We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #198 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Standards slipping”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed a lot in Premier Inn in the past but this hotel experience was well below the standard of previous stays (in other branches of Premier Inn).
When I checked in there were two people on the reception desk, one on the phone and one asleep. When I caught the eye of the woman on the phone and indicated the guy asleep next to her she looked over at him and grinned.
My room had a stained and dirty carpet (although bed linen was fresh and clean) and I've just had breakfast where the scrambled egg was stone cold.
Premier Inn simplifies and reduces the price of a hotel stay but it has to get the smaller number of services it does offer right - my previous experience has been that it does - but not here on this stay.
Standards are slipping.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank hedgert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    794
    158
    46
    25
See reviews for
817
627
74
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A good hotel in a central location for the shows we were in London to attend ( at the O2 and Piccadilly Theatre ), and near to good transport locations for connections to main line stations. In a quiet location with a good number of restaurants in the immediate area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I booked one family room for one night. The hotel is ideally located for the Tower of London and surrounding attractions and is a short underground ride into the city. We were greeted with friendliness and were shown a room in the quiet area of the hotel - which was brilliant given that we had our 8 year old son with us. The stay was indeed quiet and very comfortable. We decided to book the breakfast at £9.75 each (kids go free), the buffet breakfast was open from 7am til 11am which was great for a Saturday, we had time to get up and take time over it. The breakfast itself was excellent and there was a great choice of food. We were really very impressed with our stay and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

It's not often you'll find a hotel on London you can't fault in anyway at all - but this is it! Room really pleasant, quiet, comfortable bed, good temperature, bathroom pristine (looked like it had never been used!), decent facilities, helpful staff and a good location, all at a reasonable price. I was here with work for a conference and would not hesitate to book this hotel again, it's a real gem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

It is the 2nd time I use this hotel. Located in a quiet area, but a little too close to the rail lines. The hotel is neat and clean, with a nice bar on the 1st floor. There is a direct bus to Covent Garden, only 2-3 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Distance to metro is about 8 minutes. Would recommend this hotel because of price and distance to the nearest attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my other half as we were going to a wedding. We were on the 5th floor and our room was absolutely huge. During the night, there was no noise from other guests, which was suprising for a saturday night. The reception staff were polite and curtious. Definitely would stay here againif we go to london! The only downside is the air con didn't quite compete with the heat, but given all the other pluses, it didn't really matter.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Standard premier inn fare. Room comfortable, slept well, breakfast OK. Location fantastic, short walk from Tower Bridge. View of Shard and The Gherkin from my window.

would recommend for location alone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#149 of 1,069 in London
1,041 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing