We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

All you would expect from a Premier Inn. Stayed on third floor overlooking DLR. sound proofing is adequate though you will experience a slight rumble but not too distracting. Room, staff and food excellent and a great base for exploring London as close to underground and DLR.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigE1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the review posted on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,230)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for sometime.

This hotel is around the corner from our daughter's apartment. We stayed there on 10 September 2012 and thought it was very good and based on this experience we booked for the three nights from 18 October 2012. We left Boston in the USA on an early morning flight and arrived at the hotel Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill at about 10.00 pm only to be told "we don't have a room for you". I said but I have this email from you dated 13 September 2012 headed "Your booking is confirmed". Initially the young man gave me some cock and bull story about power problems, which I pointed out could not possibly be true as I had more than a passing knowledge of what he was waffling on about given in my younger days I worked for an electrician. I then demanded to see the manager who confirmed they had in fact over booked but would find room for me in another one of their London hotels. I told them the reason we booked the Tower Hill was it was 400 metres from our daughter's apartment and after 15 hours of getting to and from airports and flying I did not want to move to another area and then have to waste more time the next day moving back. In the end I asked them to get me the best rate they could at the place over the road (Grange Tower Bridge Hotel). It was an excellent hotel but a lot more expensive.

I could not get a satisfactory explanation as to why they had overbooked and can only assume that because of our late check in they had assumed we were "no shows". It was just not good enough and I was extremely annoyed after a long day of travelling. I certainly did not appreciate the bovine excreta explanation.

There was no follow up by Premier Inn management. I will be sending them a copy of this review and the booking confirmation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Hasman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Don’t be fooled by the outward appearance of this Premier Inn, it is still very large inside. All the usual you expect from a PI – comfortable bed, decent sized room, easy check-in and 30 minutes of free Wi-Fi.

Unfortunately we were on the second floor directly looking at the trains and despite reasonable soundproofing, the rumble of trains from (let’s say, generously, around 6am) was quite obvious.

Location is decent, five minutes walk from the DLR and Tube, but I wouldn’t rush to stay here again. The Wetherspoons pub across the road is a good size and very good value for a meal at any time.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the back of building, unless you wake up early anyway, need to wake up early or...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise during your stay with us. When booking next time, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel who will gladly allocate a room away from the tracks. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had one night here Thursday 5/9/13. Was able to book the same day due to another guest canceling. Not generally looking for a "budget" hotel but it was last minute and the location was perfect. The hotel is on Prescott St. and less than a 5 minute walk to the Tower of London and a 3 minute walk to the Tower Hill tube stop. The location makes a perfect homebase for the London visitor. Nothing too special about the rooms or service, they are clean the bathrooms were up to date and there is a Costa in the lobby. Again the location is the key to this hotel. If you plan on wandering around London with stops back at the hotel, This is a great choice. There are 2 public parking garages within 200 yards, our cost for 24 hours was 20 pounds.

Room Tip: Our "family room" was a normal room with a trundle bed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review posted on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us at Premier Inn Tower Hill. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A London city centre hotel is always a little hit or miss unless you pay megabucks. Well this hotel is really convenient for the city and tourist attractions like the Tower of London and Tower Bridge.

It's not in an attractive location but the rooms are quiet enough. My room was at the top of the building and had several windows which was good but also made it a little chilly when I visited. The heating was either on (hot) or off (cold) and I opted for hot. Woke up a few times overheating unfortunately.

The restaurant is a little depressing located as it is in the basement. Food was ok and service friendly enough. But the location is a little grim and likely to be populated by sad and tired business types. Use if its raining or you are lazy. There are better places nearby.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the review posted on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the hotel conveniently located close to Tower Of London and Tower Bridge. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for a short family trip to London in April. Found it to be very Clean, and a nice big room with everything you need from a stop off hotel. The staff were welcoming and gave a friendly service. cant fault it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our hotel as your base during your family trip to London. I am very happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the team friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

i have stayed here a number of times and it is reliable clean and well staffed. Choice of food ok and lots of breakfast which is self serve. It is about 10 min walk to Bank and near tower bridge. found the whole experience pretty relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: rooms on lower ground floor are dark and dingy so best avoid also en route to restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphatangoae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review posted on our hotel. As a regular guest, I am very pleased to read you found the hotel and services consistent, and the overall experience enjoyable and relaxed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $102 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing