We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Ranked #418 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Located well”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Fraser Place is a two minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station making it easy to get to from Heathrow as well as making it easy to get into central London once you are there. The accommodation was spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast provided was basic but did the job. In room wifi worked well and was free. The only criticism I would have is the basement apartment we were in felt like we were in a bunker. Not a lot of natural light or air. But overall, after a month of travelling around similar types of accommodation across Europe, Frasers was not too bad.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasien, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Dean M,


Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, the apartment spacious and clean and that the location of our property was so convenient for you. I sincerely hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bobby Borislavova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    202
    79
    37
    13
See reviews for
169
180
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Location:
Geniusly located between South Kensington and Gloucester Underground stations. A beautiful, quiet area to return to after a long day of sightseeing. Many fabulous ethnic and local restaurants to chose from all around, fun pubs, small markets, bakeries, several free national museums, all within a stone-throw away, and not to mention just a 10 minute-walk from Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. Really an ideal geographical location that is easy to get to by tube from anywhere in London (Heathrow Airport takes under 40 minutes by tube on the Piccadilly line).

Room:
We booked a small studio apartment that included continental breakfast in the recently updated dinning room which served fresh pastries and fruits, as well as other yummy breakfast staples. Our room faced Cromwell Rd, and although I was worried the street noise would be an issue, it really wasn't, even during early morning traffic, not a car horn was heard.

Perks:
TV with cable access to numerous channels, iPod loading dock with speakers and surprisingly reliable free WiFi. Kitchenette was conveniently tucked away behing folding doors and stocked with complementary teas.

Staff:
Also to be noted, the staff was very polite and efficient. Before completing the booking process online, we had sent an email to the hotel, to which a staff member promptly replied, answering all of our inquiries. And a few days after actually booking, the same staff member returned a new email to us, thanking us for booking with them. Now that kind of personalized attention made chosing this place an easy decision...that we did not regret one bit.

Room Tip: There are basement rooms in this hotel, so if this is a turn-off (as it is for myself), make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cap1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasien, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Cap 1976,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the location convenient, the staff polite and helpful, and the breakfast tasty.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Fraser Place Queens Gate in the future, especially after the complete refurbishment of the property, scheduled to end in March 2013.

Kind Regards,
Bobby Borislavova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We are so disappointed with this hotel. The room is old and dirty. The mattress is saggy and my side of the bed smells like vomit. The flooring is creaky and not level so the bathroom door slams shut and any water on the vanity surface runs down and drips on the feet when the basin is used. The bathtub is so old the enamel is worn away. The rubber shower mat is black with age. The towels are threadbare and grey. The basin is filthy with mould the kitchenette is doors don't close properly. The Internet which is charged by the hour or week is intermittent as well as cell phone coverage. The breakfast is not worth getting up for. And payment is demanded in advance!!! No wonder as one look at the room and a hasty exit would follow.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ioete11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

The apartment style of Fraser Place works well. The bachelor style apartment we were given was spacious and clean. The location is perfect, being close to an underground station commuting was a breeze. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

If I had to fault anything it would be the bathroom. The shower was leaky, causing puddles on he floor, and the hot water was temperamental at times.

I would definitely return to Fraser Place in future.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mubeen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Mubeen G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. I am very pleased that you found the location of Fraser Place Queens Gate convenient and our staff friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to welcoming you back after the refurbishment of our property, scheduled to start in November 2012 and complete in March 2013.

Kind Regards,
Bobby Borislavova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Perfect apartment with a lovely view and perfect location near the tube and everything you need ,pharmacy restaurants ,etc. the receptionist was friendly and very helpful. well come again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasien, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear MGM 1980,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that the location of our property was so convenient for you. I sincerely hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bobby Borislavova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two weeks here, the location is truly great. The building was larger than I expected with many rooms.
The hotel was clean and rooms spacious but the bathrooms need a lot of attention and unfortunately let the hotel down.
We were given an apartment on the second floor at first that had a separate kitchenette however the two burner electric hot plate needed to be strategically removed from a drawer, we found this inconvenient along with another issue and were given a modern room with proper kitchenette for the rest of our stay. This would not have been an issue had we been staying for a shorter period.
Free laundry facilities are a bonus but only one dryer to two washers caused a back log. No local launderettes.
Most staff were friendly and helpful, some appeared unable to smile. Thomas was very cheerful and made up for others.
A busy little hub for weekend travelers from other parts of Europe. It is noisey at times but not as noisey as some other places we could have chosen. Request a back room to eliminate this.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank babushkapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasien, General Manager at Fraser Suites Queens Gate, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Babushkapat,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We take all comments seriously and the points you raised have been communicated to the relevant departments and necessary action was taken to improve the laundry and kitchenette facilities. I am also glad that our location was so convenient for you and that you found our apartments clean and spacious.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future at Fraser Place Queens Gate.

Kind Regards,
Bobby Borislavova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I did a lot of research to find a nice place to stay in easy reach of the science and natural history museums. Location wise Fraser Place Queens Gate was perfect. Literally just around the corner from both and just round the corner to Gloucester Road tube station too.

On arriving the two receptionists only responded after I said hello but were friendly after that and the gentleman who was on in the evening was lovely and enthusiastic!

I had requested to not be on the ground or basement floor but we were still put on the basement floor. To be fair, I had only booked the day before so I didn't mind too much and the receptionist was very apologetic.

Our standard studio apartment was a decent size and just the right amount of modern yet cosy. The only thing I'd like to complain about is the fact that our room (lower ground 6) was right on the main road and did not have double glazing. I am a very light sleeper so unfortunately woke up multiple times throughout the night due to traffic/loud people passing.It is for this reason I think it unfair that this room is the same price as others.

The bathroom was lovely and large and I loved the scent of the shower gel! Towels were nice and fluffy and the water out of the shower was fine keeping hot and at a decent pressure too. Only thing i'll mention about the bath tub is that it does not have a flat bottom so I probably should have put down the grip mat that was provided....

I found the double bed comfy and the pillows comfy too. I can see why others might not though as the mattress is quite firm and the pillows the same as they are not feather pillows. But, as I like a firm bed and pillows I was happy.

The TV was a good size for the room and had a DVD player. The DVD player was a little slow at loading DVDs though.

Tiny kitchen area but had everything you'd need. Storage was great, plenty of drawers and cupboard space for clothes etc. Had a desk as well as a lovely glass dining table and I like the wooden blinds on the windows.

Overall I thought our apartment was rather expensive considering no double glazing on a main road and the size but it was in a perfect position for what we wanted to visit and had a modern yet cosy design.

Room Tip: Request to not be on the ground or basement floor as no double glazing. Maybe ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
2 Thank Eeasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#176 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#345 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#425 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#499 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Queens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Queens Gate

Property: Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Address: 39B Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5RR, England (Formerly Fraser Place Queens Gate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#276 Family Hotel in London
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
#290 Romantic Hotel in London
#303 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Queens Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Suites Queens Gate has chic Studios and One-Two bedroom apartments with kitchenettes and a laundry facility. The Natural History Museum, Knightsbridge stores and the V&A Museum are close by. Every apartment has stylish decor, with a seating and dining area. Features include cable TV and Free wireless broadband. A kitchenette in each accommodation is equipped with a fridge, microwave, utensils and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a daily housekeeping service and weekly linen changes with l'Occitane toiletries. The facilities at Fraser Suites Queens include 24-hour Reception with concierge services, a lobby Bar, breakfast lounge, secluded outdoor terrace, buiness centre with iPads, a meeting room with natural daylight and a state of the art Gym. The Royal Albert Hall, Harrods and Hyde Park can be reached with a 10-minute walk. Gloucester Road Tube Station is across the road and has a direct link to Heathrow Airport via the Piccadilly Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Queens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Queens Gate Hotel London
Fraser Place Queens Gate London
Fraser Suites Queens Gate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing