We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's hard to fault the Haymarket. The staff was great, decor pleasing, and the rooms nice -- particularly the bathrooms, which are spacious and have OUTSTANDING water pressure.
Be advised that this hotel is not inexpensive. We paid an average of $600 a night for a spacious double, and that did not include breakfast. I will say this, though: They're very generous with the toiletries! Oh, and the room service is very responsive, too. Three times I asked for ice to be brought to my room, and never did I wait more than five minutes.

One funny, awkward moment: While waiting in the lobby for friends who were going to share a cab with us to the airport, we were asked by the doorman if there was anything he could get for us. He suggested a coffee perhaps. My friend and I accepted his offer. Then he asked if we had already checked out. Of course we had. "Then how would you like to pay for your coffee?" he asked. Our expression said, "We thought you were offering it as a gift," and his said, "Oh, crap, it sounds like I was offering it as a gift." There was a moment of silence as we stared into his now blanched face. "Right," he said, "How about a bottle of water, then?"

Room Tip: The rooms are individual in decor. If more than one in your booking class is available, ask to see y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agiocambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    85
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
160
293
50
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great place. Great location. Great people. Everything is said.This is really a nice place to stay... and close to the action (with no noise at all from the streets). Decoration is top, and room size is decent for London (was in Deluxe room). Fantastic pool but...and here comes the "but", you cannot use when they organize "private parties"...which happens to be each saturdays. So, in a WE trip, the pool was closed from saturday afternoon to sunday afternoon. Never saw that in that range of Hotel...Better to make a phone call before booking if you want to train your swimming skills...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoda4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a lovely visit there and was happy on all counts. The room was lovely and had a little balcony that I could go out on. The self serve bar is very cozy and romantic. The location is superb. Couldn't have been nicer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California, United States
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The art, the common rooms, the restaurant, our room, our bed, the bathroom, the service, the location -- charmed by it all! We would definitely recommend and stay here again. Wish we had stayed longer than our two nights. Brumus, the restaurant provides a delicious if somewhat pricey breakfast but the service and quality are super. We also enjoyed drinks in the bar one evening and a late after theatre supper bith of which were fun and delicious.

Room Tip: Our superior room faced the quiet Suffolk place -- lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. While it is expensive, it is worth it. Great location. Very near Trafalgar Square. Great rooms. Large & comfortable. Great service. Professional & cheerful. We will stay there again! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vannature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This really is a very good hotel. It is in a fantastic location for the central area around trafalgar square and the theatres. It is tucked away on a quiet road and is very discreet from the outside. Inside the building it has everything you would expect form a 5 star hotel. The modern british interior is immaculate and the staff are truly exceptional. Having stayed at other hotels in this small boutique chain, this is definitely more of a relaxed vibe. We stayed in a junior suite which was exceptional - a corner room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, well insulated and beautifully designed. There is a great bar which didn't get too busy and the breakfast was excellent and had a very good range of fresh fruit, pastries and also a menu for hot food.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for a central london location and an understated 5 star hotel experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 - an excellent choice junior suite, corner room with dual aspect windows and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It was our first visit. The rooms are large and comfortable for US standards. The food and service was spectacular. The location was perfect. I can't remember all the details but I know we will be staying there again on our next visit. Thanks for experience Haymarket.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YMGBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#7 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,629 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#13 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,364 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#14 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#32 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing