We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good London value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good London value”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came for the weekend by public transport - easy access by bus 78 or 42 from Liverpool Street Station. We were given room 303 which was huge but the aircon not working so changed to 425 which was smaller and at the back but aircon worked well - almost too well! Good welcome at the desk and everything in the room as you'd expect but a bit of a step up into the shower: the breakfast was as usual good value too but down in the windowless bowels of the hotel. No complaints at all really and the front of house bar and coffee shop was a welcome inclusion.

Room Tip: they are all sealed and air conditioned so noise not a problem but the back probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    783
    156
    46
    25
See reviews for
804
622
74
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, N E Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Travelled by car to London. There is a handy car park nearby at The Minories (300 yards away) just outside the congestion zone. The area itself is fairly quiet, being in the east of "The City". It is very handy for Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, if that's what you want. The rest of London is easily accessible from Tower Hill tube station (600 yards), Aldgate tube station (600 yards), Aldgate East tube station(600 yards), or Tower Gateway DLR (300 yards). There's a Wetherspoons pub just across the road which serves food, or The Minories pub underneath the railway arches near Tower Gateway DLR station. Both reasonably priced, but as they're budget don't expect Cordon Bleu. The hotel is a good example of the Premier Inn chain, good value, clean, with pleasant and friendly staff. Our room was a twin on the third floor at the front and was huge. Shower was great. Don't know whether the guests last weekend were a particularly quiet bunch, but I didn't hear anything when inside our room. Air con worked fine, and kept the temperature down on what was a relatively warm weekend. One slight complaint was the TV. For the size of the room it was too small. Maybe Premier Inn could splash out for a bigger TV to match the room size. Minor gripe though. As described by others the breakfasts are a bit of a scrum. The dining room is a bit small, so be prepared to wait in a queue if the hotel is busy. At breakfast the dining room is full of people trying to consume as many calories as possible, as it's buffet style. This can lead to delays while the poor chefs have to replenish the bacon etc every 5 minutes, as people stack their plates with the equivalent of half a pig. A pet hate of mine is where parents of children pile rashers of bacon on their offspring's plates, only for them to leave more than half of it, as it's clearly too much. Staff at breakfast were yet again friendly and helpful (despite the stress). Overall a very pleasant experience, and I would definitely stay there again. One final comment is a very big thank you to Alan, one of the front of house staff. He went out of his way to help us out when an unexpected problem occurred. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowbelly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a very basic hotel, just what you would expect from a budget brand. It is modern and very clean, with friendly and helpful staff. There is a small bar area in the foyer that serves hot and cold drinks and light snacks, 24 hours a day. Breakfast is served from a well stocked hot and cold buffet, which is open from 0630 to 1030 (I think it is a little later at weekends), so designed to suit all needs! Our bedroom was a reasonable size and the bathroom had a very large shower enclosure with a seat - there was however no bath. The room was quiet and had its own air conditioning unit, so it was easy to get the temperature just how you wanted it. The hotel is just a short walk away from Tower Hill tube station and well placed for Tower Bridge, The Tower of London and The City area. A short tube ride (about 10-15mins) will take you right to the heart of the West End and attractions in central London. Would recommend a stay here if you need a comfortable base for exploring London without the need to pay for an expensive hotel with facilities you will not have time to use!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Can't really fault this hotel. 5 mins walk to Tower Bridge, even closer to the tube. Wetherspoons opposite hotel and in a safe feeling area.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the room and mattress is superb as is the air con.
All this cost £49 on a bank holiday weekend, where else could you find anything like this in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salrycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ok so there wasn't a view but I knew that was a possibility, there is a more expensive hotel opposite and I guess their view was the same. Rooms have triple glazed windows so noise was not an issue, room really clean to a standard that you expect. Our room only had a shower but I was more than happy with that, there was a seat in the shower for anyone less able bodies but I put my toiletries on that as normally there is never anywhere to put them so that was a welcome change.
The thing I like with premier inn is you know exactly what you are getting as they are all the same (I know this puts some off but a day traipsing around London it was a godsend). Nothing was too much trouble and I found all staff I encountered to be friendly and polite. They even have a room to store luggage in case you are early or want to explore london on your last day-this is especially helpful.
All reception staff have flags on their name badge so if you do not speak English you will be able to Identify if you have a common language,
We did have breakfast which was lovely but there are plenty of places around the back streets for you or a wether spoons directly opposite as well.
I would recommend this hotel and will likely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Not a bad location for the district and central lines and the Tower. The staff were nice and friendly and helpful. I wouldn't bother with the breakfast downstairs - in a dim, crowded room with poor ambience; but there is a Wetherspoons just across the road which serves good cheap food. Generally, the hotel is simple and basic. The room Safes did not work when we stayed, which was a concern, but they will keep your valuables behind the reception. No bath in our room but a seat in the shower ! The room was quite big for the three of us and a nice bed for my boy.The telly was ever so tiny. It is 5 minutes walk to the tube.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Clean, nice and friendly hotel, located close to to Tower Hill Underground, Tower of London and Tower Bridge. Good value for London. Breakfast recommended. I liked their Good Night Sleep programme - good matreses, pillows and sheets






























  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaEmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in London
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing