We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and lovely hotel, we would recommend.”
Review of Golden Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Star Hotel
Ranked #474 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cozy and lovely hotel. Services were good, room and shower were clean. Located in a very good place,so you can easily walk to most of the important places of London by foot. Breakfast were modest, but always on time and warm. This hotel fulfilled our expectations, I we would recommend it for those who are not spoiled.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Giedrė I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 359 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Was not what we expected. Couldn't hardly close the bathroom door because the space inside was so small that there was no room for you legs when you were sitting down. Light was not working in the bathroom. Looked really unclean. There was a toilet standing in the hallway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The "hotel" was an apartment building with 3 floors, and a shared bathroom for all floors. The bathroom was very unclean, and the toilet was blocked for our entire stay. The shower was also unclean and you had to tell the man in charge in advance if you wanted to take a shower so the water could be heated. There was no reception, they couldnt find my booking, there was no proper payment system, they only accepted cash to pay for the hotel stay. The room wasn't ready on time even though we came 2 hours after check-in began. They had lost the key to our room so we needed to wait even longer until we could go there. The only thing positive about this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After staying in the hotel for two nights and get over the fact there is an unplumbed toilet as you walk through the entrance, no reception desk, stained floors and things you wouldn't find in the best western next door. You find a few other things wrong with it.. The rooms where cold. The bathrooms had a very odd smell.. The showers leaked all over the floor in the crawl space of a bathroom (which didn't have a sink because the sink was in the main room). There was no toilet roll or towels.. (We booked two rooms one had towels, one didn't, one had toilet roll and the other didn't). The lights where dodgey and flickered and had burnt out bulbs. And breakfast (as promised was brought to your room for you (which we passed upon for this reason)
BUT.... The guys where friendly (at times apart from talking in Their language to each other when checking us in) and the bed was really Soft and comfy so I had a good nights sleep, even if the bed was being held up by a paint can.
And it's close to Victoria station and Buckingham palace and if you're a walker you can walk as far as the London eye within a good time scale.

Overall it's cheap.. It's basic so if your in London for a night on a budget it's fine. I'm sure this is cheaper/better hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dckohben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#521 of 1,077 in London
386 reviews
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#768 of 1,077 in London
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#633 of 1,077 in London
1,573 reviews
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#380 of 580 in London
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Hotel

Address: 75 Warwick Way, London SW1V 1QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $45 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Golden Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing