We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean tidy and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
Ranked #414 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean tidy and affordable”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although the location may not be perfect for everyone visiting London, it was straight across the road from Olympia where I was attending an event. I've stayed here a couple of times now and the rooms are ideal for a short stopover in the city. Clean, traditional with a contemporary flair, and a good breakfast and the added bonus of having a Fuller's pub downstairs! I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    127
    41
    19
    8
See reviews for
61
89
12
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were greeted very casually though friendly on arrival. There's no lift which might be worth considering if you'd find pulling a suitcase upstairs any problem. The room was pretty and the bed was comfortable. Tea, sugar and milk was supplied, but no coffee though I'm sure we could have asked for it if wanted. We went down for breakfast at 9.30 and were hurried through it as there was some corporate entertaining about to begin. The English breakfast was OK but the smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagel was just weird - an oversalted tasteless mix on half a soggy bagel. The hotel has some good points but I've stayed in much better places for the money, including the Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review, we value all our guests opinions and take them forward to ensuring that we improve on our very next guests stay. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

WOW... What a delightful experience and Magda is a rock star. All the staff were so kind and personable but her kindness and attention to detail was so greatly appreciated. The food was a gastronomic delight... not typical pub grub. Yes Fish & Chips... Bangers & mash or a pie of the day are available but many other choices that should please the most discriminating palate with great detail given to the presentation as well as the preparation. Only tip if you have difficulty navigating steps this isn't the location for you... No lift or air. With regard to no AC... Large oscillating fans are provided that do a fine job of cooling. A delightful experience great location as it is very easy to navigate with bus routes and the Olympia Kensington train close by. When I return to London, this will be my first choice for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi and thanks for a fantastic review, we're so happy to be hearing so many amazing comments from our guests. Magda is indeed our 'Rock Star' and she will take great pride in seeing her name mentioned. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked in with the wife to attend the beer festival and this is the closest accommodation to the venue. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a reasonable size bathroom. The staff were very helpful and check in was quick even though the pub was busy. Access to the rooms is via a separate entrance, so you don't need to go through the pub. One grumble about the entrance was it was constantly blocked by drinkers standing in the doorway or sitting on the step. People did move out of the way with no fuss, but it may disconcerting for some. The bouncer for the pub did try and keep the entrance clear.

The room was very warm (26 degrees), but the windows only open a couple of inches (probably to stop people falling out). There was a remote controlled fan (nice gadget) that helped keep us cool while sleeping. Noise is not too bad considering it is over the pub on a main road. The pub noise was not intrusive, so the traffic noise could be the challenge for any light sleepers (not me).

The main downside in the room was the lack of storage space. There is no wardrobe just three hooks for coats with two coat hangars and no cupboards or bedside drawers. We were travelling light, so it was not a major issue, but if you intend to stay for a week or more be warned space is a premium.

Breakfast was very good with freshly cooked eggs, good quality ingredients e.g. Herby sausages, thick hash brown and crispy bacon. They were out of black pudding in this occasion, so may be next time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will use the pub again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower during next years Great British Beer Festival.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really wanted to like this small inn above a pub, but as we stayed in late July and with no air and very little airflow it was completely unbearable. The weather was low 80's F / high 20's C which was apparently unusually warm. It did cool off at night, but this only helped a little as the rooms have no way to air out. We really should have left, but hotels were very full when we visited and we needed a 'family room' that slept 4. The last night was the worst and we slept with bags of ice next to us to get through.

The staff was very helpful otherwise and the food in the pub was excellent. The rooms are quiet, and the pub is family friendly. The location is ok but not great. The area felt safe and we walked at night as a family. There is a movie theater and restaurants within walking distance. The pub is located a half block from the Kensington Olympia tube station but this station is not on the line that goes to the main tourist sites (Buckingham Palace/Big Ben/Tower of London). You have to transfer, which can take longer at some times of day then taking the 10-15 min walk to Kensington High St . Station which has more direct access. The tubes also have no air and a 20-30 min ride to the sites gets uncomfortable quickly. Most places we went were on the district line between South Kensington and Westminster. When arriving we took the tube from Heathrow to Earls Court and made 2 small transfers to get to Olympia. The full trip took over an hour.

The inn is a bit worn down with badly stained carpet but the bathrooms were in a good shape and the paint fairly fresh. We stayed in 2 different rooms. The beds were quite comfortable. The shower in one had good pressure and temp, but in the other was poor. Staff is helpful with requests - you need to ask for irons, hair dryer, more soap etc.

The 1st room was in the front of the building and we had to open the window due to heat which subjected us to a flashing neon sign all night.

Room Tip: Do not stay here in July as no air conditioning. Highest floor is hottest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdelePlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one. Summer was extremely kind to London this year with temperature records being broken almost every day. Unfortunately for ourselves we were caught out and unable to purchase any form of portable air conditioning units as they were sold out everywhere in the UK. As good as our staff are and as much as we tried it was unfortunately difficult time for us and we will take appropriate steps to ensure next summer will be much more comfortable for our customers?

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not really a hotel this, more of a pub with about 8 rooms, but if that's what you're after, book up.

The pub on the ground floor has a great atmosphere and the food served is a really good quality. You may expect the rooms to be affected by the noise of both the pub and the road, but it's actually pretty peaceful for a place in the city.

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathrooms a little on the small side but well kept.

Breakfast is very good with a few nice dishes and lots of other choice.

The service I have had was exceptional. Very friendly people and helpful.

One thing to note: If you book a room, you will have to climb a few stairs (maybe 3 sets).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review, our staff are always on hand to make our customers feel at home and you survived the stairs which is a bonus to all out guests!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

First thing to note is that these are rooms belonging to, and above, a pub. The room I had was nicely decorated nicely, in that boutique, home away from home style. Instant good points for me were the Nespresso, the large, very comfortable bed and the relative quiet, given that my room faced the main road. The bathroom looked great, but the shower turned to be pretty poor and the shower screen was far too short to prevent water getting everywhere - so sodden floor after every shower. The room was large but that's because there was no closet, dresser or any other furniture apart from the bed. This didn't bother me as it was only a short stay, but the room would definitely have benefited from having another full-length
mirror. Breakfast was good, with hot traditional eggs, bacon, full English available to order as well as help-yourself cereals, yoghurt and fruit. Staff were very friendly and helpful, I found - happy to oblige with requests for hair dryers, ironing boards, etc. I walked daily to Kensington High St tube station, which took about 10-15 minutes. There were plenty of shops and restaurants along that stretch of road and the area itself was very nice. Overall, I enjoyed the stay, but can't help feeling that a few tweaks and a little more attention to detail (substance over style) would've made it far more outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeemui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to write your review, we work extremely hard to ensure our customers have a happy and pleasant stay when booking with us. We hope you will choose us again in the future and see some of the changes that we have made since you last stayed.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Simply Rooms & Suites
#562 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#656 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Brook Green Hotel
#322 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#462 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Property: Hand and Flower Hotel
Address: 1 Hammersmith Road, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in London
#299 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand And Flower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing