We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & room”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location & room”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location by Trafalgar Square couldn't be beat for convenience. Our room was spacious and comfortable - almost too comfortable! We didn't hear any street noise or noise from within the hotel and overslept on our first day! The staff was helpful and we found the food in the restaurant to be very good. This will be our go-to hotel in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    89
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
180
325
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a great experience with the Haymarket Hotel. We arrived from US on a 7hr flight at about 7:30am the hotel were aware of our flight and had a room available for early check in as soon as we arrived which was such a relief to have a place to rest after such a long flight. The location is great for exploring city of London.
The service was very good, with staff being very helpful in giving us some good suggestions on places to visit, eat, etc.
We will return to this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We planned a fabulous week in London for my son's 16th birthday and the Haymarket Hotel, our hotel of choice, definitely delivered. We love the ambience, we are so appreciative of the team and the entire experience is so London-perfect. Everything from surprising my son with his birthday cake to organizing cars and trips to Bath, Windsor and Stonehenge, was managed meticulously. Having that level of attentiveness matters and The Haymarket delivers. So much, that I had to stop in during a quick day layover before an onward flight to say hello and enjoy it even for but a few hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I think I may have set a record for staying at this hotel when it first opened. It was lovely returning to London to find my partner had booked us here. It was under his name, so I was interested to see if our experience differed as a non frequent guest. And happy to say it was just as fantastic as I remembered and the level of customer service is impeccable.

The rooms are spacious and our room had the separate shower stall and seating area in the bedroom. The decor is still beautiful and we enjoyed relaxing in the bar and had breakfast in our room.

I will be returning to London again late April, and can't wait to stay here again.

O Messner.

Room Tip: I prefer the junior suites for the separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and I was amazed by the beauty of the place. The interior design, furnishings and decor are all beautiful. My room was neat, big enough and looked perfect. All the staff was nice and friendly and was always there to help me. I had a very pleasant stay here and I will be back again for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed five nights the beginning of November. Our room, #111, was a Deluxe Corner Room which was spacious, with large windows which allowed in plenty of light. The large modern, marble bathroom had a stall shower. The wardrobe closet was well lit, had lots of hanging space and shelves for clothing, as well as a full length mirror. This is where the hair dryer needs to be used since I was told that in the U.K. plugs are not allowed in the bathrooms for hair dryers. Tried the hair dryer at the desk in the bedroom, but not enough light. The hair dryer situation is probably the only item I could complain about, but not a real problem. Loved the breakfast in Brumus, their restaurant. The bar area is large and the friendly bar staff is adept at making unusual cocktails. The entire hotel staff, goes out of their way to help. The hotel is fairly new, with a clean, colorful decor, trendy decor. Loved everything about it -- oh ! free WiFI to boot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

For a good sized hotel in the centre of the West End you would expect the Haymarket Hotel to be less of a hidden gem. Nevertheless it seems like a quiet, beautiful, nurturing haven from the bustle of Theatreland.

However it is not the glorious decor, the sumptuous rooms, well stocked bar or fine dining room that provide the real treat to the visitor.

We stayed for a special wedding anniversary with a night out at the theatre. The staff of the hotel went far beyond the common courtesies you would normally expect. They went out if their to show us genuine warmth and kindness at every turn. For my wife it made it very special indeed and this is the reason the Haymarket deserves remarkable praise.

Thank you to all the staff who turned a good night out into a truly memorable one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SleptSoundly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing