We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5* - and more B&B than boutique”
Review of The Lord Milner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lord Milner
Ranked #14 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not 5* - and more B&B than boutique”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Lord Milner is in a great location and the reception staff were very polite, but this is not a 5 star boutique hotel - more a very pleasant B&B.

I stayed in the Gold Room (small double room, 1st floor, at the back of the hotel, not street facing) - with 'in-your-face' yellow walls. The room itself was clean, albeit tiny, but the walls had seen better days and needed some TLC and a tin of paint.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom small (but very clean & furnished with quality toiletries).

Great for a short-lived stay while in London to see a show, but there are better 'hotels' out there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    159
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
43
185
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This converted town house is situated in a quiet street in Belgravia. Within easy walking distance of Harrods, Harvey Nic's and the Palace.

Our room was a good size with an enormous four poster bed. It had air conditioning, a smart bathroom and a good sized fridge.

Breakfast was superb and the staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful I have ever met.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and will certainly be using it again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagingAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormskirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Lord Milner is a fantastic small hotel that offers that little bit extra in the heart of London. we stayed in the garden suite which includes a conservatory and garden terrace. The hotel is quaint with lots of quality features. We are in our late 30's and would highly reccomend the hotel. Literally 5mins walk to the palace and Victoria station.
Altough the bathroom is on the small side, it serviced us very well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bursbilly1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2011

As I write this review I am waiting for a taxi in the reception of the Lord Milner.

The hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful making us feel very comfortable and at home.

The room was fantastic, a really nice treat and the four poster bed was just amazing.

Breakfast was on time and delicious.

Upon checkout they were more than happy to look after our luggage whilst we explored London and pre-book our taxi to the airport for later in the day.

Overall a really good experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben1411_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

In any other city I would probably describe this hotel as perfectly adequate with excellent staff, a comfortable bed, good bathroom w/tub (!) (NB: Sunset room is a single right behind the reception area). In London, however, I found it to be just perfect. Reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, quiet - what a relief after so many less than average experiences in London at stellar prices. Just don't expect the Ritz and then be disappointed that you are not getting it for 115 squid. Another plus is the great neighborhood...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night as we had tickets to see Billy Elliott at the Victoria Palace Theatre which is a 10 minute walk away.

The hotel was very stylishly decorated and the man on reception was very professional and polite.

Our room was fabulous (we stayed in the Lord Milner Room) - really big room, four poster bed, large flat screen TV. Room overlooked the road outside, but it was really quiet. Bathroom was spotless.

Minibar had water and a few soft drinks in it. Tea and Coffee making facilites were adequate.

Only negative was the breakfast. It was ok and not bad value for central London (£14 for full English plus continental). We ordered poached eggs (an option on the breakfast menu) but were served fried eggs which were very overdone. It was also all quite cold, and the 'vine tomatos' on the menu turned out to be half an uncooked cold beef tomato.

But we loved everything else and would definitely go back (but will eat out for breakfast next time)!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini-lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Fortunately I get to stay in good hotel when away on business, but because of the location I decided to give The Lord Milner a chance. I wasn't disappointed, especially with the location, it is very close to Victoria Station (but just far enough away to be very quiet) to where the underground net work is easily travelled. The room I stayed in was very cozy (tight for space) but thebed was comfy and the bathroom was adequate. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and my stay was very satisfactory overall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileydlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#182 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,841 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Milner

Property: The Lord Milner
Address: 111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lord Milner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new boutique bed and breakfast offers discreet elegance and sophistication, situated in the heart of London's central and fashionable Belgravia area. Relax amid rich, individually styled furnishings; stylish marble en suite bathrooms a variety of amenities designed to enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. Free broadband internet access in every room. The Lord Milner is an ideal base for both business and leisure guests, while many of London's most popular destinations are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lord Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Milner Hotel London
Lord Milner London
The Lord Milner London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing