to the wall !!!
4. There was a bulkhead for downstairs internal staircase, at the bed end of the room upon which sat the TV and Tea tray. This shelf? bench? was very deep, there was a power point in the wall behind, I am somewhat vertically challenged, I had to open the wardrobe door (along side), stand on the bottom frame of wardrobe to give height therefore increase my reach to plug in the kettle with tips of fingers. I do not recall other suitable, accessible power points.
The road is nice and quiet. The bed was very comfortable, the tea tray refilled along with chocolates every morning, which was appreciated. The room was comfortable......the weather during my stay of 4 nights was mild. I have noted 'sleep quality' as very good...... because the bed was very comfortable.....and I walked MANY miles and was zonked by the end of the day......and slept..... though the machinery was in action prior to lights out, roused me during the night and whirred away in the early (7 amish) morning.
Would I stay here again.......No. There is another Hotel just down the road I would book in advance to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank florafen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#315 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#183 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#246 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Milner

Property: The Lord Milner
Address: 111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lord Milner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new boutique bed and breakfast offers discreet elegance and sophistication, situated in the heart of London's central and fashionable Belgravia area. Relax amid rich, individually styled furnishings; stylish marble en suite bathrooms a variety of amenities designed to enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. Free broadband internet access in every room. The Lord Milner is an ideal base for both business and leisure guests, while many of London's most popular destinations are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lord Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Milner Hotel London
Lord Milner London
The Lord Milner London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing