We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL”
Review of Aquarius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquarius Hotel
Ranked #1,014 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 13, 2013

THIS PLACE WAS AWFUL! I have stayed in a lot of bad hotels but this is the first time I have been compelled to write a review! The hotel is near the tube station but they forget to mention you can hear the trains go by every 2 minutes until 1:30 pm!!! We had to buy ear buds to block out the noise! the staff were EXTREMELY RUDE, unhelpful and the hotel was grimy, the floor needs to be replaced, the rooms were filthy and the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned, even prostitutes would complain. I would rather sleep in the street.

Room Tip: All the rooms are disgusting, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 743 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Another pleasant stay here, this time at Easter, 40 pounds on Easter Sunday night, you would be hard pushed to find a better deal, plenty of hot coffee, tea and toast to get you started in the morning. And room was cleaned to a good standard, will be back in December 2013 for a New year break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were placed at the bottom of the hotel. You can hear the tube trains pass every couple of minutes, all day long.
The bed was horrible, and sheets were gross. The carpet needs to be replaced. The shower and toilet are so tiny.

Location was excellent and staff were friendly.

Breakfast is basic

Room Tip: Ask to put on the top floor, far away from the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ok, so this isn't the most amazing hotel you will ever stay in, but here are the good & bad points:

GOOD POINTS: 3 mins walk from Earls court tube station, clean bedding, clean bathroom, hot running water, en-suite & only £35 a night for 2 people. An absolute bargain considering its central London location. Also, on the night we stayed it was quiet as its not on a main road.

BAD POINTS: Room was a bit dusty and could do with a deep clean. Carpets & curtains would also benefit from a wash/clean. The receptionist was a bit grumpy too. Not sure he wanted to be there! The room is quite small too but we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as were out most of the time so didn't really worry too much.

Altogether a good place to stay if you just need somewhere to sleep and aren't going to spend a lot of time there. Could benefit from some refurbishment and extra cleaning but considering it was only £5 a night for the both of us you get what you pay for.

Regarding the breakfast, we can't comment as we didn't have this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart_7698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Where do I start? This hotel was an absolute kip. NO RUNNING WATER IN THE SHOWER. I had to use the sink to clean myself and when I enquired why this was the case the receptionist just told me casually "what did you expect for the price you paid?"... "Well I expected a working shower at the very least". The room was filthy, apart from the bed. No elevator to bring you up countless stairs to get to your room. Oh and if you feel like you might fall down, do NOT grab onto the bainsters as they are broken! It is cheap and next to Earls Court Tube Station but honestly, I wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek_oracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very easy to find from the tube station. Got there, checked in and immediatly wanted to go home. We got the hotel as a last minute 'deal'. But as most budget travellers are aware, you can get cheaper and better than this.

We had a printout of what we had ordered. A double room with bath and shower. We got a shower, no bath, and 2 single beds. When we complained to the man on reception, he ignored our order printout, laughed and said "push the beds together". He was sleasy and no help at all. We asked for our money back so we could find another hotel but he refused.

Bathroom was disgusting. The bright blue shower tray was covered in limscale. It had a shower curtain that left water pouring out from underneith onto the tiled floor (very slippery). There was hair in the plugholes. The toilet leaked from the very bottom and we had to leave tissue on the floor. The shaving light and socket didn't work. Tiles had fallen off or had not been put on in the first place; like a half finished botch job. The grout was covered in grime. Nothing that elbow grease couldn't fix. But they couldn't be bothered.

The bedroom was by far the worst place I have ever had to sleep. It had a bad smell. A mix of stale smoke, dust and damp. There was a thick wire hanging out from the wall. The carpets had burns and rips and were pulled up by the bathroom door. There was a noisy old fridge in the room that was covered in cigarette burns. The room was cold; we found the draft coming from where the wooden window had rotted and cracked. Everything that was wooden, like the doors and dressing table were cracked, peeling or just falling apart. It was obvious no one had hoovered as there were 'bits' all over the carpet. The beds were made, but the sheets and duvet covers were filthy. They were dusty like they had pulled from the loft. There was a vent in the room that linked down to the tube line. We could hear the tube clatter past every 5 minutes. We got no sleep at all.

In the morning, I was excited to have breakfast and go home. We had paid for breakfast but I really wish we hadn't of bothered. The selection was just tea, coffee, toast and orange juice. Would probably been better off finding a nice cafe around the corner. Even McDonalds would have pipped the them to the post. On a brighter note, the ladies serving the breakfast were kind and efficient. I felt sorry for them having to work in such a poor place.

Please feel free to browse my pictures. They show this horrid hotel for what it really is. A SHAM!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there - a complete hellhole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_1988_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My fourth visit in two years, £40 a night for 30th/31st December, no pre payment or artifical inflation rises in price to reflect the season. Room comfortable, water hot, towels changed daily, tea/coffee/orange juice and toast for breakfast just as advertised on the website. People do need to understand what they are getting for the price, this is somewhere to get your head down and have a wash, essentially a hostel with private facilities, if you want to pamper yourself try an expensive hotel, if you would rather spend your money eating at nice restuarants and sightseeing like me then you would be hard pushed to find better, looking forward to going back at Easter 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#975 of 1,076 in London
585 reviews
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,076 in London
139 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#747 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#933 of 1,076 in London
336 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,076 in London
740 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#497 of 1,076 in London
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Hotel

Address: 20-22 Hogarth Road, London SW5 0PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,014 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $49 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a minute’s walk from Earl’s Court Tube station, Aquarius Hotel offers accommodation in the heart of Kensington. Each room comes with an en-suite or shared bathroom and a TV. The museum district of South Kensington and Hyde Park can both be reached within a 20-minute walk, along with a range of pubs, restaurants and shops. Heathrow Airport is a 25-minute taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Aquarius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing