We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better of Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western London Highbury
Ranked #532 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I expected better of Best Western”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

For a recently refurbished hotel from a major chain, I was disappointed.

The room seemed grubby; it may not actualyl have been dirty but the bedside chair was a bit tattered and torn, the curtain was hanging down a one end and, what may have been an indicator of much worse things, the electrical certificate on the towel rail had expired three months previously.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B1iggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    231
    113
    25
    17
See reviews for
152
111
36
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, very reasonably priced for London, and spotlessly clean, lovely staff, a great base for seeing the sites of London. Transport directly outside the Hotel, with bus route running to many major attractions. Tube about 10 minutes walk. Finsbury park opposite, which would be great in the summer. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I dare say there are better hotels with more facilities but for the money this is a bargain, and we will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel, except it was after away from the underground than we expected (10-15 min walk). Rooms were great, we got a family room for four adults and it was huge for English standards. Fantastic breakfast in the morning and great service at the front desk. They helped us get taxis, information, and even find a lost iPhone. Couldn't be more impressed with the service and the beds were very comfortable. Make sure you ask for ground or lift floor if you have trouble with stairs. Would certainly stay here again, but the walk to the subway was long in the cold, especially because we had a cancer patient with us who was worn out by the end of the day. For prices of hotels in London, this is a great value for a 4 adult room. Also included free wifi, tea and coffee, tv, hair dryer. In section 2 of subway nearest Finsbury Park.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room was very clean, nicely furnished. A bit small, but thats to be expected in London.

Breakfast was ok, just basic continental. But for extra £2 it wasnt too bad.

Surrounding area isnt very nice, so i wouldnt recommend walking anywhere at night - get a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight in October because we wanted a place to sleep after attending a dinner dance nearby.
I was torn between giving three or four stars and would have given three and a half if I could have.
First the positives: a clean, refurbished room with all basic amenities; a decent if rather unexciting breakfast; the offer of complimentary basic toiletries if you dont have them (toothbrush, shaver etc);good value for money
Now the negatives: the welcome was a little lukewarm and rather stiff (the staff need training in how to be warmer and more welcoming and engage in just a little more polite conversation); the £10 charge for parking, which we were not informed of before we arrived; room very small, but I guess it was London; breakfast and checkout too early after a late night; we had a front room so the "Best Western" light above the building was a bit bright while we were trying to sleep (blackout curtains would have been welcomed)
All in all, I am being generous in giving 4 stars, but on balance, we had a reasonably comfortable if rather uninspiring stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My daughter & I were at our second visit to the hotel in May 2012.
We were staying there for two nights midweek while she yet again saw an eye consultant at MOorfields. We were welcomed back with such smiles and an upgrade to an "apartment". Not only was this a two roomed /hall/bathroom suite last last time we were put into an apartment with our own entrance. There was a large kitchen diner/tv/leather sofas / beautiful laminate. Two bedrooms one with balcony ( i had this!) and my daughters had a french window opening. As usual the staff wer on hand to answer any queries we had instantly.Nothing could be too much trouble for them, they actually said they were there to ensure we had the most comfort and best experience available. There were full of advice for transport, restaurants, safetly for two young ladies travelling in london too. We had wanted to visit again soon but unfornately my father died 7 days after returning to wirral & my mother had breast cancer. So travel is posponed for now! I would not hesitate to return to this hotel, clean, efficient, reliable, safe, welcoming. I recommend for business travellers, families with children, couples.
It is a gentle 10 mins walk to finsbury park tube. If it is raining you can get a number of buses from outside the hotel. there is a massive park directly over t he hotel road if you want to "chill" or have a picnic. Far enough to have lots of greenery but close enough to get into centre of london quickly. I will return.

Room Tip: My rooms wer at back and side - pretty quiet in comparison to the main road i would assume
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Used as a base to be near to Tubes & Family follwing a trip to the football this weekend...it worked perfectly for us. Only blot being one of the "clean towels", left for use by my son or I, wasn't ! Breakfast was missed as 9.30am deadline on a Sunday morning far too early for us after an evening celebrating a good away victory !!!
Genuine friendly welcome, and a welcome cup of tea for us all after our evening meal in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroBoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimmaiah G, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

Regards


Thimmaiah Gummatira
Cluster General Manager
BestWestern London Highbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Queens Hotel
#659 of 1,068 in London
215 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#897 of 1,068 in London
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Lodge Hotel
#389 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#502 of 1,068 in London
1,014 reviews
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western London Highbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western London Highbury

Property: Best Western London Highbury
Address: 372-374 Seven Sisters Road, London N4 2PG, England (Formerly Costello Palace Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western London Highbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western London Highbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London Highbury Hotel London
Best Western London Highbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing