We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Ranked #82 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for a few days on business (working in the financial district) and was very happy with the accommodations. My room even had a view of the Shard! It was nice to have a full kitchen so I wasn't constantly eating out at restaurants. There was a grocery not too far away with some other restaurants nearby as well. The bathroom was on the small side, however.

The tube was also right down the street. Also within very easy walking distance to Tower Bridge!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you, Eric for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were pleased you fully enjoyed your stay with us and the location of our property.

At Think we aim to provide guests with both an enjoyable and relaxing stay and appreciate all feedback from our guests and use the comments moving forward so that our product provides the home away from home you experienced during your stay.

On behalf of the entire Think Team; we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to London.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    215
    126
    63
    46
See reviews for
139
197
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Think Apartments (Tower Bridge) from Feb 2nd to Feb 18th 2014 in a superior studio (SS) unit. The previous year we stayed at Think on Bermondsey Street in a ‘one bedroom’ (1B) unit so I am able to compare the two. (see separate review specifically on Think Bermondsey)
First let me say we are Londoners who currently live abroad and come back once a year for an extended period. Think Apartments offer a value for money option for a place to stay in an excellent zone 1 location. However there is definitely room for improvement.
Firstly the SS unit at Tower Bridge was bigger than the 1B unit at Bermondsey Street and had far more storage which is important when you are staying for an extended time like we were. The fridge/freezer and dishwasher in the SS were bigger but there was no oven in the SS whereas there was a complicated combination oven/microwave in the 1B. Both units had washing machines which was essential for our long stay.
The SS unit was showing its age and the cheap furniture was showing its age, especially the fitted cupboards. The 1B unit was slightly more modern in its finishes but had many annoying features that didn’t work like fancy toggle light switches that didn’t work so that it took us 10 mins to switch the lights off at night (which they told us they couldn’t replace as the didn’t have any parts).
Both units had very small shower rooms with very annoying movement sensors controlling the lights, this is a big mistake in any hotel room. Both bathrooms had sliding doors (again not ideal) but the SS unit had a solid door whereas the 1B unit had a frosted glass door. Both bathrooms open directly onto the head of the bed so first you need to close the bathrooms doors at night otherwise the light switches on every time you move in bed. Second the solid door was highly preferable to the frosted glass door as if one person goes to the toilet at night the other is highly illuminated through the frosted glass door. This was exasperated by the fact that the timer to switch off had to be set long in the 1B as the sensor could not ‘see’ you when you were in the shower and would switch off numerous times while you tried to shower. For some reason this was not a problem in the SS unit.
Given that we were visiting for nearly 3 weeks we decided only to bring around 1 week’s worth of clothes and rely on the washing machine. This worked fine except that they do not provide a clothes airer and the majority of my clothes are not suitable to be tumble dried. Hence I ended up hanging clothes all over every available surface.
On balance we had a better stay in the SS unit at Tower Bridge Road rather than the 1B unit at Bermondsey Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were pleased you and your partner enjoyed your overall stay with us and would like to take this opportunity to comment.

We value your opinion in regards to developing our facilities for the better and have passed on your comments to our Development Team, who have taken note of the issues you have raised to assist us going forward.

Thank you once again for your feedback and on behalf of the Think Team, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to experience a better Think Service.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Accommodation was better than anticipated reading other travellers' reports. Yes it is noisy at night, too hot without some window opening, and the security lights shone through our blinds. But with on site parking, friendly staff and clean accommodation, convenient to central London it could not be much better. Only gripe was finding where we were supposed to be and the total lack of any instructions for using the hob, washing machine and dishwasher. Common sense was the order of the day.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the rooms nearest Tower bridge. 153 rooms seem to be inferior
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynelfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were pleased you and your family enjoyed your 5 nights with us and also the location and facilities of our property.

Although some apartments are based overlooking the railway, it is not an area usually found noisy. Should a guest find they encounter any disturbance by a train noise it is important they contact a member of the Reception Team to notify us should anything be affecting the overall enjoyment of their stay so that we are able to swiftly and effectively rectify this.

Within our apartments we endeavor to provide a home away from home experience including all the necessary facilities however, the design does vary throughout the property. Should a guest prefer a particular design then we do have floor plans available and our Reservations and Front of House Team will be happy to assist with this. I am disappointed to hear that you found a total lack of instructions as all of our apartments include a full instruction that covers all the facilities as microwave, dishwasher and washing machine and is usually found in one of the kitchen cupboards.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope that we will have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in Think Apartments.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in this apartment while attending some training nearby. As some others have said, sometimes you are directed to another building. I was told this was only 2 minutes away, but in reality it was 5 (consider luggage in tow). It would be helpful if told in advance which building you need to go to, as a taxi had dropped me off and the weather was awful.

In terms of facilities, this was one of the poorer places I have stayed and the only real benefit over a standard hotel room was a difficult to use microwave/combination oven with no instructions. When I cooked a microwave meal on the first evening, it set off the smoke alarm - use by previous occupants had resulted in the element getting some food on it which was burning. The second evening, I struggled to get my food hot using either microwave or oven functions. Unfortunately, no hob, otherwise I would have used that to heat the food. (I stayed in a studio apartment - it may be the case that there are hobs in larger apartments).

It got a little cold and heating controls didn't seem to make a difference. The staff were very helpful and lent me a heater.

There was also a noisy fan and I ended up turning off the power to the whole apartment to stop it at night.

On a positive note, the apartment was very clean and modern. I probably wouldn't stay in one of the apartments again but would consider a larger apartment.

Wi-fi was good and the receptionist had given me a code I could use on multiple devices which was really helpful.

A couple of tips if you are staying here: 1. bring your own mug as the cups provided are very small and only good for strong coffee. 2. bring your own washing up liquid.

There is a co-op about 5 minutes away if you need any supplies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missie_tinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us during your business trip and would like to take this opportunity to comment.

The location of our Tower Bridge Property is as your rightly mentioned 10 minute walk from London Bridge Station (Northern, Jubilee & National Rail Services) walking past iconic buildings including Tower Bridge, City Hall and the London Dungeons or Tower of London just a 5 minute walk across the bridge towards Tower Hill station (District & Docklands Light Railway). We encourage guests to ask a member of our 24 hour Reception for assistance with their arrival and luggage if required. Within the booking confirmations we detail the right address including postcode so in the rare event that a guest has any difficulty locating our property then we can direct them accordingly.

Studio apartments, such as the one you booked on this occasion, have all the facilities included within the larger apartments aside from a hob (cooking top) including a combi-oven which enables guests to oven cook and grill their food items. Should a guest need further assistance with anything then our Front of House Team are always happy to assist. For future stays, should you wish to have a fully fitted kitchen with a hob, then these are available within our 1 Bedroom Open Plan Apartments and all categories above. The space however, within the category you booked is far more sufficient than a standard hotel room without the luxury of a fully fitted kitchen and living area which many of our guests enjoy to relax in.

In regards to the washing liquid and the mugs, we can always supply guests at our Receptions with additional supplies of dishwasher and washing tablets on request for a small charge and for those guests staying for longer lengths of time we have a essentials pack which is available complimentary to those staying 29 room nights or more including the main essentials; cooking essentials (milk, bread cheese, bread, butter, sugar), pasta & pasta sauce, a cereal selection, tea & coffee, washing tablets and washing up liquid. I can only apologies that we were not able to resolve your issues during your stay.

On behalf of the entire Think Team; we thank you again for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to London.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A really smart hotel and a good base in southwark.
The only downside was that our room was so warm it was equatable to the firey pits of hell. Opened the windows which allowed road noise from the busy road outside. The thermostat didn't work and the heated floors didn't seem to turn off. Not a good night's sleep for either of us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heatherscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were very pleased you and your partner fully enjoyed your stay with us and also the location of our property joining the Tower Bridge and London Bridge area.

At Think we aim to provide guests with both an enjoyable and relaxing stay and appreciate all feedback from our guests and use the comments moving forward so that our product provides the home away from home we intend you to experience during your stay. I have passed on your comments about the faulted floor heating and thermostat to our Business Development Team, who will together with our Maintenance Team re-evaluate the working mechanism. In the event that a guest requires something specific including some help on how to control the heating system as mentioned from you we are more than happy to assist via our 24 hour reception and encourage you to speak to us immediately so that we are able to rectify the situation. I can only apologies that we were not able to resolve this during your stay.

On behalf of the entire Think Team; we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to London.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

had 3 nights here for a theatre fest in London. Great view of the Shard from apartment 38C. Very comfortable and relaxing. Being able to self cater we could get up when we wanted and still eat breakfast. Large fridge freezer kept the champagne nicely chilled for when we returned each evening. Everything you could need was there. oven, hob, dishwasher, fridge freezer, washing machine. Really strong power shower was invigorating. London Bridge and Tower Bridge tube stations are about ten minutes walk but we discovered the RV1 bus route at the end of the road before you get to Tower Bridge. It takes you to Covent Garden and stops at the Royal Festival Hall. Very convenient. I will definitely use Think again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My only gripe is that for newcomers it isn't easy to find, tucked away behind a bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roubiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were very pleased you and your partner fully enjoyed your 3 nights stay during a theater fest with us and also the location of our property especially with all the attractions nearby and the facilities provided in the apartment.

At Think we aim to provide guests with both an enjoyable and relaxing stay and appreciate all feedback from our guests and use the comments moving forward so that our product provides the home away from home you experienced during your stay.

On behalf of the entire Think Team; we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to London.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed there for 3nights and was quite impressed with the small studio I got. The bathroom is great, big shower. The studio has all the necessary - washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, iron board and iron, plates, cups and cutlery. The bed was excellent to sleep in.
My only problem was to find the location as on my booking form it gave me the Tanner road which is the HQ, and have been walking around for 30mins to find it!!
Also the checkout was too early 10am, and only realized that with the special rate I got, I could have checked out at 12pm but reception did not say anything about it!
The male staff at the the reception were quite good but gosh!! The women were very short and nearly unfriendly.. The least I expected was an acknowledgement ("hello" or a smile) when they see you..
The location is great - about 10-12mins walk to tube station, lots of places to eat around, close to London bridge, and there is a Coop shop down the road..
Will definately go back there on my next visit to London..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pouty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina S, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Think Tower Bridge. We were pleased you enjoyed your 3 nights stay with us and also the location of our property especially with all the attractions nearby.

We aim to provide guests with both an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Within the apartments themselves we have been working towards bringing our product in line with the needs and requirements of our guests, taking note from previous guest feedback.

In regards to your problem mentioned above: Within all of our booking confirmations, we detail our property addresses to make the journey as easy as possible. In the case that our guests encounter any problems finding our location we do encourage them to call the number on the confirmation and a member of our Reservations team will be more than happy to assist with directions.

In relation to your check in process, I can only apologize for the treatment you received and assure you that this is not normal practice. Guest satisfaction is of the highest priority to us and unfortunately without direct contact with yourself I cannot establish the details of your encounter with our Reception team. I would like for you to touch base with me at your earliest convenience so that I can gain further details and take action where necessary. I can only apologize that on this occasion you did not receive the expected service.

On behalf of the entire Think Team; we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Warmest regards,

Jim Souter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
London Tower Bridge Apartments
London Tower Bridge Apartments
#631 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#266 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Tower Bridge London Apartments
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
City of London
Go Native Monument
Go Native Monument
#63 of 837 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge

Property: Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Address: 169 Tower Bridge Rd | Tanner St & Tower Bridge, London SE1 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Think Tower Bridge Hotel London
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing