We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's hard to fault the Haymarket. The staff was great, decor pleasing, and the rooms nice -- particularly the bathrooms, which are spacious and have OUTSTANDING water pressure.
Be advised that this hotel is not inexpensive. We paid an average of $600 a night for a spacious double, and that did not include breakfast. I will say this, though: They're very generous with the toiletries! Oh, and the room service is very responsive, too. Three times I asked for ice to be brought to my room, and never did I wait more than five minutes.

One funny, awkward moment: While waiting in the lobby for friends who were going to share a cab with us to the airport, we were asked by the doorman if there was anything he could get for us. He suggested a coffee perhaps. My friend and I accepted his offer. Then he asked if we had already checked out. Of course we had. "Then how would you like to pay for your coffee?" he asked. Our expression said, "We thought you were offering it as a gift," and his said, "Oh, crap, it sounds like I was offering it as a gift." There was a moment of silence as we stared into his now blanched face. "Right," he said, "How about a bottle of water, then?"

Room Tip: The rooms are individual in decor. If more than one in your booking class is available, ask to see y...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agiocambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for Haymarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 813 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great place. Great location. Great people. Everything is said.This is really a nice place to stay... and close to the action (with no noise at all from the streets). Decoration is top, and room size is decent for London (was in Deluxe room). Fantastic pool but...and here comes the "but", you cannot use when they organize "private parties"...which happens to be each saturdays. So, in a WE trip, the pool was closed from saturday afternoon to sunday afternoon. Never saw that in that range of Hotel...Better to make a phone call before booking if you want to train your swimming skills...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoda4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had a lovely visit there and was happy on all counts. The room was lovely and had a little balcony that I could go out on. The self serve bar is very cozy and romantic. The location is superb. Couldn't have been nicer.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The art, the common rooms, the restaurant, our room, our bed, the bathroom, the service, the location -- charmed by it all! We would definitely recommend and stay here again. Wish we had stayed longer than our two nights. Brumus, the restaurant provides a delicious if somewhat pricey breakfast but the service and quality are super. We also enjoyed drinks in the bar one evening and a late after theatre supper bith of which were fun and delicious.

Room Tip: Our superior room faced the quiet Suffolk place -- lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. While it is expensive, it is worth it. Great location. Very near Trafalgar Square. Great rooms. Large & comfortable. Great service. Professional & cheerful. We will stay there again! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vannature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This really is a very good hotel. It is in a fantastic location for the central area around trafalgar square and the theatres. It is tucked away on a quiet road and is very discreet from the outside. Inside the building it has everything you would expect form a 5 star hotel. The modern british interior is immaculate and the staff are truly exceptional. Having stayed at other hotels in this small boutique chain, this is definitely more of a relaxed vibe. We stayed in a junior suite which was exceptional - a corner room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, well insulated and beautifully designed. There is a great bar which didn't get too busy and the breakfast was excellent and had a very good range of fresh fruit, pastries and also a menu for hot food.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for a central london location and an understated 5 star hotel experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 - an excellent choice junior suite, corner room with dual aspect windows and a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It was our first visit. The rooms are large and comfortable for US standards. The food and service was spectacular. The location was perfect. I can't remember all the details but I know we will be staying there again on our next visit. Thanks for experience Haymarket.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank YMGBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,818 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,866 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,072 in London
2,547 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $427 - $2,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing