We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at charming apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Ranked #339 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

These are charming apartments in an exceptional location. Our flight arrived very early, but we had organised a taxi through the hotel, and the driver was waiting for us as hoped. Too early for check-in, but we were able to leave our bags and use the great fitness centre once it opened at 8. The facilities at the centre are lovely, great pool and change rooms, and staff friendly.Didn't have time to use their spa or exercise classes! Reception told us they would try to get our apt ready as soon as they could, but that it was occupied until 11, so we walked to Buckingham Palace in time for the Changing of the Guard. By the time we returned our apt was ready and we were thrilled. A lovely basic but functional kitchen, comfy lounge/dining room, large bedroom with king size comfortable bed, and lovely bathroom with a great bath and shower. Some of the fittings are a little chipped and the bathroom is a bit small to enter, but overall these are very comfortable apts in a fantastic location. The gardens are peaceful, you are close to everything, the nearest bus is fabulous and takes you past all the great sights. There are shops located in the complex but we didn't use them, and the wifi is a bit unreliable and expensive, although you can use it for free in the reception area where there is also a computer and printer which was helpful. The staff were terrific and helpful and very accommodating. The school across the road held a car boot market on the sunday which was fun and made you feel like a local. We would have booked the apt for longer but the price shot up during the middle of the week. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelpools46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We very much appreciate the time spent to write such a lovely review of your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words. We hope that you will stay with us again when you next visit London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a thoroughly enjoyable time at Dolphin House - stayed for 6 nights. Wonderful location - close enough to walk to everything - 20 mins to Westminster Abbey or a tube station just a 3 min walk away. The area is very quiet and feels very safe even at night after returning from a show. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the breakfasts are excellent - good food and very friendly, efficient staff. The gardens are a lovely place to just sit and contemplate! Highly recommend Dolphin House.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossyNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us during your visit to London. We're thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and managed to take advantage of our wonderful gardens- we very much hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my second time at there grand apartments. They are a taxi ride away from waterloo which was 10 pounds or 18 pounds from kings cross. Tubes so easy nice quiet tube station.We feel very safe staying here as our base for shopping and shows. The rooms are lovely everything you need and if you need something ring reception someone will help you.

The beds soooo comfortable . There is a lovely parade of shops within the apartments.I WOULD reccomend these apartments highly..and if there is any issues whatsoever speak to reception or one of the duty managers and they will bend over backwords to help you. If you are going to london stay here.

Room Tip: email apartments before you go they will try their best to accomodate you..all the rooms ive stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spoon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for writing sucha lovely review- we are delighted that you decided to stay with us here at Dolphin House again, and look forward to accomodating you on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My sister and I traveled to London for 6 days. This was a convenient, safe place for two women "of a certain age". We enjoyed the location and the convenience. It helped that the weather in London was glorious...it is a short walk to the tube but very, very convenient to the bus line.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

I'm delighted that you found your stay with us so enjoyable and thank you for taking the time to share that. We hope that you will stay with us upon your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at this property for approximately two weeks while visiting Europe.

The apartments are located near the Plimco tube stop but if you take the tube from Heathrow you will still need to walk a few blocks to get to the apartments, the foot paths are a bit uneven so rolling a suitcase is harder then expected.

We rented a one bedroom apartment, which had a extremely small kitchen stocked with the bare essentials (there was no frying pan or towel to dry dishes, and only two plates, cups, coffee cups knife, fork etc). The bathroom also was stocked with the bare essentials, the soap/shampoo ect provided was not very nice so we were glad to find a Tesco near by. The bathroom had a tub shower only with bad water pressure and a tub on a platform so I (being 5ft) had a bit of trouble getting in and out of it. This next bit of information is for North American travellers, face clothes were not provided and generally aren't in Europe so be sure to bring your own. This is also something we ended up buying during our trip for use.

We actually decided to rent this property because of the washer and dryer we assumed was part of the apartment rental, the washer/dryer is NOT in the suite itself we had to take a lift to the basement and wait in line to use the very limited amount of washers there (they also rent to long term tenants and the short term rentals are competing with the long term rentals). You also need to have your own washing powder, there is no machine to buy it in the laundry room. The washer/dryer situation was the most irratating because it was difficult to "get" a washer at night and who wants to spend a trip doing laundry for the day. The elevator also got stuck between floors and we were sitting in the incredibly small elevator for over ten minutes while they tried to fix it.

Our rental also came with vouchers for breakfast, the breakfast was a bare bones contential fare which didn't get restocked very well so the earlier we were there the more variety was availible. We did get tired of eating cereal and apples after a few days so even though it was part of our fees we didn't eat breakfast much while we were there.

Room Tip: - An express Tesco is a few blocks away from the apartments, we used this quite a bit for snacks etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheeseStandsAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dolphin House whilst visiting London, and for providing very valuable feedback indeed.
Pimlico tube station is a 2-3 minute walk from us and I suspect that you disembarked from the tube at Victoria which is a little further. Pimlico is in fact the next stop on this line and extremely close to us.
I am sorry that your kitchen was not fully equipped. This should not have been the case and I have escalated this issue to our housekeeping department to investigate. However, upon request they could have provided you with anything that you felt was missing.
Washing machines are provided on a request basis, subject to availability and I am sorry that we could not accommodate your request during your stay. We have 2 laundry rooms for Dolphin House guests to use, so I am surprised to hear that you struggled to find availability, as this has not been an issue before. Washing powder can be purchased from the shops in our shopping arcade, however, I do agree that it would be useful to have dispensing machines in the laundry rooms, and shall endeavour to provide this service in the near future.
We offer a wide variety of choices in our continental breakfast, such as various meats, cheeses, cereals, fruits and pastries, so I am again surprised to hear your comments with regards to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It's always challenging to find a decent place to stay in London. This was our first time at Dolphin Square. Newly redeveloped and renovated, and a bit of a mix of successful and not so successful features. The good - well located, clean, courteous and helpful staff. The bed and pillows were very high quality, so we slept well. The crockery is Villeroy and Boch, so there has been an attempt to go for the high end of the market. But it hasn't quite been reached. The bathroom was fairly good, but it had one of those frustrating crank handled toilets that doesn't flush efficiently, and trickles to a noisy refill over about 10 minutes in case you need to crank the handle again. The hot water, and then all the water, failed one morning, leaving no options for washing - but these things happen in old buildings and the staff were very apologetic. We had asked for a luxury room which was meant to come with a washing machine and a full kitchen. On check in it was explained that there were no washing machines on the 6th floor, but we could use the ones in the basement for free, and we were reassured our room had a full kitchen. The washing machines were fine, but the "full kitchen" was a sink and a microwave, so there was no possibility at all of cooking your own food. As we were only here for a few days that was ok, but if you come here expecting to get a full kitchen make sure you are all on the same page! I think we and the hotel must have different ideas on what constitutes a full kitchen....anyway it was fine. There's a very good market style Sainsbury about 10 minutes walk away and we were able to buy reasonable meals to microwave if we didn't feel like going out. The Pimlico tube station is very close so it was a great place to base ourselves. On checkout we were mistakenly charged for a meal we didn't have, and this was cheerfully refunded. I found the staff to be excellent, very helpful, apologetic when things went wrong, and they made up for the few problems we experienced. One other thing, there are no controls for the heaters in the room. It was very cold and in addition, the towel rack heater was also not working, so the morning after we arrived we had to use cold wet towels after a shower, with no hope of them drying at that room temperature and no towel change for 3 days. We explained this and were provided with a fan heater, and the towel rack heater was somehow switched on, so a good solution and a quick response. I do think it is a bit unusual you can't control the temperature in your own room though, obviously a money saving idea. I would definitely come back here, but next time I would try to make sure I got a room with complete cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurningLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for providing valued feedback on your recent stay here at Dolphin House.
I am afraid that the type of flush that you refer to is relatively standard here in the UK and we have found in fact that they are a lot more robust than other types of flush.
I am sorry that during your stay there was a major malfunction and failure with the reservoir pump which supplies water to the whole of Dolphin Square. I can assure you that this was a 'one-off' and can only apologise for the inconvenience that this caused you.
Washing machines are supplied on a request only basis, and I am sorry that your request could not be accommodated. However, you should have been made aware of this prior to check in, and I shall be taking this up with the relevant department in order to find out why you were not notified about this.
I am very pleased to see that your other issues were resolved by other staff and that you will be returning to stay with us in the future. We very much look forward to welcoming you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in Dolphin House. As part of the vast Dolphin Square complex, the place is a bit of a rabbit warren, but one benefit is that you have access to the gym and pool.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking a car park. As it was the weekend, it was fairly quiet though. To get to the room we had to walk through a rather neglected garden area. We felt strongly that the outer door to our building should have had a key pad or some form of security on it. Our room, which looked as if it had probably been fairly recently renovated, had neutral decor: beige walls and fairly basic-quality brown furnishings and buff carpet. It was a reasonable size for London. However it was dark with the lighting consisting of just two low-voltage wall lights either side of the bed which were not nearly sufficient to read by. We asked for an uplighter which arrived with another weak low-voltage bulb, so we went out and bought a more powerful one ourselves.

Most of what was presumably a large wardrobe had been used up to add a fridge, microwave, sink and cupboard under. A kettle, tea, coffee and basic crockery and cutlery were supplied and a welcome bottle of milk. There was an iron and ironing board in the small wardrobe. The bed was a super-king, made up from two singles. However, the two mattresses were of different depths so the point was rather lost. The mattresses were, however, comfortable and the linen of good quality although there were two visible marks on the bottom sheet.

The good-sized, windowless ensuite bathroom had plenty of quality fluffy towels but the fan did not work. There were also no hooks to hang towels on and the piping-hot towel rail was far too small. The bath had a large-headed shower over it with fairly good water pressure. We never worked out how to turn the water from shower to bath and, on the final morning, nothing but scalding hot water came out of both the cold and the hot taps on the shower, basin and sink so proper washing was out of the question. This problem was, apparently, affecting the whole of Dolphin Square and some flats had no water at all. The Square is one of few places in London to have its own artesian well, so perhaps there are sometimes problems with the system.

Although the price of the room was reasonable for London, our stay was not without problems. When we asked for an extra light, the staff said this happened frequently, so why are uplighters not provided as standard? When we mentioned the water problem on checking out, the staff did apologise but implied that we were better off than some of the flats (which had no water). Considering that we had not been able to wash as the water was scalding, we were pretty well in the same situation and we felt some sort of gesture would have been appropriate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stilzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Dolphin House. I would like to address each of your points individually if I may.
We have a fabulous team of gardeners who keep and maintain our extensive grounds to an immaculate standard. However, following your comments, I have observed that this area has been slightly overlooked, which is a point I have taken up with our head gardener to look into. We do not have key fob entry to our houses as we have a 24 hour on site security team who look after the safety of both our guests and staff in an excellent manner.
Changes to the law have meant that we are required to use low voltage, more environmentally friendly light bulbs. However, we do agree that these are insufficient for activities such as reading, and we have therefore decided to provide additional lamps to each of our rooms, which should be arriving within the next month.
Indeed, many of our guests comment on how comfortable our mattresses are, and we are glad you felt the same. However, I am sorry that your mattresses were of different depths, and I shall investigate this alongside the marks on your sheets with our Housekeeping Department. I can only apologise for the inconvenience or discomfort that this may have caused you.
With regards to the bathroom, thank you for highlighting a lack of hooks- we have decided that this is neccessary and will be looking into provding this. We would have gladly shown you how to use the bath taps, and fixed your fan had you asked for assistance- our team are always pleased to help.
Finally, I am extremely sorry for the water issue that occured during your stay. There was a major failure with the reservoir pump which supplies Dolphin Square, and it is unfortunate that this occured during your stay. This was however, a 'one off' malfunction which was not related to our wonderful artesian well.
We want all of our guests to leave Dolphin House happy and I am saddened to see that due to a number of reasons that this was not the case. I should like to email you directly to restore your faith in Dolphin House and would be delighted if you could respond upon reciept of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#415 of 1,077 in London
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#195 of 1,077 in London
2,473 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Address: Serviced Apartments Dolphin Square, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#168 Family Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $157 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House offers a range of contemporary serviced apartments in a quiet residential area. Set around three and a half acres of idyllic gardens along the River Thames, just a short distance from Central London. A selection of apartments are available from economy singles to 1bed 2 bed and 3 bed apartments. Dolphin House is on the north side of Dolphin Square Village with its 1069 residential apartments, Bar and Grill, Lounge Bar Sports and Fitness Club and brand new Moroccan Inspired Spa, The Spa in Dolphin Square. The facilities are open to all.All Just 5 mins walk from the nearby Pimlico tube, just 3 stops (7 mins) on the Victoria line to Oxford Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Hotel London
Dolphin Hotel London
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing