We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best Hotel in London”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at The Haymarket on many occasions and always love to return. I only live 20 mins from the Hotel and work 5 mins away ... but adore staying as a 'treat' to myself or to stay there with visiting relatives.

The rooms are all uniquely decorated - and maintained and cleaned to an incredibly high spec. The Firmdale Company train their staff to a very high standard - and this is obvious from the level of service. The Front Desk and Restaurant/ Room Service team are particularly helpful and polite.

The Hotel has a swimming pool and various function /private rooms - and lovely touches such as the Honesty Bar in the Guest Lounge and well-stocked DVD library for when you want to put your feet up after hitting the London sights and shops!

Location-wise, it is hard to be more central : the Hotel is just along from Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square - and on the corner of Trafalgar Square. St James Park, the Mall/Whitehall are right on the doorstep - and if the shoe leather is worn .. bus and tube stops are right outside.

The day I win the Lottery (!) I will happily move in to one of the 2 bedroom Suites permanently!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
There are newer reviews for Haymarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 814 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel is clean, looks brand new, and staff were very helpful. Location is perfect for walking to most attractions, theatre, etc.

Concierge managed to get us last minute theatre tickets below cost and was helpful in other requests we had.

Breadkfast buffet is good, though omelette was a bit inconsistent from day to day.

One major downfall is that because the hotel is so centrally located, it is a bit noisy at times. That is to be expected though and noise is common for any major city.

Only major complaint is that we were usually woken up between 6am and 7am to the sound of glass bottles being dumped (presumably for garbage collection) each day.

Would I stay there again? Possibly, though I would want to ask for a room not on Suffolk Place (above the entrance), as this seems to be the noisiest area.

Room Tip: Higher floor so you are not as close to ground level traffic, conversations, garbage collection
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DODHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location near Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, and Charing Cross tube station. Stayed there 4 nights in April, not inexpensive to be honest (over $500 USD a night), but had a wonderful stay and would do so again. Concierge and front desk staff extremely helpful, made dinner reservations for us, and got us last minute tickets to Phantom and Tower of London. On my last night there, due to a very loud party right near in the hotel, they took 50% off my last nights rate, a very nice touch. Hotel is so very convenient, we were able to easily walk to the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, and many other locations within a 2 mile radius. Top quality rooms, extremely comfortable bed, provided a small lavender spray bottle for the pillows and linens before you'd go to sleep, large bathroom with Miller-Harris toiletries, room had a US electrical outlet already there, very handy. In-house Brumus restaurant very nice - ate breakfast there every morning and they had the most wonderful bacon. All in all, a top notch hotel if you don't mind pampering yourself a bit. Do note though that back in April at least you did have to pay for WiFi access.

Room Tip: I had a superior room although next time I would ask for a room not on the first floor, due to the p...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_in_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It is difficult to provide a personal service whilst oiling the wheels of the day to day running of a top notch London hotel yet this place does it.With style .
Absolute discretion .Total attention to details .Enduring a style that sets it apart and stages many a night never to forget.I never will.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

In October we stayed in the Haymarket for 10 days. It was part of of an overseas trip & what a great way it was to begin our holidays. We arrived early morning & jet lagged from Australia and right from the outset the staff were welcoming. What a fabulous location in the west end of London. Not only for its fabulous theatres and night life but being so close to many of London's major attractions like Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, Piccadilly Circus & Regent Street. All the staff including the doormen, staff at reception & in the restaurant were very professional, friendly & helpful. Being an interior designer myself I loved the boutique feel of the Haymarket with the different design elements used in each of the rooms and suites. The Haymarket has the feel of a luxurious family home rather than a hotel. I loved the fabrics & furniture used in the public areas like the Lounge and Library. There was nothing better than relaxing & having a coffee in the library after a long day sightseeing. Have I forgotten the Brumus Restaurant which is a very trendy meeting place- a great place to have breakfast , lunch or dinner or a drink at the bar? I am looking forward to see what Kit Kemp will come up for her next project.

Room Tip: Loved our Junior Suite which faced Her Majesty's Theatre and was wery quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Returned to The Haymarket for a business event and it reaffirmed why i love this hotel to entertain important guests that I want to impress. From the moment you arrive outside the still restrained exterior and are met by friendly and helpful door staff, through check-in to contact with any of the staff in the rooms, restaurant or bar it is just such a relaxed,professional and pleasant experience. It isn't the biggest or grandest hotel in London, but for me it can knock spots off the most exclusive and expensive lodgings the capital has to offer. The rooms are constantly being refreshed and are a delight. Sadly, on business there is never the time to really settle in and enjoy them, but beds, bathrooms, fittings and fixtures are all at the top of the class. Haymarket has a fantastic location, a great atmosphere and one of the buzziest public bar areas of any London hotel but if you want peace and quiet then the residents' lounge and long room are just perfect. An excellent breakfast completes things. Firmdale keep their spot at the top of the game with Haymarket!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Terrific location just a few hundred meters from Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, and Piccadilly Cuircus, right across the street from Her majesty's Theatre. Itr's great to kick back for an hour or so in the afternoon and then head back to the National Gallery just around the corner.Lots of nearby restaurants.
We stayed five nights and had room 206, a "Luxury Jr Suite", upgraded at booking upon request from a "Deluxe" room. This is a corner room with three large windows overlooking Haymarket and the theatre but totally quiet even on Saturday night. This is a large room with comfortable king bed, desk, 2 chairs, hide-a-bed divan, coffee table, 2 chests of drawers, 4 closets, tons of space. Bathroom is great, all granite, modern with terrific shower - loads of hot water immediately. Extremely helpful staff. Restaurant good but not exceptional. All-in-all, one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in and we've been all over.

Room Tip: If you are an art afficiando, don't miss the small, world class, lovely Courtauld Gallery in Som...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,868 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,072 in London
2,548 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $427 - $2,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing