We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Ranked #82 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent 3 nights 26/10/12 to 29/10/12, orginally booked a one bedroom apartment with extra bed, but on arrival we were allocated a two bedroom apartment, one bedroom had an ensuite shower room as well as the main bathroom. Stayed in apartment 135 which was third floor opposite reception. There were no apartments above, although there were higher floors around other areas of the block. No real problems with the apartment, the interior is clean and modern. As stated by others it is not far from Tower Bridge and we found the nearest tube station to be London Bridge, was was a 10 - 15 min walk away. I would consider using these apartments again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at Think. We were pleased that your needs and expectations were met during your stay with us. Should a guest have any specific requirements for their stay including an apartment allocated on a higher floor then it is important that these are specified upon booking so that we can try to accommodate these dependent upon availability.

Thank you once again for your feedback and on behalf of the team at Think, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    215
    126
    63
    46
See reviews for
139
197
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our first time staying at Think Tower Appartments and I think we'll probably be making more use of them in the future. They worked out considerably cheaper than your normal London hotel!

So we rocked up to find we'd received an upgrade which was a pleasant surprise. The room we were given had a seperate lounge/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom, so in terms of space it was 3x bigger than your average hotel room. Located round the corner was a local shop meaning we grabbed cereal, coffee and milk so as to sort out our own breakfast at a fraction of the cost of hotel breakfasts or coffee shop chains.

Only small problems we had...
- the room was BOILING when we arrived. Luckily we had time to open all windows and try to decypher out the central heating controls.
- some of the floor boards were loose in our room (reported to reception on checking out)
- the hairdryer kept cutting out, and had passed its electrical testing date (reported to reception on checking out)

However despite this, we enjoyed our trouble free stay. The whole block was extremely quiet - we didn't hear another soul! It was nice to have an weekend where you didn't feel you had to leave your "room" at a designated time to allow the cleaner in, meaning you could relax so much more.

Things to note...
- they are about a 10 minute walk from the nearest tube station, so you have be prepared for this
- they have 3 "blocks" so when you arrive at the first reception, you maybe directed to another building round the corner.
- they are standard size double beds. Comfy, but not exactly big even though the rooms could probably fit a Queen size in without any problems.

Having said this, you will be saving a lot of money or getting a lot more for your money, when compared to London hotels so is definately worth thinking about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisEFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at Think. I was pleased that you enjoyed your Think Experience and on behalf of the team at Think we look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to London.

It is important to note that we are currently working towards producing an essentials pack including all the necessary items needed for longer lengths of stay including a scourer/sponge among other necessities. This will be available to purchase on our website at the end of October 2012.

We aim to provide our guests with a relaxing and enjoyable stay in their home away from home so we encourage guests to contact a member of the team during their stay to report anything that isn’t working as it should so that we can rectify prior to departure. These issues have been reported again to both our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments and I can confirm they have since been checked and replaced or repaired so thank you for bringing these to our attention. Currently we do not operate an air conditioning system in our Tower Bridge property. In the meantime we provide fans should it be necessary. These are usually left in our apartments and we provide additional fans on request.

Our Tower Bridge property is split across a number of buildings and it is important to note that we have recently opened an additional fully functional Reception to remove the need for guests to check in at one Reception and collect their keys from another. We are now sending out booking confirmations detailing where the specific Reception is located where guests will need to arrive at.

Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Positives: room was clean, small but has most of what you need when you arrive. Staff are friendly

Negatives: they are doing maintenance work on the apartments, so i have had a crane going past my window with men painting the timber outside :-/. The rooms are not quiet, every time someone shuts their door you hear it clearly. My room is above reception and overlooks the back of a restaurant, when the staff come out of there for a break you can hear them clearly (as if they are in the room) and cigarette smoke comes into the room (this is when the window/door is open, which you need to have for ventillation) No air conditioner. Rooms get hot, even in Autumn, had to continually get new codes for the internet as the codes given me had been used by others, not a good process in getting rid of rubbish (pop it outside your door and housekeeping will pick up the next day!!) . Bit of a walk to the underground if you have suitcases...yes i know they say it is 10 mins...but

Room Tip: My room is 105, don't get this side of the apartment block, I don't know what other suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Think Bermondsey Street. I was sincerely saddened that your overall experience did not meet your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to comment.

Since investigating your stay I am able to confirm the reasoning behind the current maintenance work on the outside of the property. This work has been scheduled from the 15th October and the timescale should be two weeks however this is weather permitting as it is necessary to have dry weather conditions. The process involves a solution being applied by hand for a short period of time. Each room will have a workman outside of the window of each apartment. All guests should have received a letter notifying them of this and in the case you didn’t we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

The location of our Bermondsey Street Property is a 10 minute walk from London Bridge Station (Northern, Jubilee & National Rail Services) walking past iconic buildings including Tower Bridge, City Hall and the London Dungeons or Tower of London just a 5 minute walk across the bridge towards Tower Hill station (District & Docklands Light Railway). Should a guest prefer, there are a number of bus routes that will stop close by the property and avoid guests walking with their luggage during peak times.

I have since spoken the relevant parties to reiterate the importance of consideration for our guests. Our properties are all non smoking and all staff members have been informed that they are not permitted to smoke on the premises. We will be speaking with the neighbouring restaurant owner to try and ensure that there is no future disturbance and apologise for the inconvenience you encountered.

Within our apartments we endeavour to provide our guests with a home away from home experience including all the necessities for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Noted from previous guest’s comments, it has become apparent that some guests slam their doors and unfortunately cause unnecessary noise to their neighbours. It is important that guests contact a member of the Think Team to notify us should anything be affecting the overall enjoyment of their stay so that we are able to swiftly and effectively rectify this.

We have under floor heating which can be controlled from within your apartment. In the event that a guest finds the apartment too hot then we can supply fans to address this and avoid the necessity of opening the window. Should a guest need assistance with the heating controls in their apartment then we have a Reception Team available 24 hours.

Currently, we are investing in larger bins within the apartments as we have noted from our guests’ comments this particular need (especially for those guests staying for a longer length of time). In the meanwhile, should our Front of House Team be notified then rubbish should be removed on request at that specific time and not the next day as you mentioned in your review.

Thanks to you for your feedback on WIFI codes. We have introduced vouchers valid for 15, 30, 180 and 360 night stays to negate the need of renewing your access to free WIFI.

We hope that this experience does not deter you from future stays with Think as we would like the opportunity to restore your confidence in Think Apartments. In this event, please contact me directly so that I am able to make the necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Think is close to Tower Bridge. I was working in Excel at the time and its about 45 minutes on the DLR from Tower Bridge. A good connection. The apartment gives lots of clean living space - and a kitchen with full equipment to cook a meal (no i didn't !). Its close to quite a few restaurants - I tried the local pub. Overall its all about price. London hotels have gone up in price over the past year or so (olympic effect) and this was about 50% cheaper for lots of space. What i didnt like was its very modern, and modern clean lines are less appealing for me - but thats personal taste. Any faults - none major really just a couple of annoying things - the blinds meant it was difficult to feel safe getting changed with the light on - and the bathroom was on an automatic light. i couldnt find a switch it off - but shutting the door sorted it out. Overall great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikesBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Think. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the luxury of the additional space available within our apartments. It is our aim to provide guests with a home from home experience.

Within our Tower Bridge property we do have a selection of apartments available so should guests have a specific requirement including a preference for an apartment that is modern we do have other options available. Please speak with our Reservations or Reception Teams who will be happy to advise and if available we will arrange for you to see the different apartment styles we have available. Within the apartments themselves we do have some with automatic lights however since receiving feedback from yourself and other guests, we have decided to discontinue these in future designs and as part of our ongoing refurbishment program we will be changing existing automatic lighting to standard switches. In the meantime please speak to a member of the team should you find the lights too sensitive as these are easily adjustable by our on-site Maintenance Team.

Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and on behalf of the Think Team, we look forward to welcoming you back on your future stays in London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked this apartment for a short break base.

Nice clean apartment met with all our expectations. Staff were helpful and provided good information on where to park and eat. The apartments are just within the conjestion charging zone...so be prepared to pay the charge if using a car. The position of the apartments is in close proximity to business premises and nearby Premier inn....but hey 'that's London'. We were not far from Tower Bridge and 10 mins walk from the London Bridge tube. We did find that traffic noise from outside was not well shielded by the double glazing....and we were woken early by workmen cleaning the windows on one morning.

On the whole 'not bad'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fewy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your Think Experience at our Tower Bridge property. I was pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and have passed on your comments for the relevant departments to share amongst their teams. Our Tower Bridge property is ideally located for both our business travellers needing to be close to the businesses in the local area and restaurants, bars and tourist attractions for our leisure guests. Should a guest find they encounter any disturbance by a third party, it is important that this is highlighted to our 24 hour Reception Team, as should there be scheduled window cleaning for instance we endeavour to make our guests aware prior to this to avoid any inconvenience.

The congestion times for future reference are Monday to Friday 7am through till 6pm. They are not applicable on weekends, public holidays, between Christmas Day and New Year’s Day inclusive, or between 6pm and 7am.

Thank you once again for your feedback and on behalf of the team at Think, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next journey to London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great concept but not very conducive to getting to the tube. about a 15 minute walk. however very close to tower bridge and you can walk to the Tower of London and to the boats on the Thames.
One of our beds was like sleeping on a spring with a sheet over it and we had to request another duvet to use as padding. We were in the tower and had to go up a spiral staircase to the fourth floor with luggage, there was not an elevator. and on the second morning we awoke to find a mouse in our kitchen which had eaten into a bag of pistachios. i happened to break my foot while there and had to have my son piggy back me to my apartment. this would have been fine if i had known ahead of time that i was making reservations at a facility without elevators.
Oh and forgot to say that the first night the toilet was plugged and there was not a plunger. maintenance came up with a mop to unplug it and left a mess of water on the floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Think. I was sincerely saddened to read your feedback from your stay with us and would like to take this opportunity to comment.

Since investigating your stay with my colleagues it is important to note that this particular apartment is scheduled within our ongoing refurbishment program. We have noted, through our Preventative Performance Maintenance checks conducted every 6 months and our general checks completed by Housekeeping that this apartment needs specific attention in regards to the bed package and the bathroom. Within our Tower Bridge property we do have a variety of different types of apartments available including those with lift access and others accessible via stairs. Should a guest have specific requests it is important that our Reservations Team are made aware at the time of booking so that we can try our upmost to accommodate these requests where available.

The location of our Tower Bridge Property is a 10 minute walk from London Bridge Station (Northern, Jubilee & National Rail Services) walking past iconic buildings including Tower Bridge, City Hall and the London Dungeons or Tower of London just a 5 minute walk across the bridge towards Tower Hill station (District & Docklands Light Railway). Should a guest prefer to avoid walking then there are several bus routes available from directly outside our property. Please ask a member of our 24 hour Reception who will be happy to assist.

We have recently employed a nationally recognised pest control organisation who have taken steps to ensure that preventative actions such as regular inspections and bate boxes are arranged to ensure that pests do not present a problem to our guests.

We have communicated your feedback with the relevant team members to ensure that the challenges you faced during your stay do not happen in the future. My colleague in Maintenance has established who serviced your apartment on your first evening with us and has since iterated the importance of conducting a complete but tidy job to avoid any further disruptions to our guest’s stay.

We hope this experience does not deter you from staying with us on your next journey to London as we would like the opportunity to restore your confidence in Think.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

my friend and i stayed at think hotel in earlscourt Ideal location close to everything but i wanted what i paid for an air conditioned unit when i complained they moved all our things to another apt but the stove top did not work scared to use washer and dishwasher. bed was alright even though the bathroom light shined on bed all night . Furniture in unit like sitting on floor apt was older and layed out different to what i saw when my agent booked it. the staff were great but the ikea furniture was not comfortable the place was very quiet windows do not open so their is no balcony so my friend had to go down stairs for smoke. food ordered you had to go to lobby to get which is a lot of trouble i would not advise seniors with bad backs to go here.

Room Tip: dont take first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at Think Earls Court. I was saddened that your stay did not meet your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to comment.

Within our Earls Court property we have been working with a new contractor in order to improve the current air conditioning system we have in place as there are a small number of apartments without fully functional air conditioning. We address this in the meantime by providing fans within the apartments and where possible should this facility be required, and we have availability, we are happy to move our guest’s to an alternative apartment where this facility is fully functional. It is important to note that we made the conscious decision to opt for lower furniture in order to optimise space within the smaller categories of apartment. Although the majority of our One Bedroom Open Plan Apartments are similar in layout, they do vary on occasion, although include all the same facilities needed in a home from home. Our Earls Court property was first opened in 2009 and every 6 months we conduct preventative performance maintenance (PPM) in order to keep the product in line with the fresh product seen within your agent’s portfolio. Unfortunately at the time of your stay we did have a number of apartments including yours that could not be completed within the scheduled time period due to high occupancy levels however should a particular matter be brought to our attention that needs to be addressed immediately we are happy to do this.

Since receiving guest feedback in regards to the motion sensor lights we have in the bathrooms, we have recognised that although adjustable the lights are too sensitive and because of this we have discontinued sensor lights from the 4th floor upwards and will be installing standard switches throughout however this is an ongoing process. Along with the lighting system improvements, we are working together with our Interior Designer to furnish the apartments further to make the home away from home experience even more comfortable for our guests.

Few apartments within our Earls Court property have balconies and as all our properties are non smoking buildings it is necessary for guests to go outside the main door of the property.
With regards to your comment on food deliveries to our property, I would like to take this opportunity to highlight that the reason for not allowing third parties upstairs to deliver the food in person is for security reason and to avoid disturbance among other guests.

We hope this experience does not deter you from revisiting Think Apartments as we would like the opportunity to restore your confidence in Think.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
London Tower Bridge Apartments
London Tower Bridge Apartments
#631 of 1,088 in London
68 reviews
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#266 of 1,088 in London
1,291 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Tower Bridge London Apartments
London Bridge
Tower Bridge Superior Apartments
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge

Property: Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Address: 169 Tower Bridge Rd | Tanner St & Tower Bridge, London SE1 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Think Tower Bridge Hotel London
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing