We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could live here, I would!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If I could live here, I would!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Super chic hotel. The rooms, the lobby, and even the dining areas are so pretty! I almost didn't want to leave. The bed linens are exquisite and the bathroom was huge! The freebie toiletries are also super nice. I ended up soaking in the tub for two consecutive nights. There was a tv in the bathroom!

Excellent location! Although it's a few blocks from Piccadilly Circus, the rooms are very quiet.

The food in restaurant though is pricey, but almost everything in London is pricey anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    82
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
155
286
48
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A beautiful colonial style house, the decor stylish, the rooms beautifully presented.
A secret escape to Haymarket ! If you fancy deco, well, this is the place to BE ! my secret lover (wasn't a lover yet, but arranged a fabulous suite, with 2 rooms.....in case: .
Service within was professional and attentive.

We both where very pleased and opted to eat in our suite, as it was a really good experience. Delicious wines and tapas.The pool and bar in the basement pretty amazing, water a bit cold though, but worth a dive! so don't forget your bathing suits, its worth the experience !

Location perfect.

Couldn't fault a thing,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely loved it here - stayed in one of thier standard rooms but it was perfect, very quiet with lovely bed linens, decoration and fab bathroom. Breakfast was lovely too. Completely central for Theatreland and definitiely worth the extra cash for a special treat. All the staff were smiley and very helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasvegaskitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here with my 15yo daughter for 5 nights in a Junior Suite, and couldn't believe the attention to detail of both the place itself but especially the staff. An example of this, was when we asked for a DVD from Concierge, who immediately asked us whether we wanted popcorn with it! Just a superb experience that was pricey, but well worth it. The position was unbelievably ideal for 2 females, especially at night. Charing Cross and Piccadilly stations were just 2 minutes walk away. I also asked the hotel to organise seats for Phantom of the Opera for us, and these seats were perfect. Everything was there for the asking. The restaurant and breakfasts were first rate. This will be my hotel in London for always.

Room Tip: We were on the Haymarket street but due to double glazing there was no noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This small boutique hotel was perfect for my quick five day trip to London. The location is central, two blocks from the Piccadilly tube station and right on bus routes. The lobby is understated and comfortable along with an adjacent lounge and library room with it's honor bar. Also a bar/restaurant which always seems to be humming. Late afternoon tea there was very good. I did not explore the advertised swimming pool or gym.
Check in was simple but the first room I was taken to was a ground floor corner and unless I kept the blinds down the entire time, anyone and everyone could peer in. This was not acceptable and after a short wait, they found me a first floor room that was similar. The buses and heavy traffic on Haymarket street was right outside but all the windows are double paned and glazed and no sound penetrated at all. It was dead quiet, something I insist on in a hotel room. Great closet space. The bathroom had two sinks and plenty of room for toiletries. The tub/shower combination can be a problem, try getting in and out of a slick high sided tub. Not good for seniors. Insist on a room with a walk in shower if this is a problem for you. The other issue was upon opening the bathroom door in the morning the drain in the bathroom always smelled like sewage first thing in the morning. The smell dissipated almost immediately but it was there initially. I complained, and they offered another room but I didn't have the time for that. I don't know if they will ever look into the problem. No one seemed too concerned.
Breakfast was included up to a certain cost point but it would be difficult to achieve that amount. A hot breakfast menu is presented to you and there is also a full large continental style breakfast table of grans, fruits, yogurts, pastries. I had eggs and toast and then fruit and yogurt from the buffet and that wasn't enough to create an additional cost.
The hotel charges by the minute for the internet up to a maximum of 20 pounds.
The other problem was that my travel agent booked my room for a late arrival from the USA but my flight was cancelled and I didn't arrive until 11 am the next morning. I was still charged the full amount for the room. IATA's policy is that the customer shouldn't be charged under these circumstances, but because I wanted a room on arrival, I was charged the full amount.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a ground floor room. And if you want a walk in shower, ask for it when m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durgaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely tea there.perfect china.delicious sandwiches as much as ee could eat and the staff really seemed to care that we had a lovely time.looking forward to going again..great. especially as the whole hoyel is glamorous

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claireodeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spend 1 night during middle of Sep, was the first time for me at this hotel and my short stay was even better than the great revies I have seen here before the res. service was excellent resturant at the hotel is very good and the location is one of the best in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#8 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,482 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,106 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#13 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#31 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing