We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$371
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
$155
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$321
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$128
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$220
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$264
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,064
$843
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
39
101
140
63
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
101
140
63
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull english breakfastnear paddington stationa ground floor roomlondon eyetubekettle
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 408 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here, reasonably simple and budget accomodation with the exception of the BED BUGS! Very quickly my partner and I were covered in huge welts, bites and caught several bugs crawling around in the bed.

We told management, who did offer some reimbursment, albeit very reluctantly and inadequete to cover the cost of the money lost for having to find new accomodation, the time and money spent washing and drying all of our belongings. I am sure that from other trip advisor reviews and the reaction of management that this is an ongoing problem, and they seem frankly quite disinterested in rectifying it.

I recommend spending more pounds, and saving yourself the hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 392Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here three times in the run in the Christmas whilst working at St Mary's nearby. Great value hotel considering it includes full English breakfast and wireless broadband (stayed in the nearby Marriot later in my stay - 5x the price and wireless a "bargain" at GBP15 pd... If you set your expectations correctly (it isn't going to be the Ritz: expect clean but a little worn and a small, prefabbed en suite unit) you can't go far wrong. Staff were excellent too, letting me leave my smallish suitcase at reception prior to check in. I sometimes wonder what people expect from a hotel when they are paying lower quartile provincial hotel rates for a room five minutes walk from Tony Blair's gaff...

Room Tip: No views from the rear rooms, if that's important to you. Upper rooms attract less passing noise but you will have to carry your bags up.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for a night December 2012 with our two small children. Room was quite clean and functional. No lift :-(. Nothing worse than lugging suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. Staff friendly and helpful and held luggage for us which was nice ( & extremely handy). Breakfast good but restaurant very cramped. Quite a lot of noise from street traffic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onescratchycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
London
1
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I could put up with the fact that the Hotel's hallway looked unkempt, with bits that had been painted over in a hurry that should have been tidied up first. We put up with the cold tap giving hot water, and the hot tap giving cold, and also the fact that one of the taps could twist around on the sink. The water damaged ceiling above one of the beds and the mould stains in the bathroom were not attractive, but I could even overlook this, because the family did actually enjoy the breakfast - although having to go next door but one for it was not the best way to start the day. I could put up with all of this if it were not for one thing. My daughter accidentally left her teddy bear in the room, when we left and didn't mention it for a week. When we rung up the Astoria, we were told that they had looked but couldn't find it and that they would probably have thrown it away. What kind of people would do this?
yes , I admit, we should have re-checked, we thought we had! but things do get left in hotel rooms and I would have expected a call , or an email, just to say "would you like your teddy back?"
In my opinion, Avoid this hotel like the plague, this does not seem to be a place that cares about it's guests!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews