We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unexpected suprise”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had read reviews to get an idea of what to expect, and to make a decision between a few options in the area, but the reviews for premier inn tower hill seemed to be fair and reasonable so I decided to to with this one.
I was amazingly suprised. Dont get me wrong, it's a basic hotel, simple and not much too it. I was just in a standard double room. But it was clean, very spacious (have paid a lot of money before for rooms where the bed, my bag, and myself struggle to be in the room at the same time). I was down for an exam, so required something easy, stress free, clean and comfortable. My demands were met and pleasantly exceeded. Nothing amazing happened, just friendly staff and actually receiving the value I was promised. I was very pleased. Honestly the only complaint I have is that now every shower I use will seem inadequate. The shower was so amazing, hot and loads of water good pressure. It is astonishing how hard it is to find a decent working shower in hotels nowadays and this was a very unexpected but pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie_Australia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    768
    149
    45
    22
See reviews for
789
605
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice hotel : Reception staff very friendly and efficient: we had a family room for 4, which was huge, much appreciated. Breakfast was brilliant, staff were friendly but it does seem to get very busy at weekends- queue to go into dining room, and then they ran out of cutlery, mugs, plus various items off the menu! Fine during the week though. Very close to tube station and easy to find. We would stay here again. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLinda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanko, Finland
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here from the 1st of November until the 4th and had a lovely stay.
Service was great. Price was just perfect. Nothing I can complain about. The breakfast was amazing. The location was perfect - found my way around easily - as for being my second time in London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaSjodahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very well located near London Bridge. Very good value hotel. Spacious room and comfortable beds. All very clean and modern. Very copious breakfast. Do recommend to families.close to the tube circle and district line



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 young children.

I wasn't expecting too much, we had only booked the day before and had struggled to find a hotel so we didn't have much choice. Premier Inn wouldn't ordinarily have been my first choice, we usually stay in places that cost more.

What a pleasant surprise, we left bags in left luggage, there is a coffee shop in reception, we ate in the restaurant one night which was adequate and breakfast was good, the kids ate for free at breakfast which made it an absolute bargain. My husband was working for 2 of the days so the kids and I all breakfasted for £8.95.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, a dirty hotel room is one of my major dreads. There were plentiful towels, 4 cups and glasses (something that is often overlooked in a family room) and the beds were extremely comfortable.

The highlight of the hotel however has got to be the staff. The staff that we met (and we met quite a lot over the 3 days) were, without exception, extremely pleasant. They were all helpful and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

Well done Premier Inn, we shall be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_Mul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipsea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a super 3-night stay in lovely large rooms for a family visit to London. Our daughter, husband and two boys had a family room and housekeeping seemed to take extra special care with the little ones' beds. Cuddly toys strategically placed on pillows, etc. A nice touch. Breakfast was excellent and we also enjoyed the 'grab and go' option which was good value for money. We ate dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and no complaints there.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful and we would especially like to mention Beata, in the restaurant, who went even further than the rest. Thank you to her for making our stay even more enjoyable.
A very good location for the Tower, Tower Bridge and river trips plus the bus tours. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again whenever we come back.
Well done, Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#103 Best Value Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing