We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time staying at a premier inn. Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #202 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, Yorkshire, uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time staying at a premier inn. Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in mid march. Reasonable prices and great service from the staff. The room as you might expect was basic but comfy and clean the bathroom was cold and felt like a public convenience due the pump hand soap and cheap chemical smell. All in all a pretty decent place. Tube station is relatively close and so is the DLR station.

Would reccomend this place for someone who knows the tube network relatively well as the hotel isn't too close to the attractions with just tower of London and tower bridge close by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    768
    149
    45
    22
See reviews for
789
605
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Its the first time I have stayed in a Premier Inn and it certainly won't be the last. Absolutely fantastic staff - genuinely friendly and helpful. Excellent sized room (we had a twin room) very clean, ensuite was good size and again super clean. Good breakfast variety and good value - plenty to choose from and tasty. Location is excellent if you are spending anytime in the East end around Liverpool Street, Tower Hill area, literally 5 minutes from Tower Hill tube station. Maybe we were lucky but no noise to disturb us and we were on the front of the hotel as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyrat-de-Bellac, Limousin, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I took 12 people - 10 of them french - to this hotel, I had been to Premier Inns before so knew what to expect, but it was the first time for this one. All of us had a fab room, very comfortable, and a fantastic breakfast in the morning, and all for a very reasonable price compared to other hotels in London. It's not far from the tube station and very close to the Tower and Tower Bridge. The staff were very helpful and let us leave our bags in a spare room on the last day so we could enjoy the sights without our luggage. Many thanks to the staff, some of which can speak several languages. We will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed at Premier Inn all around the country mainly due to the fact that you know what to expect and a standard quality. We did however find that this hotel is very much in need of a refurbishment it was looking very tired. The restaurant is on the lower-ground floor and is dark and uninteresting. The bar area in the reception was also not the most comfortable certainly to spend an evening as the hotel reception is in the same area and large coach groups were coming and going constantly. I will say however that Premier offer a refund if for any reason you had a complaint and we had no hot water on the morning we were leaving and they immediately offered to refund the room rate. This experience was not the normal with Premier and we will certainly continue to use this chain. The location of this hotel is excellent from the point of view of tube and Docklands Railway links.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Despite its central location, I wasn't very impressed with this hotel. The breakfasts were not as nice as those that I have previously had in Premier Inns. The hotel operates a good night policy whereby if you have any complaints during the night then you are more than welcome to address these and they will either be resolved or your night refunded. I experienced noise into the early hours of the morning but did not feel that my complaint would be valued.

The room we were placed in had a view of the bins (yay) and the windows were not available for opening to let fresh air in. The heater was placed in a very awkward place and we did not feel the benefit of it. The mattress cover was longer than the bed and so jutted out at all sorts of angles. I defintely won't be booking with a Premier Inn again.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting the review on your recent stay with us. I am obviously very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and would like to discuss with you personally. I have sent an e-mail to you, and will gladly discuss the issues you raised in the review.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed two nights here with our two daughters and thought it was a great location. The breakfast was very good, and even the kids ate more than they normally would! The staff were great, and we were able to leave our suitcases well before checking and leave them after checkout so we had full days. When we ran out of tea bags and sugar the staff at the front desk were more than happy to give us more. There is a wetherspoons pub almost across the street which was great and a mini tesco for snacks in the evening. It thought the shower was great- it had a bench which made it easier for showering the youngest child! The rooms were comfortable and enough room for the four of us.

Only downsides are no free wifi (well 30mins per day are free) and no fridge or ice machine. Would have been nice to have one or the other as the kids like a glass of milk last thing at night/first thing before breakfast. Also there is a safe but I'm assuming you have to pay for that as well, So we ended up taking all our valuables with us everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandacaitlyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the brilliant review posted on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, and that the girls enjoyed breakfast! We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon!

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in early March 2013 to do some flat hunting around Tower Hill/Wapping and so this was perfect location for me. But it is not ideally placed for tourists being a way from most tourist sites save for the Tower. No views to speak of.

I got a bargain at £59. For that price, which is the least I've ever paid for a hotel room in London, this was fantastic. The rooms were quite big (for London) and comfy, and unlike some other budget hotels, there was a basic courtesy tray (tea and coffee) but of course no mini bar as usual. Plenty of storage and a decent bathroom. As usual the room was clean and well maintained. Check in was swift and easy and friendly, even a smile from the nice girl running the Costa Coffee in the reception area.

That all said, with the number of hotels in London closer to the main sites, I doubt I will ever stay here again. It suited my needs in the area and for that it was great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawyerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review posted on our hotel. I do hope you were successful in finding suitable accommodation in the area, and glad to hear you were able to stay at our hotel on one of our saver rates. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#104 Best Value Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing