We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Library and Museum of Freemasonry
Ranked #387 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved the tour... Such a spectacular building and the tour guide was a dude! A gentleman with incredible knowledge.. we enjoyed every minute of it... Would absolutely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank p1nkfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treasure house - stuff from all the World”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you can find your way out past Drury Lane to this massive memorial building at the corner of Gt Queens st, then do step inside the forbidding exterior and get onto one of the 45-min tours (early pm best) around this museum and masonic temple site. It is truly fascinating and it's also free and instructive. Will go again when we can, kids an'all !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Interesting & beautiful architecture”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My grandfather was a Mason. My husband's grandfather was a Mason. So, this intrigued us. Really interesting tour. Great architecture and symbolism which was all explained. Plus there was a question & answer forum at the end, which made it all the more personal. It dispelled all those spooky myths that were floating around my head. Yes, there's ceremony and it's closed to members (male), but the groups main purpose is helping others and giving anonymous charitable donations. Very honorable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Do the free tour - it's worth it”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I did the 4pm tour and arrived 10 minutes before. I'd recommend doing an earlier one to give yourself about 1.5 hours as the museum closes at 5pm (they do 5 sessions a day). The tour lasted for approx 40 minutes and it was definitely worth it. It takes you into the Grand Temple - it's pretty amazing in there. The guide was enthusiastic and informative. I found it to be very interesting to learn about the history of freemasonry and the building. It's something different to do in London and easily accessible.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Only if you are passing and know a little about freemasonry”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Worth a look if you are in the craft? Struggling to find 50 words or more....it's a modest attraction ..oh the building is a great example of art deco and the loos are unisex

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library and Museum of Freemasonry also viewed

 

Been to Library and Museum of Freemasonry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing