We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, great location, reasonably priced & freshly cooked breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jim's Guesthouse

Jim's Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jim's Guesthouse
Ranked #332 of 573 London B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, great location, reasonably priced & freshly cooked breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here twice now and would stay again. Had a triple room first time and a double the 2nd. Staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and tidy. Only slight negative is the rooms are quite small, particularly the en-suite, but don't let that put you off. Breakfast is freshly cooked as you order and all public areas were clean. It is perfectly located, close to 2 tube's, Westfield shopping ctr and just off the Uxbridge Road where there are many amenities, bars, restaurants etc. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    5
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had no problems and we were able to check in early. It was a comfortable nights sleep. Didn't try the breakfast as we left so early. we parked at Westfield shopping centre. It was very close to BBC television centre where we had tickets.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwiazda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here Tuesday as was going to empire for a concert. Staff were so friendly, twin roon was spacious, bathroom is tiny but what do you do in it? Beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in ... So wanted to take them home.! Breakfast was amazing you basically can have what you want and they even came and asked if we wanted extra toast! Location wise it's about 5 mins from station on foot and a 2 minute walk to shepherds bush empire! Loved it would so stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy1975_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

There are two hotels on this same street .Rooms small but clean and overall ok.breakfast ok -english breakfast.location perfect,close to shopping galleries and metro station.safety box doesn't work ,difficult shower(just pipe over your head which you can't move)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My Sis in Law and I stayed here following a concert at the Hammersmith Apollo. Friendly service, decent clean room, albeit the shower/toilet was rather small but the bed was comfortable . Value for money considering the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophienJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I chose that little... well. it's not a hotel really - guest house describes it well, since it was close to places I was about to visit during my stay in London in May 2012.
Location is actually great - equal distance (3 min walk) from two tube stations servicing different lines, 2 min walk from the several bus stops around Sheppard Bush, very, very close to a variety of coffee shops, fast food places and several nice bars and, if you are that kinda person - 5 min walk from the Westfield mall. Yes, Sheppard Bush Empire concert venue is 5 min walk from there.As you see, so far it's all about the location and I found it good.
Now, Jim's Guest House itself - actually, it's two houses, located in the OPPOSITE ends of Aldine Str. The one closer to Uxbridge Road is NOT where reception is. You have to go some 100 yards more to get to the house (opposite side of street) where reception is, ring the bell, slowly explain that you have a reservation, preferably in good English, wait for the reception guy to buzz you in, walk the hall, go down two flights of narrow and steep stairs (no bulky travel bags or suitcases, please) to reach the reception desk. Things might get better there since the staff are actually quite friendly and polite. They will take you to your room which might happen to be in the OTHER house, so you might have to walk the a.m. 100 yards again! help with the luggage was offered.
The room I got was OK for a 3 day solo stay. As a smoker, I was given a basement level room, not because I was allowed to smoke in the room but because it was closer to the street. The bathroom was the tiniest I have ever seen but acceptably clean. Bed sheet were also clean. Towels not that clean or simply looked well used, don't know really. TV was NOT working properly - apparently they use some iptv and it was over capacity.
If you booked breakfast you have four options of preset menus - two British and two continental. I went for British and I must say that it was delicious.
There is no luggage room! If you have to leave your luggage with the reception guys it will cost you 5 to 10 pounds depending on the time they have to keep it for you which I find annoying and unfair.
In conclusion, if you plan a short trip to London, you travel light, the location suits you, you do not plan to spend much time at hotel - Jim's Guest House might be not such a bad idea but personally, I would try someplace else - the service and the room simply do not correspond to the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BunnyLava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I'd like to be able to review this guesthouse, but I never got there. I made a mistake in my booking, when my browser refreshed part way through, and reset the date. I contacted the guest house immediately after I realised, but they told me that since I had accepted the terms and conditions they would be cancelling my booking with no refund. Cash first - customer last. I'll never get to review this place, as I'll never be staying there. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#808 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Dorsett Shepherds Bush, London
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#229 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Grantly Hotel
Grantly Hotel
#683 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
K West Hotel & Spa
#254 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#475 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim's Guesthouse

Property: Jim's Guesthouse
Address: 26 Aldine Street | Shepherd's Bush, London W12 8AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities at bed & breakfast prices. A warm welcome is always assured. At Jim's Guest House located in a safe and quiet residential part of Shepherd's Bush, West London. Established in 1980, we are in close proximity to many major attractions and venues, such as the Shepherds Bush Empire, BBC Studios and the Lyric Theatre. Our aim is to provide a home-from-home for our guests, somewhere to rest after a hard day's sightseeing or work. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jim`s Guesthouse Hotel London
Jim's Guesthouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing