We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Boutique Winning Treat' - Will be Remembered Always!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #9 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“'Boutique Winning Treat' - Will be Remembered Always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel is extraordinary clean & beautiful from inside if not bustling on the outside. Very central for Soho, Piccadilly, Trafalgar Square & Covent Garden, hotel could not be better located. But the true magic of the hotel is in it's unique appearance, the Staff are unbelievably polite for London, the rooms are luxurious & the breakfast & food total quality.

You will find this Gem hard to beat in London, no matter how extravagant the name or the appearance of a known hotel.

I don't think we could afford this hotel, on our budget, personally speaking, but for a bit of luck in winning a competition. But what an experience nevertheless. Welcomed throughout very well trained or naturally polite staff were brilliant. Rooms were intensely comfortable & kept clean. The Bathroom was exceptional personified. Completely kitted out with stunning showers, baths, mirrors & a TV!

Picked a weekend with St. Georges Day celebration & London Marathon finish on Sunday meant millions descending on London. Activities galore with a visit to National Gallery for hours together with a Theatre trip & invitation to Planet Hollywood on Sunday, meant an unforgettable weekend by any stretch of the imagination.

We found the hotel very tranquil place to come back to & relax & re-charge. We would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. What an experience & what a weekend. Reluctant to leave but for every day 'chore' living & maintaining our teenager children.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, you have to pay to sleep in the courtyard side. Very quite! Hotel has an upgrade pol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RMK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    88
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
176
322
55
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

As part of my birthday celebrations we stayed for 3 nights at the Haymarket Hotel and as ever it was lovely. We didnt have our usual room but this time stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. It had a separate sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and dressing room and shower room. It was a lovely room with plenty of space when we had visitors. We used the pool again which was empty and lovely. The only downside was that the street outside being a dead end meant that it was ver quiet except when they emptied the bins at 3 in the morning when it echoed and woke us up. A shame but nothing the hotel could do. Apart from that a very stylish hotel with good art and spotlessly clean. The doorman remembered us from last time we visited which is a nice touch, makes you feel extra special.

Room Tip: Inner rooms seem quieter but all are fine generally
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Where do I start? This hotel is a gorgeous boutique style hotel with a very eclectic combination of vibrant and confortable furnishings througout the hotel / rooms / restaurant and bar. My junior suite corner room on the 1st floor #106 (2nd floor US) could not have been more comfortable, light filled and quite large compared to most London hotel rooms. I looked out onto Haymarket St. which was not noisy at all as there are double glazed windows. The only additional amenity I wish the room had was a Nespresso machine but they certainly provide excellant 24/7 room service. This hotel is in a perfect location right in the heart of London, steps away from Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, easy walking distance to all the Theatres and the Thames too. Great food and bar scene - Yuri makes a wicked cocktail! This is the place to stay in London - but what makes this hotel stand out over any other hotel I've stayed in was the customer service - they have the most friendliest, professional and nicest hotel staff I've ever encountered! My special thanks to Yuri, Justin, Lizzie, Yaiza, Fabio and Ethel for making my first trip to London so special!

Room Tip: Book in advance and speak direct to the reservation manager, I liked the tall floor to ceiling windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Currently sat eating breakfast in Brumus and discussing with my husband how wonderful this hotel is.
The decor, staff, food, wine, atmosphere. It's all just perfect.
We checked in and were upgraded for free to a Junior Suite which was lovely as we're here celebrating my birthday, so this was a real treat. When they heard it was my birthday we were offered a complimentary glass of champagne too!
Just a perfect stay. Would return in a heartbeat. Thanks Haymarket Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinners80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with our two young kids (5 & 7) for the location of the hotel to attractions and also the pool. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and breakfast was divine. Perfect for a stay in London, a very intimate and personal hotel compared to the big hotels with no charm. We will definitely be staying here again, my only complaint is that the pool was a little on the chilly side (especially when stuck in it for hours with kids!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandTori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
237 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our wedding. We were made to feel so welcome. The service was superb and not overbearing. Extremely helpful desk staff and concierge and doormen. We were upgraded to a junior suite - the room was wonderful - great decor and nice view out on Haymarket. The breakfast was excellent. Room service was very fast and the food excellent. We were sad to check out - the experience at The Haymarket Hotel was outstanding and really helped us to relax prior to our wedding. They even put a bottle of champagne in our room on our wedding night. They also accommodated out two young children free of charge and provided our 3 year old with her own little dressing gown and toiletries. A lovely touch. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the haymarket many times over the last 3years, we even had our wedding guests stay and our wedding dinner in Brumus. We have always loved our rooms which have ranged from standard to the 2 bed suite. However the last time we were given a room on the 3 rd floor, the windows are small and high so you cant see out, i will request lower floors in future. Also even though we stay at least 3 times a year our returning guest gift was a set of collar stiffeners? Strange! brummus has been refurbed, i miss the vibrancy of the old decor. The cakes are not the best in my opinion despite the price.
Breakfasts are really good although the orange juice is over squeezed and therefore oily! Lots of finnicky stuff i know but thats what a personal opinion is!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing