We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Ranked #430 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for six nights last week. Check was fast and efficient, the room was just brilliant and the location is excellent. Normally when you stay in a major city like London, Paris or Hong Kong the room is the size of a tea bag! At these apartments we had a separate living room to the bedroom and the bathroom was just enormous. OK the kitchen is quite minimal but we were not planning on cooking while on holidays. It did us just fine for breakfast. There are two good supermarkets within a three minute walk, a great pub ( had the best fish and chips) and numerous eating / restaurant options. Plus the tube station is also 4 minutes walk away. Yes, i could be picky as the place has just been renovated, but overall I would score my stay at the Fraser Suites Queens Gate ten out of ten.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank notsahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    202
    80
    37
    13
See reviews for
169
181
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Newly reopened after extensive refurbishment. Management still very green and disorganised . Room cleaning patchy, beware of building contractors who enter rooms unannounced and without the knowledge of the management. Bar not open despite claims to that effect in their website.
Great location, good pubs and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Hotel itself and room are nice, despite the smell of paint, and builders items left around the property. The room was well equipped, but only came with ONE coffee sachet? However the property has no warmth or charm. Everything is clinical, and looking not finished. The breakfast range and choice is probably the worse I have come across. The entire selection for everyone comprised 4 small (8cm) croissants , 4 small (4cmx4cm) Pain au chocolat, 4 flapjacks and 4 biscuits. There were 2 or 3 inedible bread rolls and one muffin in a sellophane bag. There was a still shrink-wrapped ham and cheese plate which looked un appetising.. and a self vend "Dowe Ebgerts" coffee machine. I would go back, but I would not go out of my way to stay there. Likewise a Coffee and Cake in Starbucks would have done better for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Aust
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fraser Suites a recently renovated hotel literally 3 minutes walk from Gloucester Street Tube Station has a great location in a very upmarket neighbourhood very handy to a number of food outlets.

Upon arrival the charming ladies on reception make you feel very welcome and are helpful with suggestions re sightseeing and things we may need to know about the hotel. Our room 413 was very well appointed with all the self catering kitchen items you could need. Technically our room consisted of bathroom, bedroom, small entrance hall and another room with kitchen, lounge TV area and a small table and chairs.Wifi is included and works very well.

Had we paid for breakfast we'd have been very disappointed. After 1 month on the holiday trail with nights at numerous hotels throughout Spain and London the breakfast experience at Fraser Queensgate would be the worst. Amazing considering Fraser Suites Champs Eylsee Paris had a great buffet breakfast with a lot of choice.

Whilst no hot food the continental breakfast was ordinary at best. 1st morning we had to request the orange juice be replenished as it was too low to drip anything from the tap, 2nd morning the coffee in the Espresso machine had run out, all gone, no more. Third morning orange juice again too low for tap to work. A small bowl of very ordinary fruit, three more bowls of supermarket canned fruit, a plate of cheese slices and a plate of ham each covered in glad wrap.

It was disappointing, the young girl in attendance for the breakfast probably needs some training on watching the food and drink levels, we actually saw people walk in, inspect the breakfast offering and walk back out. Just about all of the limited offerings were obviously supermarket sourced.

The other disappointment was the luke warm water available for the shower and bath. My wife loves relaxing in a bath after a long day of sightseeing. Thankfully we had a kettle which we could boil to add some hot water to the bath. Another review also commented on the luke warm water, I thought it may have been just room 413. Surprisingly the hot water tap in the wash basin was burning hot.

Apart from the breakfast and bath/shower luke warm water the hotel is a great place to stay, friendly staff and very clean, top location

Room Tip: Any room which will guarantee hot water for the shower/bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnw097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Maybe these suites are a fine place to stay in normal circumstances. However, we booked this suite a few weeks ago based on others rave reviews, and we carefully checked all the information we could find about the place before we booked. Nary a word that they are in major renovations, and the view is completely blocked by scaffolding, and thus you can hear all the street noises from below but can see nothing. The bottom few floors (unoccupied, which we found out about due to a fire alarm and non-working elevator) are filled with dust and drywall (torn apart for renovation), and the room smells of paint, and we are all getting sick, perhaps from the combination of the paint and the dust. No break on the price, no warning that this was going to be the case, nothing. Totally unprofessional not to warn potential guests of the situation at the hotel.

Some other quirks (that will live beyond the renovations). There is no bath, and it is impossible to keep the water from the shower from leaking all over the floor, no matter how hard you try, due to the way the shower door is constructed. Also, when you step out of the shower, the toilet is right there, you have to do a careful sidestep to avoid a wet nasty surprise.

The surrounding area is great.

Room Tip: Make sure the renovations are over and the scaffolding is removed and all the construction is cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter & I stayed here in Nov/Dec 2001. It is in a great position, close to the tube station, shops, cafes and museums. The weather was freezing but we were never cold in our room. It was great to have cooking facilities. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom could have done with a little bit of a spruce up, but I see that the whole hotel has been renovated anyway. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. We have booked in again this October, this time for 3 of us, and are very much looking forward to being in our " London home " again ! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've stayed in two different flats here and LOVED it both times. We have two young girls, who were as young as 7 and as old as 11 when we visited...the flats were perfect for us both times. First of all, the location is *spectacular* -- one block from the Gloucester Road Tube station, and a few short blocks to the Kensington station. Countless restaurants & bakeries nearby, and a Waitrose grocery store, which was helpful for restocking water, beverages, snacks for the room...and of course, so close to several museums.

We stayed in a room w/ a loft the first year (winter time)...the got drafty, but it was fine. Next time (during the Olympics), it was hot, but the A/C worked well. We stayed on the first floor in the far back -- I think this is the largest room on the property. Huge, high-ceiling living room (with pull-out couch for the kids), and we had our own bedroom. Very spacious. Full kitchen, with microwave, small fridge, small stove.

Oh - two more things -- the first time, they offered breakfast in the room rate. It was delicious and offered many choices for picky eaters. During the Olympics they did not, and we missed it!
Second -- there are many addresses with "Queensgate" in the name. Have the *address* handy for any taxi rides home!

This is our home-away-from-home in London. We love it here and highly recommend it for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxiemango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#344 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#428 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#514 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Queens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Queens Gate

Property: Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Address: 39B Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5RR, England (Formerly Fraser Place Queens Gate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#276 Family Hotel in London
#290 Romantic Hotel in London
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#303 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Queens Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Suites Queens Gate has chic Studios and One-Two bedroom apartments with kitchenettes and a laundry facility. The Natural History Museum, Knightsbridge stores and the V&A Museum are close by. Every apartment has stylish decor, with a seating and dining area. Features include cable TV and Free wireless broadband. A kitchenette in each accommodation is equipped with a fridge, microwave, utensils and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a daily housekeeping service and weekly linen changes with l'Occitane toiletries. The facilities at Fraser Suites Queens include 24-hour Reception with concierge services, a lobby Bar, breakfast lounge, secluded outdoor terrace, buiness centre with iPads, a meeting room with natural daylight and a state of the art Gym. The Royal Albert Hall, Harrods and Hyde Park can be reached with a 10-minute walk. Gloucester Road Tube Station is across the road and has a direct link to Heathrow Airport via the Piccadilly Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Queens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Queens Gate Hotel London
Fraser Place Queens Gate London
Fraser Suites Queens Gate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing