We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay at this great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #11 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at this great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

The small Firmdale chain of hotels in London really gets the combination of style and substance. I've stayed in all but one of their London properties and they have all offered fabulous eclectic British design, very high quality and superb, discreet and personal service.

My stay at The Haymarket in early December was great. Check-in was quick (the home-made mince pies on the desk were appreciated) and my bags were quickly taken up to my room whilst they parked my car for me. The valet parking isn't cheap (it's for 24hrs) but I checked the rates locally to make sure they weren't overcharging - they weren't - it's just expensive in the heart of the West End.

There's direct access to the, very pink, Brumus restaurant from the foyer. I had a granola/yoghurt and eggs benedict for breakfast - both of which were faultless. Around the back of the reception are a couple of areas to have drinks - the nicest of which is a drawing room with an honesty bar.

I didn't get to use the pool as this was closed for a private function - a rarity I was told - this was probably to do with the run-up to Christmas but worth checking when you're booking.

The room itself was on the 2nd floor, looking out over Suffolk Place, and had double-double glazing so was actually very quiet. The quality of everything in the room was superb: mattress that's soooo comfy!, fantastic mini-bar selection of drinks and snacks, Loewe TV, Bose iPod docking station, Tivoli radio in the bathroom, nice toiletries... The curtains in all Firmdale rooms were really thick, and beautifully made, and there was a blackout blind on the window too.

I only spent one night there this time but it was a really nice touch that all the concierge and reception staff I came across remembered my name. Highly recommended if you want a high quality personal boutique hotel in the heart of the West End.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to be a bit further raised from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbristolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    88
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
176
322
55
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The room was fantastic and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 314 is really nice and quiet but there is no lift. However this did not bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annifaurbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, FRANCE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

What to say to this hotel ?
My first word is to thank the staff and the designer of the hotel.
Not only the location is great, close to the National Gallery, Covent Garden and the theaters, but the hotel is mots charming, trendy and cosy with a very adorable staff.
Room service is premium quality and always available.
The hotel is remarkable for the design and quality of the furniture.

I would definitely come back to this hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlorentJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The whole hotel vibrates with the pulsation of a disco. ABSOLUTELY DO NOT CONSIDER THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE 19 and in the mood to party. I'm afraid the Firmdale group has made an alienating move turning their basement into a nightclub. REALLY DISTURBING.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
42 Thank flowerchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

What a fabulous hotel - totally divine!
The interior is modern, eclectic and simply fantastic!

Our room was extremely well appointed, modern but not minimalist, extremely comfortable and just a pleasure to be in.

The downstairs pool area V V cool, great pool!

The staff were V nice, it really was a great stay all round!

If you like to stay in a hotel that has all the creature comforts of staying at home and more then this a a great choice - I have stayed at many hotels from the very grand traditional to the uber- cool but this hotel is a stand out.
London in the winter can be somewhat dreary, nothing dreary about this hotel!

This hotel is in the theatre district so maybe not the best location for some, the hotel is part of the Firmdale group that have others around london.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've stayed at the Haymarket several times. The location in London is incredible. The facility itself is beautifully appointed. The staff is exceptional and very service oriented We've written ahead to the concierge to seek ideas and counsel about shows, restaurants, etc and they've always come through with exceptional ideas. When asked, they were very happy to make arrangements for us. Other reviewers have commented about noise in the hotel. That's never been our experience. In fact, I recently stayed at other European hotels of similar quality and reflected on how noisy others were in comparison to the Haymarket. In London, I'd stay nowhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here last night and agree with everyone who has said it is a beautiful hotel. However when I book a hotel at this price, I expect them to get the basics right and have a touch of luxury and style o top. Here they have the latter but one of the basics is missing. We had a terrible nights sleep because of the sound proofing. I was initially worried about the street outside but it was the flimsy ceilings and floors inside that I should have been worried about. The room upstairs from us decided to start packing at about 2am and all we heard for the next 2 hours was them plodding heavily about. We eventually went and complained as they didn't appear to be going to bed anytime soon. The manager said sorry but as way of explanation said that the couple were checking out early. Surely that happens quite alot in hotels hence why it's important to have designed your rooms not to hear it?

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank annchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing