We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting but pricey”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in December for a family wedding in Camberwell so perfect location.
Paid for a superior room so not bad for space but very dark at the back of the hotel - tricky for trying to putting on make up, could have looked like coco the clown !
Positives - very comfy bed; good toiletries; very helpful staff; good breakfast in restaurant at additional cost.
Negatives - wardrobe so short could not even hang a suit or dress, had to hang on the outside; no in room tea/coffee; room very dark but atmospheric.
Overall an enjoyable stay but at £145.00 a night plus breakfast quite expensive for the area being way out of central London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikelia_CHST, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jill,
Thanks for your comments and feedback allowing us the opportunity to grow and better our service.
Upon making the reservation you requested a quiet room hence allocated in one at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
We enjoy an eclectic mix of rooms within the 150 year old building in which we are located. No two rooms are the same, and we celebrate this uniqueness which is reflected in the furnishings and decor of each room. Our reception team is always on hand to accommodate guests’ requirements wherever possible and reasonable in the case of any dissatisfaction.
All Superior King rooms apart from the full body mirror (150cm x 48cm) located in the bedroom enjoy a 40cm x 30cm mirror in the bathroom with a minimum of 3 halogen spotlights in the bathroom wherever possible. Further the wardrobe in your room had a cavity of approximately 85cm-100cm height. Though we understand that this may not be suitable for a maxi dress, it would suffice for most clothing items.
Part of our “home away from home” mentality is celebrated in our Havana Lounge. This is a warm and welcoming space for our guests to relax and enjoy a great selection of complimentary gourmet teas and Monmouth coffee. And should you find that you are too tired and the distance seems too long our receptionists are always happy to bring the beverage of your choice to your room.
Overall we feel that the rate is reasonable for a Superior King room which as such enjoys French period style furniture, custom hand-made King size bed, fluffy Floringo towels and Snuggle down duvets, air conditioning, 32 inch LED TV and Blue ray DVD player, a luxurious bathroom with hand-made basin, pedestal, hand painted Mexican tilework throughout; all inclusive of Unlimited High-Speed Broadband connectivity and 20% VAT.
Finally we think that it will be hard to match a £5.00 Organic Continental Breakfast anywhere in or outside London with unlimited access to our house-made organic sourdough bread, in-house freshly squeezed juices and smoothies, Monmouth coffee from Borough Market, Organic muesli and cereals, pastries from the local French baker in Blackheath, organic milk and yoghurt from Neal’s Yard dairy and free-range boiled eggs.
If you do decide to stay with us again, feel free to contact me on sikelia@churchstreethotel.com and I would be happy to better accommodate your requirements.
Kind regards,
Sikelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    132
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
50
142
66
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time to London. I was only there for 2 nights but it was perfect. I was quite excited to find a spanish inspired hotel. However it felt like a bed and breakfast, which made it cozy and quaint. The hotel was a few steps from bus lines. The neighborhood was safe. The attached tapas restaurant made it easy to have dinner and breakfast in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LNJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is quirky as stated by other reviewers. However it is not all it's cracked up to be. There are endless stairs ( no lift) and these are coded red or blue. It's like a rabbit warren and I dread to think what would happen in a fire.it is not suitable for disabled as the stairs are really narrow and steep.
The rooms are very small for the money and incredibly noisy. A single room I booked, was so small the door opened onto the bed and there was no door on the bathroom.I don't know how it was legal.
The bedside lamps have eco bulbs and not bright enough to read by. The walls are dark and this makes the rooms feel small. There are no teamaking facilities in the rooms, so if you want a drink in the night, you have to get dressesd and go the the lounge area.
The toiletries are beautiful (l'occitane) and you get a free bar of Green and Blacks chocolate and a bottle of water in the room,but you pay for this in the room price.
I stayed here twice, but needed to stay in Camberwell for an extended period and this was way too pricey. There is another hotel just along the road which is much better value and where I spent a very comfortable, noise free, three week and had in room tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room they have, as the noise is terrible both from ambulance sirens (due to pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank munchyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for a saturday night to attend a party nearby. The hotel was very quirky, clean and staff were very helpful. Short walk to train station. Room was not too small for London, clean with some small little touches such as bottles of water and chocolate. Bathroom very colourful and had great toiletries.

We were on the same floor as the lounge where there was complimentary coffee/tea and papers to read as well as vast range of DVDs to borrow if wanted.

We had the continental breakfast which was good with artisan bread .

Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Quirky decor, great atmosphere and and helpful friendly staff. Breakfast was superb, only wished we were staying more than the one night.

I stay in lot's of corporate hotels with work and it was a real refreshing change to stay in a place where the owners have included so many thoughtful touches throughout. The breakfast was superb, I mean, home made baked beens for goodness sake!

Our room wasn't particularly spacious but for one night it was perfect and the restaurant that's part of the hotel is equally well decorated and staffed. Next time we'll book a table in the evening too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvinchutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The employees are very friendly and outstanding customer and very welcoming hotel. The pub is amazing but the beer is not very good. Great breakfast in the Angels and Gypsies. Very clean bathroom and comfortable bed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariquitaperez74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Why anyone would want to voluntarily leave the comforts of home to go stay in a hotel just four miles down the road from said home must puzzle most people, but for us, an occasional mini-break at the Church Street hotel is an absolute must.
This was,I think, our fourth stay - we come here to celebrate big occasions - both husband and I celebrated milestone birthdays with our families and friends here, and we've also come just because we felt like getting away from all the domestic drama of children and the dog etc. It's an absolute haven in which to find peace and relaxation, and we've just come here again to celebrate an anniversary. Without being able to put my finger on quite what it is, it seems to us that although there haven't - to our knowledge - been any major changes, this hotel just gets better. We are happy to see familiar features, especially the honesty bar which is a rare find in this world today. All the same features that make it a great hotel remain - the beautiful South/Latin American influenced decor throughout, the beautifully tiled bathrooms, the relaxing colonial style lounge cum bar, good quality complimentary coffee and tea available at all times, the books placed in each bedroom that I would actually want to read, while munching on one of the complimentary Green and Blacks chocolate bars, all the wonderful iconography scattered throughout. Beautifully clean rooms and bathrooms that I would give my right arm to have installed in my own own. There's so much that makes this such a special place. I've said before that some people might be put off by it's location - some distance from central London - and on a main road - but the area's multiculturalism - reflected in a plentiful and eclectic choice of restaurants and bars gives it a real vibe that you just cannot find in central London. The area is a hub for several bus-routes, most of which go into Central London and beyond, and make up for the absence of a tube station. In nay case, as a Londoner, I think buses are the best and cheapest way to get around and see London, and moreover, tube stations are only short bus-rides away, as well as the overground station at Denmark Hill. It is a busy, lively area, but we were surprised that all was fairly quiet by 11.30p.m. - it was during the week, so this may have had something to do with it. We dined at the excellent Angels and Gypsies tapas restaurant next door (hotel guests received a nice discount on their meals). As with the hotel, we received wonderful attentive and prompt service from the team of servers, great choice of food and drinks from a wide menu, and a beautifully cooked meal.
The only drawback is that it can get a bit noisy from quite early in the morning as businesses prepare for opening and early morning commuters start the journey to work but the double glazing keeps out most of the noise and if you're bothered by noise then ask for one of the rooms at the back - but then you don't get to enjoy the bustling scenes as life passes by in all its variety outside! Overall, this remains a gem of a hotel. Excellent service throughout from friendly knowledgeable staff, free no-fuss wifi, real value for money from this lovely, quirky, hotel that will appeal to families as well as solo travellers, business travellers or honeymooners. Looking forward already to our next stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if bothered by noise. For a cheaper option, book a room with a shared bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#322 of 1,068 in London
959 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#626 of 1,068 in London
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
White Lodge Hotel
#389 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Pasha Hotel
#883 of 1,068 in London
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Property: Church Street Hotel
Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street
Church Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing