We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great option for West London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hand and Flower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
Ranked #407 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great option for West London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Hand & Flower. On arrival we were pleased to see our room was spacious and well appointed, with a modern bathroom. Although it didn't have air conditioning it did have a nice full sized standing fan which we made good use of given it was the middle of summer. The manager was very friendly and gave us some helpful tips. The highlight was breakfast on Sunday morning, probably the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. I had the Hand & Flower full English, and my wife had the regular full breakfast. Very tasty. The hotel is in a good location, especially if you are staying on the weekend when the Kensington Olympia station is open. It's only a five minute walk, tops. You're also only a 15 minute walk from the massive Westfield shopping complex at Shepherd's Bush.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. The H&F Full English is a delicious way to start any morning.We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    122
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
60
84
11
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Warm welcome, a couple of hours early but able to leave luggage. "Peacock" room was large, clean and comfortable with a kitchen / dining area but warm to say the least. The large state of the art fan only rubbed salt in the wound by informing us that the room was 33 degrees! Breakfast was perfect, great choice and fresh. Manager was friendly and gave us tips of where to go for brief walk before catching our coach home. Would happily stay again now we know how close it is to tube / railway stations. Altogether a traditional pub with great accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you can stay a bit longer and enjoy the restaurant and bar as well.

Andie Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked a room here (after researching) with great expectation of something lovely and different. While the room itself was spacious and the bathroom was great- there was something missing. The decor was not interesting- the room seemed a bit unfinished; there were no special touches to set it apart. It was very much just a hotel room and could have been anywhere. Our room overlooked the main street- it was a bit noisy but certainly didnt keep us awake. The breakfast was disappointing- it took forever and when my scrambled eggs eventually arrived they had been burnt. My husband was served the wrong breakfast and had fork poised to mouth when it was whisked away again.But I think most disappointing was that the coffee was served in a thermos. There is no excuse for poor tea or coffee these days. (There was a nespresso pod in the room so luckily could pass on the breakfast coffee)Service was ok- although no one ever answers the phone. We wanted advice on where to park so this might be useful to include. I think during booking and then just before checkin I must have tried a dozen times but the phone rings out. Do not think we would bother to stay at this pub again.Or recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosem558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a bite to eat whilst attending an expo at Olympia across the road. Excellent food and service and a great place to spend an evening. Although I had to leave the event early, my wife stayed for a further night and stayed at the hotel - again, the quality and cleanliness of the room was excellent and very spacious. We'll definitely book this hotel again

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write this review and we really do appreciate the feedback. I'm sure I speak for all of the staff here in saying we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Andie Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Don't let the idea of staying in a pub put you off - this is no ordinary pub! The Hand and Flower is a stunning Victorian pub/hotel within a 2 minute walk from Kensington Olympia tube station. The rooms are very spacious (for London standards) and beautifully appointed with modern furniture - complete with a Nespresso machine! (Coffee lovers will understand my excitement here). Rooms were clean, comfortable and we never had any noise/problems from other guests. Breakfast was wonderful, choice of eggs Benedict, full English, porridge and pastries. If you're lucky enough to grab a bite to eat during the day/evening the food is incredible. It was a little hot during our stay in London (27 degrees!) and with no air-con the rooms did get a little warm, it would have been nice if the Hand and Flower could have provided fans. This however would not put me off coming here again, I honestly can't highly recommend this place enough. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nikkijane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed not only the hotel but the pub and restaurant as well. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Andie Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location is perfect if you are attending Olympia. The room was very nice, very clean and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast, which was included, was also excellent. I had a well prepared English breakfast which was generous in size and flavour.

Now onto some negatives. You need to check in at the down stairs bar. The pub was showing the World Cup so it took over 20 minutes to reach the bar and a further 10 minutes to get the attention of a staff member. The staff were very helpful however, and despite being incredibly busy, offered to take my bags up to the room.

Next negative - the noise. No noise came from the bar despite the football, but the noise from the main street was unbelievable. Lorries and motorbikes screaming up and down the road until I finally got to sleep at 0400.

I would certainly stay there again for the breakfast alone, but I would bring earplugs. On a final note, I really want to reinforce that the staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient considering how busy the bar can be.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed at the Hand and Flower last week as I needed to be at the Olympia Exhibition center early morning the next day. Me and a colleague stayed in one of the 'luxury' twin rooms as the hotel was fully booked so we decided to share. The hotel is located above a very very busy and noisy (but nice) pub - the pub closes at 11pm though so sleep wasn't a problem.

Check in was quick and easy and our bags were carried up to our room for us. I was so surprised by the standard of the room! I thought for the price we paid, it wouldnt be that great but we were wrong. Would rather stay here when I am in London from now on as rooms are much nicer than a Premier Inn or Hilton. Little bit quirky and nice home furnishings made the room very pleasant to stop in.

The pub/hotel is located on a very busy main road but the super thick curtain in the room muffled the noise from outside. The beds were very comfortable and extra pillows and throws were provided. All your usual tea and coffee facilities were available in the room and the bathroom was high quality fixtures and large soft towels.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, served quickly and all cooked really nicely. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Location for the exhibition centre is excellent - literally over the road! We paid £135 for 1 nights B&B for 2 of us, which considering the location is a bargain! Will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. Our hotel is ideal for stays when visiting the Olympia exhibition due to our location and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Andie Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Olympia
#636 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#552 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#63 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Brook Green Hotel
#314 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#452 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Property: Hand and Flower Hotel
Address: 1 Hammersmith Road, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in London
#299 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand And Flower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing