We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortunate find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Ranked #483 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I'm almost surprised at myself that I haven't stayed at Fraser Suites Queens Gate before, but have just returned from a very satisfied stay in an executive suite.

Despite being familiar with the South Kensington area, I was slightly thrown with finding the correct building as there's another Fraser Suites (Stanhope Gardens, for longer term stays) directly opposite on Cromwell Road, and found upon check-in that my confusion wasn't unique. The receptionist was highly efficient and very professionally-mannered in retrieving my booking: although my studio wasn't ready when I arrived at 3pm, it wasn't a problem for me on this particular stay as I just needed to drop my luggage before heading out again.

The executive studio was on the 4th floor facing Cromwell Road. Despite some complaints about the traffic noise in some of the preceding reviews, I didn't notice this at all and the windows have been sound-proofed.

The quality of the furnishings exceeded my expectations, the standard of cleanliness is high, the layout of the suite provided a (bonus) kitchenette and seating area in a separate room, the bathroom was generously proportioned with a big walk-in shower, and the WiFi connection was reliably fast.

I don't usually use much of a hotel's facilities and had skipped breakfast on this visit. However, I was impressed by the choices in the room service menu (which are available until 1am), especially as this is not always a priority offering in other serviced apartment establishments.

I'd very happily return for another stay and am already looking up availability for a longer stay later this year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DubaiCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 618 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Europe. We went to London & Berlin.
Our stay in London at the Fraser suites Queens Gate was our best
accommodation by far!! My wife had stayed here 3 years ago on business
& loved the location. We were happy to see the entire building had
been renovated. Wifi worked really well & breakfast was pretty decent.
Our check in was fairly smooth. We had arrived a bit early to Check in
(4pm) around 2pm & our room was ready. Staff served us with a smile.
We booked a studio and had a kitchenette and had a great mattress,
important as my wife had back surgery recently! Highly recommend this
place as 2 min walk to V&A museum and about 1 min walk to Piccadilly
line Gloucester think the stop is. And we took the tube directly to
Heathrow from there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We recently stayed in this apartment/hotel and found everything about it first class from the very warm welcome quite late at night to the very efficient check out. The decor of the establishment is fresh and bright, WiFi works without a hitch and the fact that the guests laundry is well equipped and available 24 hours a day is superb. Our room was well equipped enabling us to eat in whenever we wanted. Fantastic location ...will recommend it to any friends who might be travelling to London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed there with my sister and family from Jan 1-4, and Jan 6-7, 2014. Loved the new apartment hotel room style with a kitchenette area for us to wash/cook some meals. Nicely designed apartment, the deco and colors scheme. The bath room/standing shower is very well designed as well (rain shower) and the amenites used are very nice (L'OCCITANE). nice size and easy to bring away. location is very near the tube station - Gloucester Road Station (from Heathrow Airport as well)..
the lobby is very refreshing and created a homely ambience.
will come back and stay with Frasers for sure.

Room Tip: new apartment hotel style, new deco in a nice area, Kensington
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasien, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Ray Hua,

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your feedback.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Fraser Suites Queens Gate.

Kind Regards
Bobby Borislavova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My friend and I travelled highly excited from Switzerland to London. When we checked in to Fraser Suites in Queens gate garden the hotel seemed nice. Although our apartment on the 5th floor weren't very clean. After one night in the apartment I realized something had bitten me. I develop a skin eruption. Immediately we called the reception as we thought first it were fleas. They promised to upgrade us into another room as soon as possible (which took them 2 hours!!). They apologized and told us we might have brought the fleas by our self, probably from the airport. Because of my really bad skin eruption we decided to go to the nearest hospital. The doctor checked me and diagnosed BED BUGS bites! Urghhh!!! I couldn't believe myself! The doctor also asked me if I'm staying in a hostel?! I was disgusted and absolutely upset. I informed the reception and gave them the doctors confirmation. Again, they apologized and said it is strange as they refurnished the hotel 6 months ago. We asked for our money back, all we got was the money of the stay in the bed bug room. I had to speak with the manager of fraser suites (who by the way, and I really hope he's gonna read it, don't even speak English fluently!) Ach, it was an horrible stay at the hotel. The bed sheets of the new room were dirty and one night the heat didn't work. We had to call the reception two times to get a external heater. Additionally the TV didn't work properly. The rest of the people who worked there were mostly unfriendly (or didn't even speak English) apart from one old man who works during night. He was a very gentle and nice man. I hope he doesn't have bed bugs either. So all in all, if you're not afraid of bed bugs and you don't mind an unfriendly environment you should consider booking the hotel. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank J X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasien, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear JX,

We appreciate and are thankful for the concern and awareness of all our guests.
First and foremost I would like to stress on the fact this was an isolated incident.
This is not a problem we take lightly and we have acted on it immediately . Our contracted Pest Control company visited and thoroughly checked your apartment and the rest of the property. Evidence of bed bugs was found only in the apartment you stayed in. It was not until we made sure this apartment was treated and cleaned properly before we put it back in inventory.
Please be assured that we have taken all your comments on board and and we have investigated the problems you mentioned.
We do sincerely apologise if we have made your stay uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for a week over Christmas and would highly recommend. Our room had a kitchenette which was handy. It was a very comfortable room. Close walk to V&A,natural history museums and we also walked to harrods. Gloucester Rd station is very close by and the three underground lines which ran throughout it connected us almost everywhere. Staff are also friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pial255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked an executive suite on the most flexible and highest priced rate. As such I expected so much more from this hotel. I will start with the positives. The location is very convenient with shops on Gloucester Road and associated transport options only 5 minutes walk away. South Kensington is posh, prim and postcard London. The desk manager Vijay tried to help me with the myriad of faults here and was patient and proactive. He is an asset to Fraser Suites and suits a better property. Without him this would fall to a one star review.

Upon arrival I saw that I had been assigned a lower ground floor apartment. I was surprised as given I had booked the most expensive accommodation level I thought they would be at least above ground. I was invited to see two apartments on the lower ground and both were dark and unpleasant. I was told nothing else was available as arriving guests had pre booked rooms. However I was told I could not pre book a high floor room myself so I don't quite understand that. I declined to be housed underground for over $400 a night and sat in reception working out my options. It then became apparent by accident that I was being checked into a lower grade room for a higher grade rate. Not a deliberate attempt to rip me off but a mistake that was annoying and inconvenient. I was told there were two other rooms available and shown one on the first floor. It had daylight and I said yes as much out of relief.

The apartment was a high ceiling space with a mezzanine bedroom. It is all open planned and for one person was okay but if sharing would lack privacy. My issues:

Dark grey walls, dark timber and intractable curtains render it dark all day.
Poorly equipped kitchenette with no proper oven or dishwasher
Drafty room impossible to keep warm
Noisy reverse cycle air conditioning that I had to turn off to sleep
No service on public holidays (why not? every other hotel has housekeeping on Xmas)
Small TV mounted too high on the wall and uncomfortable to watch
Cheap bathroom fittings with a very narrow shower and again a cold room hard to heat. The toilet seat was at the point of departure from this world.
Horrible bed that was old and lumpy. Unacceptable at this price point.
The room i had is higher than it is wide - it is like a high and narrow shoe box and not cosy or pleasant.

The icing on the cake came when I had to check out early due to storms in the UK and travel disruption. I was told they would dock me for £237 as I had not given 48 hours notice. I'm sorry but on a flexible rate every hotel in the world allows an amendment to the number of nights once you have checked in. It left a really bad taste and combined with a poor quality room for the money has killed off Fraser Suites for me. A shame as I am big traveller for work and had scoped this out as an option. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ozplod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#148 of 1,081 in London
951 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,081 in London
1,044 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#369 of 1,081 in London
1,215 reviews
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#488 of 1,081 in London
207 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Queens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Queens Gate

Address: 39B Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5RR, England (Formerly Fraser Place Queens Gate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Business Hotel in London
#311 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $198 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Queens Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Suites Queens Gate has chic Studios and One-Two bedroom apartments with kitchenettes and a laundry facility. The Natural History Museum, Knightsbridge stores and the V&A Museum are close by. Every apartment has stylish decor, with a seating and dining area. Features include cable TV and Free wireless broadband. A kitchenette in each accommodation is equipped with a fridge, microwave, utensils and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a daily housekeeping service and weekly linen changes with l'Occitane toiletries. The facilities at Fraser Suites Queens include 24-hour Reception with concierge services, a lobby Bar, breakfast lounge, secluded outdoor terrace, buiness centre with iPads, a meeting room with natural daylight and a state of the art Gym. The Royal Albert Hall, Harrods and Hyde Park can be reached with a 10-minute walk. Gloucester Road Tube Station is across the road and has a direct link to Heathrow Airport via the Piccadilly Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraser Suites Queens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Queens Gate Hotel London
Fraser Place Queens Gate London
Fraser Suites Queens Gate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing