We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel to stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #9 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Haymarket , an excellent hotel which has a beautiful interior design and pool area was really gorgeous.The location is perfect as its only a short walk to Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and most of the famous places in London.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and everything in them actually worked,the design was nice and very spacious. We were greeted with a box of chocolates upon entering our room and complimentary bottled water.

The staff were very accomodating. The hotel restaurant, Brumus, has a very nice ambiance and the food is excellent. Absolutely no complaints and look forward to bringing my family back to this nice hotel except having no free WiFi. Overall it was a great hotel and I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdreanaBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    88
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
177
324
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

It seems just about everybody loves this hotel and we are no exception. It is easy to understand why.

We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious and worth the extra money. The room furnishings included a comfortable and deep couch, working desk, and two chairs. The blue and pink color scheme was playful. The overall look was of a cozy country room far removed from the city. A special feature of the room was a large walk-in closet that held our two big bags and also had plenty of storage space. It was a special treat not to have to put a bag in the room or not have to live out of a suitcase. There were two windows in the room, but they were very low to the floor so that you could not see up to the sky unless you bent down. Not a big deal but a little bit of a drawback. We were in one of only three rooms on the fourth floor. Rooms on the third floor seem to have very small windows while rooms on the first and second floor have large long windows. The bathroom was standard issue Firmdale found in all their hotels. Ours was very spacious with two sinks and a shower/tub combination. Although nice, the sterile look of the bathroom is not in keeping with the cute and soft look of the room or the hotel.

On the ground level are several colorful and bold rooms to enjoy and hangout in. We had breakfast each morning in the very red Brumus. The buffet was very nice with the standard items available. During our stay they had a special that also allowed us to order hot items off the menu as part of the breakfast package. Downstairs in the basement is a very nice, but slightly chilly, long pool. As a swimmer I really enjoyed doing my laps, but I am not so sure about the concept of setting the pool in the middle of a very cool looking lounge/bar area. I swam early in the morning so the lounge area was not being used, but if it were busy, it would have been an odd mixture of activities. The first night of our stay the pool was closed for an event, but was available the remainder of the next three days. Near the pool is a very nice but very small gym, and changing rooms with showers.

Most of the hotel including the entrance is on a quiet and attractive side street. However, much of the time you might find yourself on the other street the hotel faces, Haymarket. This is a busy road with lots of people waiting next to the hotel for buses. Our room faced this street, but there was not a noise issue, just lots of people hanging out at times while you tried to walk by.

With only fifty rooms the hotel is quiet and rarely seemed too busy or overrun. The young staff was friendly and professional. The location is prime with tube stops nearby, and much of the West End within walking distance.

Overall, the hotel almost feels like a funky private club. If you want modern elegance with a touch of whimsy, good location, and friendly staff, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floors, by British calculations, have larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This boutique hotel, is quite well hidden, although it is in the very center of London. Half way between Piccadilly Circus and Trafaglar square, on a quiet little street, it is very easy to walk by and not even notice this hotel. Inside you'll find a welcoming staff, which will make you feel at home and will know your needs by the second visit. The rooms are nice, spacious and equipped with all your modern needs. There is a wonderful indoor pool and a small gim on the lower level. The restaurant is great - an excellent buffet breakfast and really good lunch/dinner menu. Rates are not cheap, but nothing is in London. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We've stayed at a lot of great hotels. The hay market is about as good as it gets. Genuine, warm service. Wonderful design. Beautiful pool and great restaurant in house. I won't stay anywhere else in london again. Highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angussullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Once again the Haymarket hotel never fails to impress with its top notch service immaculately appointed guest rooms and first class facilities. This is the fourth time I have stayed in the last four years, the central location in the west end is a real bonus with Regent street, Covent Garden, Soho etc all within easy walking distance negating the need taxis and tube. I drove in on a saturday morning with my two children 11 and 12 having travelled some 100 miles (avoiding congestion charge!) and was promptly greeted by the concierge who unloaded our bags and whisked the car away for safe overnite parking within a few minutes. I booked a Junior suite and as requested we were given the same room as we had stayed in before. The standard of cleanliness in the immaculate guestrooms and throughout the hotel is without fault, each time you stay you could be forgiven for thinking you are the first person to ever stay in the room everything looks that new, especially in the beautiful marble bathrooms. The beds are supremely comfortable as they are in all the Firmdale hotels. The children love the beautiful pool and gym facilities, in fact when we have stayed we seem to be the only ones using these facilities! I have stayed in the Soho hotel also, which is equally spotless with fabulous large bedrooms, but the Haymarket gets our vote as the best because of location and the pool! The Haymarket thoroughly deserves its Top 10 placing in the Trip Advisor listing. All the staff deserve a mention and high praise, always giving a very personal level of service without being over the top and not least because of their child friendliness!. First Class all round I'm already looking forward to my next visit next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddyboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Top notch luxury hotel, set very close to Trafalgar Square and London's theatres. Arrived running late for an appointment, and were given a speedy check-in and upgraded without asking. Well equipped room, with the expected high-levels of fittings, free wi-fi, and separate dressing room. The inclusive breakfast was delicious and service attentive. Having stayed in Soho Hotel, owned by same group, this is even better. Only lose 1% for one reason - the hotel was covered in scaffolding, but no explanation given by reception or warning that there would be workmen on the scaffolding outside room in the morning! But a very small and, no doubt, temporary problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook Haymarket, which could be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights. Superbly appointed rooms, stunning bathroom, comfortable immaculate while keeping it charming. Free WiFi included in room rate, love it. It's in a great busy spot that makes it easy to get out and enjoy the city. It's a little stuffy because of location and suits at breakfast but also easy to hide away for an afternoon tea. Reception and waitstaff are attentive and delightful in wanting to engage in conversation and look after you, although room service did want to tell me what I asked for on the menu wasn't on the menu but was apologetic with prompt delivery. Firmdale Hotels are amazing but you do pay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverturnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing