We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet haven in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Ranked #325 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had seen many mixed reviews ranging from ecstatic to "Dont touch with a bargepole" Previously knew the area very well and as its bang on the Victoria line thought it would be great for zipping around on the quickest transport route, given only a stay this time of two nights.Sure, the check in isnt till three but thats what it said on the tin and the swimming pool(heavily scaffolded )was nearing a rectification of the fault that caused closure, so no surprises there.None of the hustle and bustle found in London hotels but a quiet period building ..as if it was ones own apartment in a residential block.It was school half term holiday so the sdhool opposite was closed so it was particularly quiet on Chichester Street, yet if open would add to the interest.
Accomodation was a one bed apartment on the sixth floor and it was excellent in every way with superb views over London and to the river at vauxhall.The apartment was spotless, warm and spacious with a lobby with small kitchenette of fridge, microwave and sink/storage with the basics you would expect ie glasses, cups, wine glasses,cutlery plates big and small and bowls, two of each.
Bedroom was great especially the king bed and linen( the best i have seen in a long time and tasteful), massive storage/hanging space x2 and great flat screen TV @32" that worked perfectly.Lighting flexible, bedside, wall and central lighting.Loads of sockets, hairdryer and iron.All this nonsense of two beds zipped together!! That is how it is done in most hotels in Ireland and Europe even in the 5 star Fota Islandand we had no problem in enjoying this and were bewildered by peoples online comments regarding this.Also it allows flexible bedding for peoplke needing a twin bed set up.So stop the moaning.
Bathroom was huge and pristine and shoswer/bath excellent and two sinks a nice touch.Bath towels were the best, biggest and fluffiest we have encountered on our extensive travels in Europe and the constantly heated towel rail was great. Room could do with an extractor yet due to the paned sash windows in this period building , it is not necessary as we found in our own house in London in the past.Dont look for aircon (its unhealthy anyhow!)rooms need airing, thats how its done so just be flexible and open windows a little as the rest of the peoplke who live in such properties do.One word of caution! mthe building is massive and period so the water is REALLY HOT but little labels tell you so, but easily regulated in the shower ...and it never runs out!
Sitting room had a circular dining table and chairs, writing desk, great uphostered couch continuing the purple theme(Like Premier Inns but classy!)and another large flat screen TV.
The place is so unlike a hotel and as mentioned just like having your own apartment!
There are two superfast lifts and its an easy place to negotiate.
Staff are SOooo friendly and accomodating and many people we spoke to had been upgraded without asking, now how strange is that!!Rooms are serviced daily to "as at occupation" which was great to come back to a wonderfully made bed each evening and a pile of rolled fluffy towels.
Didnt use the restaurant or leisure centre but facilities looked great and well maintained and if you must swim, the Queen Elizabeth Sports centre and Oasis pool are not too far away.
There is a great quaint little shopping mall on the ground floor with absolutely everything you might want as well as a bijou Cafe, and if you cant find it there there is a Tesco Extra a few minutes away and other all in one open all hours type shops.Restaurants nearby and in Tachbrookk street and all the way to Victoria in a "Villagey" setting with countless choices,Just hop on the 24hour 24 bus across the road .Victoria line took us to the theatre in a matter of mins and the 24 will bring you virtually outside the door if you take fulll advantage of the night life and stay out till tghe early hours.No need to bother with taxis.
The area is very safe and has a residential feel and ambience with none of the frenetic activity and crowds of wheelie case bemused tourists as in Victoria and elsewhere.
If you are into art, the Tate Britain is only a few minutes brisk walk along the river.
So what was wrong with it? well,...we only had two nights and would have loved seven or more!.
We had hoped to meet the elusive asst manager Wayne Mortensen to show our appreciation but he seems a busy man and no wonder in such a huge property. Keep up the good work with your staff Wayne, you have an absolute gem there and....hope the pool is completed when we return!

Room Tip: Higher up the building is less noise if ordinary street noise bothers you.Corner rooms have extra wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank odysseus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having completed a 250 mile journey with a little boy being sick, we could not have asked for a better service from the Dolphin House staff. We arrived earlier than check in, but they were very accomodating and said the 1 bed apartment was ready. The staff member kindly offered us a two bed apartment instead. Amazing! The apartment itself was nicely furnished, with each bedroom having its own en-suite. The kichenette (off the lounge) was compact, but all the services were accessible. Our stay was to take our little birthday boy for his first trip to London. The tube was no more than a 5 min walk away at Pimlico, so all the sights were easy to get too. The food on site was really good - continental breakfast (inc. in price) good quality and the evening meal was also of an excellent standard. The fish main is definitely worth having. The only down side was that the swimming pool was undergoing repairs. I chose this hotel with the aim of having flexibility on eating in/ out and having a pool for the boys to splash around in. We have already decided that we will return to Dolphin House soon - stay for longer - and enjoy the pool and spa facilties. Our little boy cried when we had to leave. Will be back soon. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

It was most gratifying to read your review of Dolphin House. We thank you for taking the long trip to Dolphin House, and for choosing us as your home away from home. I remember speaking with your during your time with us and am thrilled to know we made your little boys stay so memorable; and the upgrade helped. The chef and team are delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcome you all back with us very soon.
Kind Regards,
Wayne Mortensen,
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Three of us stayed for a couple of nights- were upgraded from a 2 to 3 bedroom suite. Nice, safe and quiet part of town, hardly heard any street noise. 2 min walk to Pimlico tube station (easy commute to anywhere in London from there). A few shops nearby for groceries etc. Fully furnished kitchen wish washer, cleaning service was excellent.
Pros: Comfy beds, towel warmers in each bath, acres of space compared to a typical central London hotel.
Cons: Couldn't check in until 2pm despite getting there at 10 (early flight from the USA). I know the guarantee is for 3pm checkin- and they made up for this with the room upgrade. Not fancy but can't beat it for the price and location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALAS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us with regards to your most recent stay. Our apartments are very spacious and I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. With respect to your check-in, should endeavour to have apartments available for 3pm; however, early arrivals are prioritised, but you will appreciate that apartments can take slightly longer to prepare than a standard hotel room. Looking forward to welcome you all back very soon. Kind Regards, Wayne Mortensen, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I booked the studio apartment with booking.com for 2 nights, which showed us these lovely pictures of the type of rooms we were expected to be given, we called them on our way down from Manchester and requested that our room has a kingsize double bed which we were told, yes thats fine you will have one ! When we arrived the room we were given didnt look anything like the pictures on the internet, when we called reception to ask have we been given the right room, he said yes we have 60 different types of rooms, and we can not show them all on the internet, we had 2 single beds joined together and we had a tv which kept going fuzzy and turning off when it wanted to, and a sink in the bathroom that would take so long to drain, funny but sad dissapointed with the room and the service given by the receptionist, be carefull guys for £270 for two nights we expected something respectable, ohh and also once the booking was made we were told the swimming pool was out of order due to maintance issues, what a terrible 13th annivesary we have had :-(

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Shareen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller this was a breath of fresh air. A beautiful, 1 bed apartment in a lovely historic block with good restaurant, pool and gym.

Only fly in the ointment was the awful shower head, more like being bludgeoned to death with a stream if water.

I will stay there again as soon as i can :-)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank fdgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities and village living we aspires to provide. I am very sorry about the poor quality of the shower head; it has subsequently been replaced. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you can.
Sincerely
Wayne Mortensen,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As my title states this was our third visit but certainly not our last. The personnel are very friendly, our bedroom was kept immaculate and we could find no fault at all with this delightful accommodation. The views from our window of the London Skyline were superb. It was very quiet and the shops below were just so handy for getting anything you wanted. The buses 24 and C10 served us excellently. What a situation for a London break. THANK YOU. Jeff B

Room Tip: Our corner suite was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Jeff, what a wonderful review this was to read! I will pass along your kind comments to the staff. I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed a faultless stay. We hope to see you again soon for a fourth and five stay…
Sincerely,
Wayne Mortensen,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked Dolphin House for 2 nights as we had theatre reservations and dinner the following night. The location of the apartments was perfect, just a couple of minutes walk to Pimlico Tube and from there it was easy to get to the West End. We booked a studio apartment which was lovely and very spacious. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed including a Cafeteria which was great for our morning coffee. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Only downside was the hot water in the shower wasn't hot enough. The little shopping arcade on the ground floor was great with a little cafe where we had breakfast and a minisupermarket where picked up a few bits for the room. For the price, it was great value for money and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and wifi is complementary in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Town Hall Hotel
#178 of 1,076 in London
1,377 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#217 of 1,076 in London
616 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#159 of 1,076 in London
728 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,807 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#182 of 1,076 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Address: Serviced Apartments Dolphin Square, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#234 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Romantic Hotel in London
#347 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $163 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House offers a range of contemporary serviced apartments in a quiet residential area. Set around three and a half acres of idyllic gardens along the River Thames, just a short distance from Central London. A selection of apartments are available from economy singles to 1bed 2 bed and 3 bed apartments. Dolphin House is on the north side of Dolphin Square Village with its 1069 residential apartments, Bar and Grill, Lounge Bar Sports and Fitness Club and brand new Moroccan Inspired Spa, The Spa in Dolphin Square. The facilities are open to all.All Just 5 mins walk from the nearby Pimlico tube, just 3 stops (7 mins) on the Victoria line to Oxford Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Hotel London
Dolphin Hotel London
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing